We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff. That's about it...”

Grizzly Claw Restaurant
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner
Description: We Have The Best Home Made Chili Verde
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
430 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 495 helpful votes
“Nice staff. That's about it...”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The staff here were very very nice.

The food here was expensive and was not very good. The drinks were cold and fast. The chips and salsa were okay. Neither my MIL or I could eat our Mexican dishes. A couple of bites, and we were done. The beans were awful. My 12-y/o got an adult meal and thought it was okay. My husband had a Mexican dish he thought was pretty good, but it looked blah to me and was very very expensive (steak, chicken, and something else maybe). My 7-y/o got a kid's meal mac-n-cheese. One bowl later, he was still hungry, so we had to order another bowl of mac-n-cheese, which came to $10 for two bowls. Not too good of a deal.

This place is convenient to the Grizzly and Wolf Center, which is how we stumbled across it. We thought it would be nice, easy and quick just to eat here before heading back to the hotel. We just wasted a lot of time and money here for food that was not good. Do yourself a favor and drive somewhere else, although I am not sure where to tell you. We just did not have much luck with the food in West Yellowstone. :(

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shawni_and_Buck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    44
    32
    25
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Summerland
Level Contributor
164 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Good menu with both north and south of the border options. Meals were generous and service was good. Only downside was the credit card policy - only one credit card per table. As we were dining with friends we asked for separate checks (which was not a problem) but one party had to pay cash. Odd policy I thought. But the food was good and the location is near the Imax and Grizzly center was handy - lots of parking even for RV units. Would go back again if I was in the area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bunkie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Absolutely horrible in every way!”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Went to this resturaunt with high hopes to be completely let down! The fish in the fish tacos was still partially frozen. The beans tasted completely disgusting. Taco Bell makes more authentic Mexican food than this place! We got a bean burrito that still had oil and fat pooling all over the plate. Everything served gets taken from a can and put in a microwave. We spoke with the owner/manager about the food and he argued with us and still made us pay for our meal after only taking one bite! Complete and utter disgust and wouldn't ever recommend this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brittncox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton
Level Contributor
85 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food High prices”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Food and service was good but prices were kind of pricey for mexican food. Would have to think about it before I would return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 11emptynest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome great cooked meals”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I thought the food was well made, and my family felt very happy with the staff which were nice and polite.The total cost was so good we were surprised they got all of the meals.Everything tasted fresh and homemade.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coltonsmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grizzly Claw Restaurant also viewed

 
West Yellowstone, MT
West Yellowstone, MT
 

Been to Grizzly Claw Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing