We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Base of Operations”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Yellowstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yellowstone Wildlife Cabins
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Base of Operations”
Reviewed September 2, 2011

The Bison Home at the West Yellowstone Wildlife Cabins is ideal for anyone visiting Yellowstone who wants a kitchen and a comfortable bed to come back to each night. The owners, Cynthia and her husband are very friendly and helpful. When I called to say I could not connect to the Wi-Fi available to guests, she immediately reset the router for me and I had no problems connecting after that.

The rooms in the Bison Home are nicely decorated and very homey. The mobile home itself seems a bit rickety, but nothing too serious. The kitchen is well equipped and has a refrigerator and gas stove for making affordable meals. The living room is spacious while the bedrooms are a little cramped, but you really only spend your nights in the bedroom. My husband and I did do a little elbow fencing, but once we decided to avoid certain positions the double bed was big enough. The windows don't all close completely, some left small cracks, but that certainly wasn't an issue in the summer. Overall, the mobile home seemed to have a few years of life left in it, but you could tell that it had experienced some hard days.

The surrounding town of West Yellowstone is very touristy and fun. There are tasty restaurants and gift shops with a Yellowstone theme. Its location is ideal as it is literally about three minutes from the gate at the West Entrance of Yellowstone National Park.

I liked best the location and comfort of coming home to a small house each night. I don't think I could stay a week in Yellowstone and camp. We got too exhausted hiking around in the heat of each day. It was a relief to have a bed to come home to and we saved money not eating out every night. I liked least the run-down look of the mobile home, but the furniture and decorations are nice enough that you don't notice it as much.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gidget142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    18
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
50
26
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Came here with a family of five adults. The cabin is a fairly decent size and could actually sleep up to 10 comfortably. We decided to stay here vs in Yellowstone park because we wanted to be able to walk into town to eat, we wanted a TV (for those quiet nights after dark), and a kitchen to save on meals. Yellowstone Wildlife Cabins delivered more than we expected. Our cabin (Bear Cabin) had a private entrance from the street and a private drive way. Think of it less like a cabin and more like a small home rental, but it does have a cosy cabin feel. The cabin was in new condition and looks likes parts of it were recently remodeled. It featured a full kitchen, washer/dryer, bbq, patio, outdoor seating, two full bathrooms, two bedrooms, free wifi, 3 very comfortable futons, and two tv's. The cabin comes equipped with dish soap, towels, laundry detergent, some pantry items (left by other people who stayed there), and some toiletries again left from previous guests.

The location is close enough that you can walk into town (about a 8 minute walk to the center of town) to get dinner, go grocery shopping, or easy access to the west entrance of Yellowstone NP.

I cant really mention any cons about the Bear Cabin. The towels smelled a little musty, the kitchen knives were dull, and there were a few bugs. But these are minor things.

I would HIGHLY recommend the Bear Cabin and Yellowstone Wildlife Cabins to anyone. I will be telling all my family and friends about it and encourage them to stay here. Great place for families with kids, couples, or groups. Much more convenient then staying in the actual park.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Very clean, comfortable and has everything you need (i,e, outside grill/sitting area, washer and dryer, fiully stocked Kitchen. etc.). The location is convenient for downtown shops and eateries and is convenient to the west entrance of Yellowstone. We appreciated Cynthia Knapp, the manager, checking in with us when we arrived to make sure we had everything we needed

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingsboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

This is a great place to base an extended trip to Yellowstone National Park. Comfortable, cozy, nicely decorated with a Moose theme. The longer we stayed we felt like we were coming home at the end of each day. Pluses include free wifi, cable TV, and washer/dryer, and full kitchen. Loved the location-you can walk to town for meals and shopping. We would love to stay here again on our next trip to Yellowstone.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emg823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

I was apprehensive staying in a manufactured home but was pleasantly surprised. This home had every kitchen utensil you would need, even laundry detergent and extra towels. The appliances are full size and new. Our family of 4 -2 adults and 2 teens had plenty of room to stretch out. A big plus is that it is less than 1/2 mile to the park entrance but away from the hubbub of the other hotels and restaurants but still within walking distance to everything. The home has a notebook full of local information and menus. Cindy the owner is accessible and helpful.
This was a perfect place to relax after spending all day in Yellowstone.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2midwestfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, GA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Cynthia and her husband are gracious hosts, always cheerful, and always helpful with everything! The location was close enough to town for a nice walk, and close enough to the park for our visit. The trailer was clean and well stocked with what we needed. It was a great stop on our road trip around the Northwest!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenEller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jordan, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

My husband, I, and our good friends had such a great time visiting Yellowstone. We stayed in the Moose Cabins. The location was great and everything we needed was available in the cabin. I especially loved the fireplace since it was still chilly in Yellowstone. We could come back at the end of the day and relax next to the warm fire.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank heatherp1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.6 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#1 of 39 in West Yellowstone
681 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellowstone Inn
Yellowstone Inn
#22 of 39 in West Yellowstone
134 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#13 of 39 in West Yellowstone
527 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
558 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone Wildlife Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Wildlife Cabins

Property: Yellowstone Wildlife Cabins
Address: 225 Geyser, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 Specialty Lodging in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yellowstone Wildlife Cabins offers deluxe and budget conscious units. We have 1, 2 or 3 bedrooms and 1 or 2 baths. All units have full kitchens, W&D, all linens, pots and pans, gas BBQs, and secure wi-fi. Some units have flat screens TVs (satellite); fireplaces, and so much more. The Bear Cabin sleeps 7; the Moose Cabin sleeps 4; the Wolf Home sleeps 6: the Bison Home sleeps 4; The Elk Home sleeps 6; the NEW Fox Cabin sleeps 8. All of these units are nice and spacious.Want to have room to stretch out? Don't want neighbors on the other side of the wall? Then stay with us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yellowstone Wildlife Cabins Hotel West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing