We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but Not Very Accomodating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hibernation Station
san diego, ca
1 review
“OK, but Not Very Accomodating”
Reviewed July 21, 2008

Looking for an alternative to a standard motel/hotel we picked the cabins as a welcome change on a long trip. The grounds, and cabins looked good from the outside, but once inside we were disappointed. "Climate Control" for the cabins is only heat, no air conditioning - a real problem in the summer. The management's response to the issue was to read us the cancellation policy if we decided to move to another local hotel. Eventually after a few attempts to resolve the situation, they provided a fan to help with the temp, but overall it set a very bad tone for our stay. We expected an upscale cabin experience for a higher comparative price in West Yellowstone and received much less. We recommend you pass, spend less and get more at one of the chains in town.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — management staff
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hiker1sandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    96
    36
    41
    43
See reviews for
121
119
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Central Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2008

We did not read the reviews before booking,but I will from now on,we were so excited to be going to Yellowstone with our Grandsons and Family.....We checked in on the11th of June,our stairs we're covered in Snow,we called the front desk and someone came to clean the ice and snow off....The Fireplace ,for heat,would not work we called again and that was fixed,it was 30 degrees this day...We had booked 5 nights...Found the Hot plate we had read about....Bathroom door would not close ...Had plenty of t.v.'s had 3 with all the channels you could have wanted....The trailer park next door as stated in other reviews turned out to be a Very Nice R.V.Park....Was warm during the day in the cabin when the weather got nicer as stated no a/c.... Opened what windows we could...Staff was very helpful and did everything to get our problems took care of...Housekeeping was Good...We did have sewer problems and we went to the office to use their toilet and they had sewer problems also......Our cabin was decorated very nice ....

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bluecruisemomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Yellowstone hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2008

The Hibernation Station looks beautiful on the website, but was very disappointing once we arrived and saw it in person. It was as though they spent money to make it look nice from the street, but did not put any thought into the enjoyment of guests once they entered a cabin. My husband and I were hoping to stay in a cosy, romantic cabin and were disappointed.

The roads between cabins were unpaved. There were big weeds growing up against most of the cabins. The room was not clean. Employees have to pull a red wagon between cabins with a few cleaning supplies to clean the rooms! The carpet, bathroom, bed linens, and towels needed updating. We had a kitchenette in our cabin, but I didn't feel comfortable cooking in it. Overall, this place needs some work! I would recommend staying elsewhere.

  • Liked — looks great from the street
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LikeToTravel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2008

Don't waste your time or money to stay here. Cabn was not clean. Apon arrival shower drain was clogged,toilet would not flush. We were told by an associate when we booked it was a sepearate cabin . It was a two story cabin ,we could not sleep because of the noise above. Staff is very rude and unhelpful. We asked to speak to upper managment but were told they would call us to make an adjustment in a couple of days. No call ever came.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank dalton6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2008

Arrived at our Cabin... nice and homey feel (then the trouble started) first of all fire place didnt work properly and water was ice cold... had to go and have them come light the pilot light and fix fireplace...... we have 3 small children and room came with a microwave, so we could make Mac and cheese for kids and stuff.... microwave didnt work.... exchanged with microwave in another room (I carried microwave from an upstairs room to ours)..... to find out the outlet had a short. Then we left early exploring the next morning and were gone from 8:00am to 3:30pm when we got back our room still hadnt been cleaned garbage emptied etc. went and complained, still never saw anyone...... although the atmosphere was great the quality was EXTREMELY poor. It was something I might expect from a $60 a night motel not a place we paid over $200 per night for. Save your money and go somewhere else.

  • Liked — Location, Atmosphere
  • Disliked — Service and quality of stay
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lake08park
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2008

We had a wonderful stay at the Hibernation Station and we would recommend them to everyone. I even took some extra brochures to pass out to my friends back home. The day we checked out, we asked to see another cabin that could accommodate our whole family, because we will be going back!
We rolled into West Yellowstone pretty late (about 8:30pm) after a long day enjoying the park, and we were please to see their office was still open and they greeted us warmly and offered us a great rate, comparable to what the other chain hotels were offering us that same night. Why stay in a hotel when you can have a cabin?!
Our cabin was perfectly comfortable, clean, warm, inviting and quiet. We enjoyed the giant bathtub in our room, and also enjoyed all the free goodies they had at the front desk.
The staff was very polite and helpful and the woman at the desk even offered to take my postcard down to the post office for me later that day.
Thanks for the great stay, Hibernation Station. We'll be back.

Helpful?
Thank Snittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Hibernation Station for 2 days in October 2007. The atmosphere in the cabin was lovely - cosy and with a lovely fireplace, jacuzzi and quilted comforter. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel was walking distance to lots of restaurants. The down side? Well the place was just a bit grubby! When the mirror steamed up, there was loads of writing on it that showed it hadn't been wiped and theren were loads of cobwebs in the corners. A real shame for somewher that, otherwise, would have been just about perfect! If you're not too fussy though, you'll still really enjoy it!

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank dancingpiglit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.3 mi away
Three Bear Lodge
Three Bear Lodge
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
628 reviews
0.1 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#1 of 39 in West Yellowstone
684 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#29 of 39 in West Yellowstone
551 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
688 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibernation Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibernation Station

Property: Hibernation Station
Address: 212 Gray Wolf Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9543
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 Specialty Lodging in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hibernation Station 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hibernation Station is a luxurious log cabin resort located just blocks from Yellowstone National Park. Our cabins are all individually decorated, with Tapestry walls, hand made log furniture and goose down comforters on the beds. We have several different sizes and styles of cabins to choose from. Offering amenities to serve families and couples. Make us your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hibernation Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibernation Station Hotel West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing