We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible attitude, terrible wifi, no breakfast”
Review of Pony Express Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Yellowstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pony Express Motel
Ranked #35 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 13, 2014

When asking about their wifi password, I received a very rude response from the front desk. The man who answered my inquiry sassed and humiliated me and was very lazy in replying. I was shocked at their attitude to their customers.
Advertises their free wifi, but the wifi only works for about 4 seconds before the connection goes down. The wifi is only good if you want to chat for brief periods of time, logging in and out again of their wifi. The best connection I had was for around 15 seconds in the very early morning.
When signing up, I was notified that there would be free breakfast, but surprise! There's no breakfast for customers who chose to stay in this motel, since we paid less than the people in the motels nearby? I'm not sure what they meant by that.
The location is extremely close to Yellowstone, a 5 minute walk. It's right down the road, but it's the only thing that's going on for this motel. Gives no shampoo, body wash, etc. and expects you to use liquid hand soap coming out of dispensers for hand, hair, and body. No blow drier, either.
Overall, very disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank S_Liu16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 72 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2014

Spent one night in suite 18 as recommended locally. Loads of space for a big family, living room had a/c, kitchen was huge. Located just outside entrance to Yellowstone Park it's the perfect way to start the day before it gets busy. Great value but don't expect 5 star luxury!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We expected a hole and was surprised for the good. Basic but clean and with style (unlike most motels we were in before). Most of the furniture are original from the 50's and 60's. The beds were comfortable and overall very good experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

When we pulled up, we didn't know what we had gotten ourselves into. But the price was right and the reviews from other travelers were good so I opened the door. Very happy! The place is very clean and the beds were comfortable. We stayed in number 5, it has two queens in two rooms. The bathtub is deep and clean... I'm a bath person so this is important! The bathroom is even really large. I really loved the place..... With one exception: there were only two accessible electrical outlets in the entire room. None of which were three prong so we had to buy an adapter. Everything had to be charged from the one outlet in the bathroom. There is also no bedside light in the bedroom, only overhead so plan ahead if coming here! Oh, no coffee, ice, vending or the like unless you go around the corner, across the street and down a bit to the main hotel.
I cannot speak highly enough about this place, the roominess was very unexpected. The antique nature just added flavor to our Yellowstone experience!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We disagree with the bad reviews since this place was a perfect choice right next to the west entrance of Yellowstone National Park. We chose this motel mainly because of the reasonable price. In the area this was one of the cheapest option and we couldn't have a better three days in West Yellowstone. We arrived late in the evening but the checkin was fast and smooth. We could park right next to our door which was very comfortable. Our room was big enough for two person and it was absolutely clean and comfortable. It had a wooden style and a special atmosphere. We liked it very much. The bathroom was good as well and we had plenty of hot water. The location was perfect, close to the shops and everything and only steps from the entrance of Yellowstone. However for example to reach Old Faithful the drive takes about 40 minutes. But the drive itself isn't boring. There are many things to see and it is much more cheaper to sleep outside the park. The hotel staff was very friendly. Jeremy (We hope we write his name correctly) was especially friendly and helpful. The first morning we realized that we parked partly on the "sidewalk". The right tires of our vehicle was on the pedestrian part of the pavement (less then ten inches...), that's all. However the local police gave us a ticket and Jeremy the host tried everything to help us. He explained the police officer that we are tourists and here around the building there is no pedestrian traffic at all and the pavement is created for the motel guests. On the other hand there were no painted line on the pavement at all. So please park carefully. (Finally we had to pay $20 for this "mistake") We haven't used the TV so I don't know whether it is good or not, but the Wifi worked perfectly from our room. If we come back we will definitely stay here again without hesitation. If you our looking for a 5 star luxury accomodation then this is not your place, but if you are looking for a clean, comfortable, easily accessible accomodation close to the entrance of the park then don't hesitate and don't beleive the bad reviews. Look at my pictures about the motel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olci83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This place has the basics - hot water, 2 lights in the room. The heating system is good, easy to use. However, the TV in several rooms has terrible reception, and when we mentioned that to the front desk staff, the response was "That is not our problem, we pay for the cable to get in there, and there is nothing we can do about bad TVs". Also, if you want WiFi, this is not the place to stay. They tried to fix it several times, and then said it must be our computers. We had multiple computers that worked before we arrived, and as soon as we left. The only high point was Cathy at the front desk. She was kind and helpful. Byron was a pathetic excuse for someone in the hotel industry. He made fun of the guests and joked about other peoples problems. He lied to people - pathetic. We have stayed there for several years, but hopefully this will be the last time.

Room Tip: Somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Have stayed at this motel many times when visiting Yellowstone. This place could be described as "rustic" with its all-wood architecture and 50's furnishings, but it is absolutely charming and kind of fits the wilderness atmosphere of the region. Rooms are spotlessly clean, spacious, and carpeted, but there are no "frills" like telephones or air conditioning. Old-time screened windows can be opened for fresh air, beds are comfortable, and it is oh-so-quiet at night. Each room has its own parking space. Some of the rooms have two separate bedrooms and a bathroom, and there is even a large suite with bedrooms and a kitchen. The only negative is that the internet did not work the last two times I visited this place. Had to use my computer in the lobby of the Brandin' Iron Inn, which is also the check-in desk for the Pony Express. (Both hotels are owned by the same company.) The Pony Express is ideally located on Boundary Street (the boundary of Yellowstone National Park is right across the street), and it is a two-block walk into town where the restaurants and gift shops are located. Everything in West Yellowstone is grossly over-priced, but it's still a delightful place for walking and browsing in the evening.
Motel management is friendly, welcoming, and goes out of the way to provide top service. Needed a refrigerator for some medication, and they kindly installed one in the room. If you are looking for a modern room with stylish furniture, AC, and flat-screen TV, this is not for you. But if you appreciate a place that is spacious with lots of charm, and is almost reasonably priced, you'll love the Pony Express!

Room Tip: If you go during the summer, reserve well in advance. If you need two bedrooms, #4 or #6 is a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GroupLeaderSJHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.5 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
805 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone Lodge
Yellowstone Lodge
#25 of 39 in West Yellowstone
290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#29 of 39 in West Yellowstone
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
1,001 reviews
0 mi away
Brandin' Iron Inn
Brandin' Iron Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
549 reviews
0.3 mi away
Evergreen Motel
Evergreen Motel
#11 of 39 in West Yellowstone
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pony Express Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pony Express Motel

Address: 4 Firehole Avenue, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range: $59 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pony Express Motel in West Yellowstone, next to Yellowstone National Park. Rustic hotel motel lodging. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pony Express Hotel West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing