We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but dated!”
Review of Pony Express Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Yellowstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pony Express Motel
Ranked #34 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
GreenLeadersBronze level
Western US
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean but dated!”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

This is a basic room, we paid just over 80.00 for two and it seams a little steep for what you get. Don't expect anything other than a small tv, old matress and thin pillows. No hidden gem here.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv_maui_hi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    23
    18
    8
    6
See reviews for
22
25
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Poynette, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in room 2 of the Pony Express motel and loved it. The knotty pine walls made us feel like we were in a cabin in the north woods. Directly outside our door was Yellowstone National Park. How often can you stay directly across the street from a national park??
When I walked in, I initially flipped because I only saw one queen bed - but we had a whole other bedroom with the additional queen bed. Probably one of the biggest hotel rooms I've been in. Would be perfect for a family (it was just myself and my husband).
The shower was a square stall and rather small but that is the only down side I can think of for the hotel. I used the laundry facilities next door at the RV park and was pleased at only $1 to wash and $1 to dry.
Don't hesitate to stay here - but request one of the rooms overlooking the park. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Get a room directly across the street from park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraceRDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandinIronInn, Owner at Pony Express Motel, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
We are happy you enjoyed your stay at the Pony Express Motel! Thank you for letting everyone know about your positive experience with us. We look forward to seeing you back in West Yellowstone soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Nothing fancy and no continental breakfast, but you can't beat it for what it costs. We stayed in the 2 bedroom unit. It was very clean and comfortable. The best part was that it only cost us $79 a night. Other hotels in the vicinity were $120 to over $200 a night. Highly reccommend, especially if you are not fussy

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldNCtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandinIronInn, Owner at Pony Express Motel, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
Thank you very much for your positive revew, and letting other travelers know about the Pony Express Motel. We hope you enjoyed your visit to Yellowstone, and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2011

Okay. So we're on our annual fly fishing trip to MT. In year's past we camp every night for 9 nights with no showers/kitchens/etc. We want to get a shower this year and are near Yellowstone. Decide to grab a hotel, get a shower, and grab a few beers. First off.....Yellowstone is a "touristy" spot and can be expensive. I figured we could get a Super 8 or something for $50-60 mid-week. Nope.....we called a bunch of places and a few were sold out. Regardless, with the Pony Express you get what you pay for. It looks a little sketchy and the rooms are super retro. But if you're paying $70/night in a touristy spot what are you expecting to get? There a bunch of cool bars in the area and we found one with an open jukebox and PBR on tap. :) Regardless, the hotel had all sorts of late night noise, but we were paying $70. Beat sleeping in a tent and a shower was nice. The Pony Express is for people who don't want to spend $125 on a Holiday Inn. Yes it's less expensive so expect less.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank troutbum22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2010

The Pony Express is located across the street from a Yellowstone park fence. It is rustic with pine covered walls.
Registration is located at the Branding Iron Motel down the street.
The ice machine is located 1 block away @ the branding Iron. The rooms have a TV, table, bed and bathroom. No Telephone's in room, a phone book & a bible were found, yet NO PHONE.No ammenties,
so if you want ice, pool, breakfast, coffee or food try a different place.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunny9004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Yellowstone hotels

Fayetteville, AR
Level Contributor
222 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

This is a 1950's era motel that is still in use. The place has been fairly well maintatined. My room was clean and the everything worked. The bed was satisfactory. They are associated with the Branding Iron Motel and their WIFI is available (and it works). The room has no AC and with a July low of 40 I did not need it. It cost $79/night which is a comparative bargain.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TOG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

This is a tough review to write. We were looking for an "inexpensive" motel room near
Yellowstone over the fourth of July weekend. We booked it two weeks before the trip.
Needless to stay there wasn't a lot available.

The good things: the staff (which is located at the Branding Iron down the street) was nice,
it's conveniently located and at $80 a night (including taxes) was the most reasonable.

The bad: when we check in there was a wet washcloth in the shower, a dirty washcloth on the floor in the vanity area, and a half used bar of soap in the shower.
There were animals running around in the attic-two, raccoon sized ones- that you could here.
We were across from an RV park so there was some noise a morning or two we were there, but not a big issue. You do get some road noise. There are rooms in the inner courtyard, but we were not lucky enough to get one.
No amenities like shampoo/extra soaps, hair dryer, swimming pool.

The rooms and exteriors are shabby (looked like the ceiling was going to cave in
in a couple of places-maybe from the animals running around in the attic.

I don't think it would be my first place to stay again, but I would if it were the only
place available in that price range.

So although it's old and shabby and has issues, the price and location were perfect.
I don't know if I would recommend it or not, but since I had to choose, I put "no" since
it wouldn't be my first choice next time we go.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chavak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.2 mi away
Crosswinds Inn
Crosswinds Inn
#20 of 39 in West Yellowstone
241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
339 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Historic Madison Hotel
The Historic Madison Hotel
#15 of 39 in West Yellowstone
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Yellowstone Inn
Yellowstone Inn
#22 of 39 in West Yellowstone
134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
688 reviews
0.2 mi away
West Yellowstone's City Center Motel
West Yellowstone's City Center M...
#21 of 39 in West Yellowstone
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pony Express Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pony Express Motel

Property: Pony Express Motel
Address: 4 Firehole Avenue, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pony Express Motel in West Yellowstone, next to Yellowstone National Park. Rustic hotel motel lodging. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pony Express Hotel West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing