We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable and Quaint”
Review of Evergreen Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Evergreen Motel
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Adorable and Quaint”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by the comfort and decor of this little Mom and Pop location! The owners were very sweet and helpful during my stay, giving me great advise on dining and shopping locations. It was one of the best values for my money that I had on my trip. I highly recommend this location to anyone visiting the West Yellowstone area. I'm sure you'll be as comfortable there as I was. Thanks again for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    129
    32
    7
    3
See reviews for
87
252
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Champlain, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Evergreen Motel last week and couldn't have been happier. The hosts were very helpful, shopping and restaurants easily within walking distance and the rooms were very pleasingly decorated with fresh paint, carpeting and some really nice fixtures, not to mention the price was very reasonable. The mattress was extremely comfortable and sleeping was easy - no noise from the street. We would definitely recommend this motel without hesitation and if we ever go back, there will be no doubt where we'll stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

For us, this was not a good experience. I had expected a great one night stay after reading all the reviews before I booked the room, and was very surprised that almost none of the reviews reflected our stay. The room was very very small--this really was not the problem at all. We were told beforehand that the room was small and to go look at it first. Yes, it is small, but we have stayed in small rooms before. For the good about the room: it did have a bathtub, but if this is what you want be sure to ask for it at the time of your reservation, as some rooms don't have a tub. There was a microwave and small fridge. No coffee or hair dryer, but that was fine for us and if someone needed a blow dryer, they evidentally will lend you one. It was clean and decorated nicely. The bad about the room: It is very strange that the electrical outlet in the bathroom is up on the wall about 4 to 6 inches below the ceiling. There was no way I could reach it and my 5'10" husband had to really stretch. There was a very strong overpowering air freshner type smell in the room that lingered, even though we opened the windows. The worst part was the thin walls and noise from the next room. When the people were taking showers (and I think there were parents and a couple of kids), it sounded like they were right in our room. The water sound in the pipes and in the shower itself, was loud. Also we could hear them walking around. There is a note that says something about quiet time after 10 pm, this noise was from 11 to midnight. It was hard because we needed to get up at 5 to be on the road. We did not tell the owners, as 1. it was so late and the office was closed and 2. We left way before they were back in the office. So be aware that if the people in the next room get in late, you may have a hard time sleeping. And though it was not a problem for us, know that the rooms are very small--at least the one with one queen and tub. The owner Sara is very nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gvaeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvergreenMotel, Owner at Evergreen Motel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for this review of our property. I hope potential guests find this information useful in planning their stay in West Yellowstone.

We apologize this stay was so unpleasant and that our motel did not meet expectations.

First, I want to mention again that our rooms are small. It is mentioned on our website in 2 different places. It is mentioned in just about every review, and in almost every response we write. We feel our price should be an indication as to what we have to offer, seeing as we are one of the 3 lowest priced lodging choices in the whole town.

I will also mention again that we were built in 1931. Us small and old properties up in the mountains definitely have our quirks! I will say that I am 5'1, and I would never allow something in our rooms that I was not able to reach.

We use the standard motel airfreshner, Febreeze, and if anyone is sensitive to this, we recommend letting us know before hand so we can leave that step out of the housekeeping in your room.

Lastly, while we cannot control the amount of noise a neighbor is making, it is important to let us know of such problems and allow us to do what we are here to do! All of our guests are asked at check in to look at the helpful information sheet located in each guest room, and while this guest specifically looked at it to notice our "quiet time" hours, I am very surprised that they failed to see our after hours phone number. Hearing your neighbors water while showering, flushing and brushing seems to be an industry wide occurrence and being an old property, we are certainly not the exception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay here! The hand written note and yummy huckleberry candies were nice touches. The room and bath were very clean and decorated in a whimsical north country theme. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KingemRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, KY
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We were a group of 4 (2 couples). Was pleasantly surprised when we arrived that we were upgraded to a larger 2 bedroom room. It had plenty of room and a small kitchen. Really appreciated the personal note left in our room. The staff was very courteous and helpful giving us a map of the town with places marked that I had asked to find. The free wi-fi and cookies was nice! Our room was pretty quiet and the bed slept great! Wonderful little local hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gkkates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Great location in West Yellowstone. Great price. Great hosts. Small but clean, cozy room. Plenty of information provided regarding the area by hosts. Great stay for exploring the west side of the park. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank breazer24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narva, Estonia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Great place. Clean room with comfy bed, free wi-fi, excellent room rates, coffee and snacks in the morning, nice hosts. Sleep quality is very good for the motel, it seems that the rooms are quite soundproof.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dog_in_the_fog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.5 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
762 reviews
0.4 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
706 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#16 of 39 in West Yellowstone
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
577 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Inn
Yellowstone Inn
#23 of 39 in West Yellowstone
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Motel

Property: Evergreen Motel
Address: 229 Firehole Avenue, P.O. Box 631, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
#2 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Evergreen Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Evergreen Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Hotel West Yellowstone
Evergreen Motel West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing