We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic tour”

Buffalo Bus Day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover all that nature has to offer when you join the knowledgeable Buffalo Bus Touring Company guides on a tour of Yellowstone National Park. Ride along in their luxury coaches while you learn about the park’s flora and fauna, natural history, wildlife, and geothermal activity.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Our parents planned a family trip to Yellowstone in the winter on a snowcoach. I did Yellowstone in the winter about 20 years ago on a snowmobile. The snowcoach was a much better trip as it was a lot warmer, more comfortable and you learned a lot more about the park. Buffalo Bus Tours did a fantastic job all the way around. The only slight problem was we had originally planned to go to Canyon but had to change plans as all the power in the park went out. The vehicle we were in could not make it to Canyon and back on one tank of gas and the gas station at Canyon was not operational as there was no power. This had nothing to do with Buffalo Bus Tours and they gave us a few different options to do instead of going to Canyon. We decided to make the trip to Old Faithful as the alternative.

We had a 14 passenger van that was filled with just our group. Rich was our driver and he was great. He was very knowledgeable and had many stories and insights about Yellowstone. The vehicle was spotless, comfortable, warm and looked very new. There were many stops throughout the day to get out and walk around. We packed our own lunches and we ate in a warming hut at Old Faithful.

The scenery was fantastic and Yellowstone definately takes on a much different look in the winter than in the summer. There was a lot of wildlife as we saw mostly buffalo but also saw a snow hare, many swans, ducks, bald eagles, a few coyotes and fresh wolf tracks that we followed for 3 - 4 miles. We did not see any elk but Rich said they almost always see elk on their trip. We live in Bozeman (about 90 miles from West Yellowstone) and see elk a lot so that was not a big disappointment.

This was a fantastic trip and one we will definately be taking again in the future. I will not hesitate to use Buffalo Bus Tours on our next trip and I easily give them a 5 star rating.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    553
    32
    3
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Island Park, Idaho
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome time!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

What a wonderful time we had!The Park is beautiful in the winter. our guide,Doug, was excellent. His knowledge of the Park, it's history,features and wildlife was outstanding. I would HIGHLY recommend Buffalo Bus Tours and be sure to ask for Doug!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rottenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Took the day trip to Old Faithful. It was -25 degrees when we left West Yellowstone and entered the park. The extreme cold temperature made for some dramatic photo ops around the geyser basin. This trip was an awesome experience for the whole family who enjoyed sightings of the bison, coyotes, elk and ravens. Our big ol tour guide Jay made the trip interesting and entertaining. Would highly recommend this trip!

Helpful?
Thank Kdog431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great day trip”
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Great day trip in to Yellowstone. Jay was our guide and was very knowledgeable and fun. It was about a nine hour trip. We got to get out several times and walk around and take pictures. We saw elk, bison and coyotes. Overall a very fascinating day!

Helpful?
2 Thank Candina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic Adventure!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Three adults in our family decided to spend a few days seeing the Park. We had been there in all other seasons but never winter. What a wonderful experience! Our two guides were terrific. Both Tim and Brad taught us so much about the Park, it's history, geothermal displays, animals and more. Those two made it an even better experience!
Nancy, Colorado

Helpful?
Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buffalo Bus Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Buffalo Bus Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing