We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic-shabby and HAUNTED!”
Review of Fairweather Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairweather Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Virginia City
Certificate of Excellence
Elliston, Montana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Rustic-shabby and HAUNTED!”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We had a really hard time finding a place to stay in Virginia City for our timeline so felt fortunate to get anything. While this hotel is historic and all, there is a fine line between shabby-chic and just plain run down. Being right on the main street of the town, it is a great location and one feel's like they have stepped back in time. And while most folks expect to have their own bathrooms at a hotel, it is not the case in some places. We scored with our own bathroom. The room was spacious and even had a fan as their is no central air in historic hotels and it does get hot in Montana. Be forewarned that there is NO SHOWER. Only a bathtub. The beds are doubles but were very comfortable. The room was clean - just shabby. Charming to a point but I think that some money should be put into some upkeep. And the painted furniture took away from the period we should have felt. Distressed furniture would be better than everything painted bright blue or yellow, etc. And they need to dump the gingerbread trim along the ceiling and window frame - really? In the old west?

Overall, a good place to lay your head. Friendly desk people. Just don't expect too much for a piece of the olden days. No large beds. No shower. No little shampoos to take!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rainbow6422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    14
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
15
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
243 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I can't recommend the Fairweather Inn for the simple reason that I couldn't get a decent night's sleep there.
First, I'm 6 foot 2 and couldn't fit on the bed because of a high baseboard that kept my feet from dangling over the edge. I had to try to sleep diagonally.
Second, management placed window a/c units in the rooms but did not install them in the windows. Simply turning them on blows as much cold air out the front of the unit as heat is generated from the unit's motor. I tried to place the unit in the window myself but it didn't fit well and bugs started coming in the opening. Also no screens on the window so I had to choose between a hot room and mosquitoes.
A handyman could fix these problems in a day or two if management was on the ball. (I think the state government actually owns the property).
I paid $100 for no sleep. My advice is come to Virginia City but stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheTimMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at the Fairweather Inn in Virginia City for a birthday celebration. The staff there is very helpful and friendly. It is an historic hotel so don't expect king size beds, tvs, showers or phones. In keeping with Virginia City's 100+ year old history, our room was simple, clean, and aside from a/c and electrical outlets, historically accurate.

Our bed was a double, which we found firm but comfortable. Four pillows (much appreciated) Our room had its own bathroom with tub, toilet and sink - all of which were functional and clean. We enjoyed the second floor balcony on the front of the building and though the windows were original, we had a/c and the street noise wasn't loud enough to keep us up.

They do have steep stairs to the second floor rooms. However, they have many charming rooms on the main floor that would be easy to access.

The hotel was clean, reasonable, centrally located and contains its own historical rooms and information. The staff is helpful and friendly and we would stay at the Fairweather Inn again without question.

Room Tip: Balcony room 17 is very nice. Quieter rooms are located toward the rear of the hotel - non street-fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maidenmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Absolutely loved my stay here...so quaint, very clean...excellent service. The 2nd floor balcony is awesome to sit out on in the shade and watch the people go by. The rest of the town is right there to leisurely stroll around. Highly reccomend this inn.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank muddytigers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Of Virginia City, my husbands says "it's the most ramshackle theme park I've ever been to!" We spent one night at the Fairweather Hotel as we were driving around Montana. It's an old ghost town that has some properties with current businesses.The hotel is one of these. You definitely feel as though you've gone back in time given the furnishings and atmosphere of the place. Our room was small but ok, we DID have a window unit a/c,which was much appreciated due to the heat wave. We had a private bath, but no shower, only a tub. I can go without a hairwash one day but not two. Apparently there are a couple of decent restaurants, but they were full, so we had pizza at Bob's Place, which was ok.
We went to the Brewery Follies in the afternoon, which was sort of like Saturday Night Live but on a bad night. Sometimes funny, but too often forced. In the evening, we saw The Miser at the Opera House, and they did a good job--sort of heavy on the melodramatic comedy, which is fine for that play. We enjoyed it, and we also liked the vaudeville show that is performed after the intermission. Had drinks after that at the Bale of Hay Saloon next to the Opera House which was also fun.

This hotel is unique, so it's really hard to apply normal ratings to it. It wouldn't be Virginia City if it came with the usual bells and whistles. Nonetheless, you might want to check it out.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emmajane7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2010

All of the current hotel was built in the 1940's. The bathroom has a tub but no shower. The walls are very thin and not insulated for sound at all; we could hear our neighbor snoring and could clearly hear them talking.
Keep your expectations low and you will be happy; this is not a luxury hotel by any means. But it was an interesting place to stay and the two towns are interesting.
The hotel does not have a parking lot and you have to park on the street, but we had no problem finding a nearby spot.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XenophonAnabasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
106 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

We stayed here for the atmosphere and history. The Fairweather Inn dates from the 1860s and is decorated and furnished accordingly. The Inn has been well taken care of, is clean and charming, with large rooms and comfy quilts on the beds. The front desk staff is friendly, ready to answer questions and give directions, shared menus with us to help us choose suitable dining options, offered to take photos for us, and was quite forthcoming about the ghosts who are rumored to haunt the place, and, specifically, our room! The Inn is conveniently located in the middle of the Virginia City historic area, and, as it was a Sunday, convenient to church services as well. We had a great night here! But if you choose to stay here, remember parking is first come/first serve on the street, there is no A/C, no TV, no internet, no telephone (not even cell service), and the bathroom is down the hall. Don't forget your own soap and shampoo.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelingfromDixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virginia City
1.4 mi away
Nevada City Hotel & Cabins
Nevada City Hotel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Nevada City
55 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sportsman's Lodge
Sportsman's Lodge
#6 of 10 in Ennis
56 reviews
14.5 mi away
Blue Moon Saloon
Blue Moon Saloon
#5 of 5 in Cameron
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairweather Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairweather Inn

Property: Fairweather Inn
Address: 305 W Wallace, Virginia City, MT 59755
Location: United States > Montana > Virginia City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Virginia City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Fairweather Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Fairweather Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing