We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last best place in Montana”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Virginia City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Just An Experience Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed April 4, 2012

In 1994, we stayed here for the 1st time in the cabin outside. It was an experience never to forget. Another time, we stayed in a room with private bathroom in the house. Completely different experience: we had more contact with our hosts John and Carma.
The cabins are decorated in their own special and unique way: it is perfect! There is a small kitchen, dining area, tv, games etc.. This place feels like home in the middle of an old gold town, wildlife, mountains, horses etc.
If you want to relax: there is a hot tub in the garden. Incredibel to be while watching the stars.
Breakfast is unique and not to compare with anything else we ever had. It is difficult to leave the table when you're finished: that is how much you feel like home. When you have a chance to make reservation for diner: go for it! John is the master in front of his grill: his steak is delicious!
Besides bed and food, John and Carma give you all information you can absorb about Nevada and Virginia City. They will make reservations for you at the Brewery Folies or the Opera Players. Gold panning is no problem, a trip into the mountains is a complete different adventure etc.
After our 1st adventure at this place, we had to come back and that is what we do: as often as we can.
If you are in South West Montana and want something personal and unique: this is the place to be!

Room Tip: For a room: the one with the private bathroom in the house More on your own: a cabin in the backyar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Peterpoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 53 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2011

These folks are great. Besides substantial breakfast they also serve dinner which is a good idea as there are not many restaurants close by if any. Closest is in Sheridan, Mt. especially in the off season - starts after Labor Day. They are open year round. Serves a great rib eye. Breakfast and dinner in great house but you have your own cabin. Get to listen to the coyotes sing at night. Great location for visiting the history mining towns of Nevada City & Virginia City.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank BobCatTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

I wasn't sure what to expect to be staying in a historic cabin, but although it looked rustic on the outside, the interior was clean, comfortable, and renovated, with a small kitchen with fridge, microwave, stove, and basic pots and utensils. The decor of the cabin and the main house is rustic and charming. Being an old cabin, it's not real big, so at times we felt a little cramped finding space for our suitcases. The hostess is very likable and helpful with suggestions for local activities and places to eat, as well as offering perspectives on regional history and politics. We were there two mornings, and both mornings she prepared a truly terrific breakfast -- gourmet food, but light and healthy. note that although their address is in Virginia City, they are actually located in Nevada City, which is primarily a historic museum of old buildings from around Montana, and worth the visit; Virginia City is a very short drive down the road.

As an aside, there is a terrific restaurant in Virginia City that I can't write a separate review for because it isn't listed in Trip Advisor: the Wells Fargo Coffee Shop, which is actually a full bar and restaurant serving truly gourmet fare. Based on our hostess' recommendation, we ate there the first night, then went again the next night because it was so good. It's not cheap, but as good food as we can get in our home area, San Francisco.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ArtAndFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We choose to stay at JustAnExperience based on an add in a travel magazine sent by Montana Vistor Guide.

The cabin was beautiful. Very comfortable and clean. We had both privacy when we wanted and the friendship of other guests and our host who were fantastic.

Breakfast provided is so good we wanted to stay all day to just eat. We were about 1 hours drive from West Yellowstone. Our hosts provided suggestions on things to do, where to buy certain items local and were so nice we felt so welcome.

We stayed 2 nights and our kids kept saying how they missed staying in the cabin once we moved on to the next stop on our vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LiLiBellevueWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

We visited Virginia City/Nevada City on Labor Day weekend. We called these folks at the last minute. We had never stayed in a log cabin before. This one is really plush- very clean, good bed and a living room with kitchen on the side. I wish we had had a week there. Our Hostess made us a huge breakfast. She also helped us plan our next few days because we were "winging it". We highly recommend it but remember - most of the things to do near'-by, close after Labor Day til Spring.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eleanorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful 8 day vacation in Montana. We flew into Great Falls and drove to Virginia City/ Nevada City for the first night. Using tripadvisor, we had reserved one night at "Just an Experience" B&B. This was the BEST night of a wonderful trip. We stayed in a cabin on the property and found it to be very, very clean and comfortable. When making reservations, we also reserved an evening meal - WOW - it was GREAT. John grilled montana ribeyes outside on his "super-BBQ" and I must say it was the Best steak I have had in a very long time. My husband has a local reputation for being a great BBQ'r but, even he said he could not come close. Carma prepared a fresh salad with fresh homegrown veggies added and homemade huckleberry vinegarette - yummm.
If I ever travel to this area again, I would make a few changes - I would definitely stay 2 nights at the "Just an Experience" . There was a lot I wanted to see and do here and did not allow time this trip. From gold panning, gem mining, museums, the ghost town - its just a lot to see and do for a day of history. Great place!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pehfhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2009

This is one of my favorite places to stay when I visit the great state of Montana. Lots to do, see and just a great time! Love hanging out with Carma and John.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rich046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Just An Experience Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Just An Experience Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1570 MT Highway 287, Virginia City, MT 59755
Location: United States > Montana > Virginia City
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Virginia City
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm, Montana hospitality offered here! Cabins and guest rooms available. Large yard and gardens with hot tub, open space for games/events, fire pit for stories & s'mores. Close to activities but far enough away of offer relaxing atmosphere! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing