We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden hideaway”
Review of Stone School Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Valier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stone School Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Valier B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hidden hideaway”
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Husband happened upon this hidden gem and I couldn't have been more pleased. Susan welcomed us into her home and were made to feel welcome and to come and go as pleased. Breakfast was fabulous!
Thanks
Tim and Candi Wooden

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
37
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Havre, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2010

Recently had a wedding at this B&B. Susan (part owner) charged us a "nominal fee" (as she puts it) to use the down stairs. Turns out it was the same as a room charge. She also charged us for the rehearsal (have of the nominal fee). She made the bride to be cry the day of the wedding because she moved a potted plant (after asking George-part owner is she could). Susan became almost hysterical and berated the bride. She also poked her finger in the best mans chest. I warn you avoid this place. Anything could set her off. No AC. We asked for a fan in downstairs and was denied. To bad. It is a lovely place and George the other part owner is very reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank shadowvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Madre, CA
2 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the amazing Stone School Inn in Valier, Montana. The rooms are all equally beautiful and very clean. The Inn is an old school house from the turn of the century that has been beautifully converted to an Inn. The owner, Susan, is so creative and very entertaining. She also has 3 beautiful dogs that are an important part of the Inn. I would recommend this place to anyone who loves the beauty and serenity of Montana.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollySierraMadre_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Washington
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2010

I visited Stone School Inn for the 1st time May 2010 with my significant other. We met her family who came from Colorado. We found this place to be romantic, peaceful and provided a very much needed relaxing atsmophere. We would definately return to this place again when in the area.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vart30272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Washington
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2010

We've stayed here many times and is one of the best places in the USA to stay. Great food, wonderful service and Susan the owner is a first class individual. Will continue to come back here as often as possible.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PonderaCoGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
197 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

This is quite a nice B&B. We stayed in the Meadowlark room which was very large and exceedingly comfortable. The room had a TV, free wi-fi, nice seating and a desk and nice bathroom. Breakfast was excellent with beautiful fresh berries and fruit, muffins, eggs and bacon--just delicious. I do not think the Inn has AC--we noticed a fan in our room--but we did not need it.

Valier is a very small town with limited dining opportunities. We ate at the Panther Inn, which is a small cafe, had some wine and "cheeseburger steaks". The food was simple, but good.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssgtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

What a great place. Terrific rooms, friendly host, and a great breakfast all for a very reasonable cost. Will return again some day.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schnabeltier2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valier
23.0 mi away
Best Western Shelby Inn & Suites
22.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Shelby
Comfort Inn Shelby
#2 of 7 in Shelby
287 reviews
23.5 mi away
Super 8 Cut Bank
Super 8 Cut Bank
#1 of 3 in Cut Bank
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone School Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone School Inn

Property: Stone School Inn
Address: 820 Third Street, Valier, MT 59486
Location: United States > Montana > Valier
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Valier
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing