We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great historical building”
Review of Stone School Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Valier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stone School Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Valier B&B and Inns
Havre, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great historical building”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The host was great, very down to earth. The rooms were decorated very simply and tastefully. Breakfast was great. Overall, a great and unique bed and breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kalley642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
37
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Stayed here two nights on business trip to the general area in mid-June. Perfect center of operations. Days started early with an absolutely great breakfast, best part of the stay for me. Rooms were large, clean, quiet and comfortable. An old school house so ceilings are high. Good water pressure in the tub/shower in my room, fixtures looked brand new. Beds were comfortable but beware if you are tall as some have footboards. Great TV channel selection, some rooms have TV and some do not, but there is a TV in the basement where you eat breakfast. Nice library on the main level to read books and the grounds looked very nice; since I was gone most of the day I did not get to enjoy the place as much as I would have liked on a vacation. You are 5 minutes from the Lighthouse restaurant; don’t miss this place for dinner (closed Mondays-Tuesdays I think). Countryside is spectacular in the area and you are about a 45 minutes to 1 hour drive to East Glacier. I will definitely be back, no question about that. Thanks, Susan.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColoradoDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

My work takes me traveling around MT, and I'm happy to say that Stone School Inn was my stop for a recent trip to the area. It's probably the most substantial structure in the area, and the interior is wonderfully warm and wonderful. Rooms are large and have excellent plumbing. Susan is thoughtful and friendly and surely makes you welcome.
You're way in the middle of nowhere when you're in Valier, so anticipate some cell phone difficulties, but that said, I appreciated the break, and Susan has a wired phone should you need it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrontierTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Byron, IL
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

I stayed here for a business trip but it feels like I got a great little relaxing trip out of the experience. Even working sometimes 14 hour days, I was able to come back to the Inn and wake up more relaxed and refreshed each day. Though Susan, the Innkeeper, was out on her first vacation in 5 years, she brought some of her dear friends from the area to watch the place. They were such a delight and had so much history to share of the building and the area. It was such a pleasure to meet with them.

The view from the balcony can only best be experienced in person. It was just breathtaking, especially at dawn. I would jog up and down the lakeshore at night & enjoy making myself a quick dinner at the Inn in the evenings. As I was really the only tenant at the Inn, I did also explore the other rooms. If you are torn between any of the rooms, I would say that all of the rooms that I saw were fabulous. The pictures on her website do not do them justice. They are more amazing in person. There was not a single detail that was overlooked. My favorite part was that the toiletries also included lip balm! It gets dry in Montana & she was really thinking of her visitors!

You would not believe how spotless the B&B was as well. For what could be such a dark & cold building if you allowed it, it was so warm and inviting. Thank you for making such a special place & sharing it with people. As business will be bringing me to the area on an annual basis, I do look forward to my next trip to the Inn & to meet Susan personally.

Room Tip: I did sneak in to the other rooms that were not occupied & there is not a bad one in the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halsey, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this inn in September of 2011 and found it to be an absolutely spotless and tastefully done conversion of a 100 year old stone schoolhouse. There is very obviously an extensive amount of thought, love, and cash put into this project, and the results are quite impressive. Susan is a friendly and gracious hostess as well as an excellent cook. The breakfast was simply wonderful. The inn is located on a side street in a very quiet and friendly little town. We ate at the Panther, a small, clean little restaurant on the main street. It is decidedly more economical than the Lighthouse, the food is very good, the help very courteous, and the atmosphere definitely one of a friendly local gathering place. Take the few miles off the main roads to experience this place; you'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Who would expect a lake in this area of Montana. Leave it to the Conrads and Cargills to develop this huge reservoir!! The Stone School Inn is in a 1911 building made from locally mined stone - and spectacularly clean and modern. Totally renovated about 10 years ago and as professionally run as any B&B in the country! Enjoy dinner at the local steakhouse, called the Lighthouse.

Room Tip: All the rooms are sparkling clean and nicely appointed. Windows all open and lots of fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VillasdePalermo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vannes
Level 6 Contributor
421 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 450 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

As we want a stop not too far from Glacier Park, while arriving from Yellowstone, Valier is a good choice, allowing us to do a long day hike(Red Eagle lake).
The stone school inn is the old school of Valier.It's on the national register.
Rooms are large, cosy and bathroom perfects.
It's calm and breakfast are perfect.
Owner is present but not too..present(the fear of some like us who like our tranquility and so some B&B can be a problem...).
Highly recommanded

Room Tip: all the rooms are nice....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Monpetit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valier
23.0 mi away
Best Western Shelby Inn & Suites
23.5 mi away
Super 8 Cut Bank
Super 8 Cut Bank
#1 of 3 in Cut Bank
169 reviews
22.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Shelby
Comfort Inn Shelby
#2 of 7 in Shelby
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Glacier Gateway Plaza
Glacier Gateway Plaza
#2 of 3 in Cut Bank
33 reviews
17.0 mi away
Super 8 Conrad
Super 8 Conrad
#1 of 2 in Conrad
179 reviews
22.9 mi away
O'Haire Manor Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone School Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone School Inn

Property: Stone School Inn
Address: 820 Third Street, Valier, MT 59486
Location: United States > Montana > Valier
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Valier
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing