We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than satisfying”

The Lighthouse Restaurant and Lounge
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Valier
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Glendive
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“More than satisfying”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The reason you eat at a steakhouse in Valier, Montana is simple, the beef! So, get the prime rib, t-bone, ribeye, or whatever your favorite cut is and enjoy. The atmosphere might not be that of a 5 star dining room in New York, Chicago, or Los Angeles, but you won't pay those kind of prices either...and the food is better.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    16
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Montana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and wonderful owners!”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We met some friends in Valier for dinner at The Lighthouse. They had eaten there many times and raved about it, but it was our first visit.
I will say that this is not a fancy place, no need to dress up and the atmosphere leaves a lot to be desired. But let's be honest, more important to a restaurant is the quality of the food. And The Lighthouse food was spectacular!
The Calypso dip is an appetizer I highly recommend, so, so good! Two at our party had the prime rib which was very thick and cooked to your liking. The other two of us had the lightly breaded jumbo shrimp.....hand breaded to not overly coat with breading, just perfect! The meal came with bread, soup, salad and a very generous portion, so plan to be very hungry or to take home leftovers! Some folks in the restaurant ordered burgers, and they were huge and looked absolutely mouth-watering! In addition,the service was very fast and very friendly. If you are in Valier, definitely do not miss your chance to eat here!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MTtravelers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre, Montana
Level Contributor
100 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Reservations, really?”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Okay, let's get a few things out of the way. First, Valier is on the Rocky Mountain Front, but this is quite a way from anywhere of much note that I know of. Second, there isn't a lot of choice, either in Valier or in the general area, for food.

So, here's the nuts-and-bolts: my burger was a pretty good burger and everyone in our little group seemed to be generally satisfied with the food. It was expensive, though, and the service was just not very friendly, adequate, not friendly...but I gotta hit my real problem with this place: we were told we needed a reservation; I called and was offered seating at 6:46 or 8:15 and told that was all they had available. We arrived to find a really rather run down building, inside & out, with cafe style furniture & decor my chair was missing a couple of screws in the vinyl backrest)...and at least one empty table during our entire visit.

I don't want to be mean, but there's gotta be some standard to ask for reservations and then only offer such limited seating, doesn't there? The food was okay, but overpriced; the service was just adequate, but unfriendly.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dubhglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Our favorite restutant”
Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

We live in Valier and we eat here as often as possible. Every meal we've eaten there has been excellent. The owner and wait staff are always friendly. We love this place and recommend it to everyone that comes through the area. You won't be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HoffBees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre, Montana
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Decent overpriced food”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The food was decent, the prices were way too high for the food we got. (The cheapest burger was about $14.) If someone says you need a reservation, don't worry. We made reservations but it was very clear when we got there that the restaurant was no where near full!

However, the mud pie is recommended (though, it's just ice cream on an oreo crust....still, a good end to the meal!)

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank kalley642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lighthouse Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

 

Been to The Lighthouse Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing