We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded expectations”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Troy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kootenai River Outfitters
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Troy
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Cabins are clean and far enough apart you don't see your neighbor. Does not hurt they back up to a private creek full of fish and wildlife. If your looking for a first class fishing guide service, plenty of water to fish, and a great place to stay look no further. What started as an annual trip is now at least a twice a year outing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
17
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

More then expected the cabins are perfect everything you need to have a amazing vacation. We had a wonderful stay, I wish it had be longer. Great fishing my son caught his first river trout. I will next time sign up for a KRO fishing trip.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alexoct1318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

My wife and I rented Cabin 3 as a scouting trip for an upcoming anniversary. The cabin, setting, and hosts were all extraordinary. The attention to detail and the cleanliness were perfect. This is an excellent place to stay at an excellent value. We will return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had a great time in our cabin . Even my lovely wife, who, after 1600 miles of togetherness was picky and easily irritated loved it.
It's all just good and nice and right what you hope for,with cutthroats out your back door. We're giving it our highest rating .5 MARTINIS !
Thanks Robert ,we'll be back next summer so don't book our cabin.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed in Cabin 1 for two days of blissful relaxation. A beautiful small, very comfortable, and well constructed log cabin nestled against a bend in the creek. It's the little things that make this place special. The hosts make a special effort to ensure that you enjoy your time there. For example, the outdoor fire pit was set with kindling and logs and readily lit with just one match. I especially enjoyed taking the canoe out on the river and watching the fish swim through the crystal clear water. Because the cabin is situated in a bend in the river, it's very easy to launch and moor the canoe without getting so much as a toe wet. Several well cut trails near the cabin allow for easy long walks in the woods. Our friends stayed in Cabin 2, which is larger and more modern. It was lovely too with a big back porch perfect for socializing or watching the river flow. Rebecca, Salt Lake City, UT

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RebeccaSaltLakeCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Writing this review from Cabin # 3, strong wi-fi and beautiful location. Water is super high, so might not get any fishing in, but the surroundings and cabin are awesome. Highly recommend KRO, hope to get to return one day!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

We had the pleasure of bringing our four year old grandson on this "Glamping" trip with us. He had never camped before so we wanted to ease him into it.

Well, we got a while lot more than we bargained for. This place is fantastic! The cabin itself is spotlessly clean and the decor makes you feel at home immediately! Everything you need is here ( except the food). Whether you want to cook over an open fire pit, a propane BBQ , or in a fully equipped kitchen, you've got it! We used all three and everything we needed was at our fingertips.
We hiked/drove around the 750 acre property and discovered many surprises. Our grandson loved the turtle pond! We came upon a heard of elk grazing, as well as deer roaming the forest.
Just the peaceful atmosphere was enough for us. We went canoeing down the creek in the morning, and roasted marshmallows around the fire in the evening. Just sitting on the deck and looking over at the mountains while the creek sang from the banks was nirvana.
These cabins are a little known hideaway just 20 minutes from the town of Troy. You have easy access to grocery stores, restaurants, and entertainment, but once you drive through those KRO gates, you won't ever want to go back. This place is perfect!
During season, there is even a fly fishing catch and release available steps from your cabin. The biggest perk of this trip was our dog was allowed to come too. They do have guidelines, so be sure to check with the owners.
Next time we come, I want to bring my whole family. The three cabins would make it perfect for a small family reunion.
We honestly can't say enough great things about this place! On a scale of 1 -10, we give it a 20!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RainyInVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troy
15.3 mi away
Venture Inn
Venture Inn
#1 of 6 in Libby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
15.1 mi away
Sandman Motel
Sandman Motel
#5 of 6 in Libby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
13.6 mi away
Bobtail Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Evergreen Motel
Evergreen Motel
#3 of 6 in Libby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
15.5 mi away
Caboose Motel
Caboose Motel
#4 of 6 in Libby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kootenai River Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kootenai River Outfitters

Property: Kootenai River Outfitters
Address: PO Box 775, Troy, MT 59935-0775
Location: United States > Montana > Troy
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests will stay in one of 3 hand hewn log and cedar modern guest houses. All are spacious and privately situated on the water with gorgeous views of the high peaks and the creek. Full size covered decks on each provide comfortable relaxation in a stunningly beautiful environment. All have fully equipped kitchens, full bath, wood and /or propane stoves, propane heaters, power, wi-fi, phone, gas grills etc...in short everything that you will need for your stay with us. Just bring food and personal items. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing