We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Must Stay... Truly a get away from it all kind if place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kootenai River Outfitters

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Troy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kootenai River Outfitters
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Troy
Troy, Montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Must Stay... Truly a get away from it all kind if place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

We had the pleasure of bringing our four year old grandson on this "Glamping" trip with us. He had never camped before so we wanted to ease him into it.

Well, we got a while lot more than we bargained for. This place is fantastic! The cabin itself is spotlessly clean and the decor makes you feel at home immediately! Everything you need is here ( except the food). Whether you want to cook over an open fire pit, a propane BBQ , or in a fully equipped kitchen, you've got it! We used all three and everything we needed was at our fingertips.
We hiked/drove around the 750 acre property and discovered many surprises. Our grandson loved the turtle pond! We came upon a heard of elk grazing, as well as deer roaming the forest.
Just the peaceful atmosphere was enough for us. We went canoeing down the creek in the morning, and roasted marshmallows around the fire in the evening. Just sitting on the deck and looking over at the mountains while the creek sang from the banks was nirvana.
These cabins are a little known hideaway just 20 minutes from the town of Troy. You have easy access to grocery stores, restaurants, and entertainment, but once you drive through those KRO gates, you won't ever want to go back. This place is perfect!
During season, there is even a fly fishing catch and release available steps from your cabin. The biggest perk of this trip was our dog was allowed to come too. They do have guidelines, so be sure to check with the owners.
Next time we come, I want to bring my whole family. The three cabins would make it perfect for a small family reunion.
We honestly can't say enough great things about this place! On a scale of 1 -10, we give it a 20!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RainyInVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
17
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

The cabins are actually beautiful homes on the water and in the wilderness. Wildlife everywhere, and beautiful views. I cannot wait to come back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank danielcarter88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
103 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

Arriving at our cabin, we felt like we had found ourselves in a wonderfully tranquil and beautiful setting with the river flowing right by the porch (think Walden Pond). The cabin we were in, Cabin 1, was the smallest of the three, but had all we needed. There's a wood burning stove for heat as well as a propane heater, a well appointed kitchen with washer/dryer, a grill outside and full sized refrigerator and microwave. The bedroom was a bit small, but the bed was very comfortable.

The main reason we came, however, was the fishing. Robert is a great guide who makes sure that his clients are well taken care of, have a great time on the river and catch fish. We enjoyed our stay immensely and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chicosmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

Robert and KRO are first class hosts in a most spectacular setting. Our family spent the week at the ranch fly fishing, hiking, touring and just relaxing and can't wait to return. The cabins (much like KRO's wonderful website) have everything you need for a great experience. Robert went out of his way to make suggestions in the area to help make our vacation experience memorable. From the wonderful float on the Kootenai to picking wild huckleberries in the Cabinet Mountains, it was all very special.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Snookchaser33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

We had a great time. Kelly was awesome, he not only helped our casting skills, but hooked us up with fish and was entertaining at best. I plan on coming back and bringing some of my buddies. Thanks Kelly
Steve Burgess

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank pharmpinon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

That is what my husband told me on the deck of cabin 3, while bbqing, after a perfect day of fly fishing with our guide Robert.
Check out KRO.
You'll want to thank me later

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kristinalynngorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

My brother, son and I spent a couple days on the ranch fishing Lake Creek and enjoying the nicely-appointed waterfront cabin. We felt privileged by be on this wonderful piece of property. We found the cabin to be clean, cozy and very comfortable. Everything worked perfectly. The river and mountain view from the spacious balcony is gorgeous. The owner was hospitable and helpful in advising us on flyfishing strategies for the water. Despite higher water due to the spring run-off, we were able to catch some very nice fish (rainbow, cutts and browns) using streamers and large dries. If you like solitude while you fish, this is the spot. The cabin is located in a scenic wilderness area adjacent to a large alpine lake. There are a number of interesting sights to visit in the area including the ancient trees in the Ross Creek Cedar Grove. We were quite impressed with this friendly operation and will definately be back for another visit!

Room Tip: Book early in season
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PatrickRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troy
15.3 mi away
Venture Inn
Venture Inn
#1 of 6 in Libby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Kootenai River Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kootenai River Outfitters

Property: Kootenai River Outfitters
Address: PO Box 775, Troy, MT 59935-0775
Location: United States > Montana > Troy
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests will stay in one of 3 hand hewn log and cedar modern guest houses. All are spacious and privately situated on the water with gorgeous views of the high peaks and the creek. Full size covered decks on each provide comfortable relaxation in a stunningly beautiful environment. All have fully equipped kitchens, full bath, wood and /or propane stoves, propane heaters, power, wi-fi, phone, gas grills etc...in short everything that you will need for your stay with us. Just bring food and personal items. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing