We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kootenai River Outfitters

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Troy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kootenai River Outfitters
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Troy
Farmington, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

We had a great time. Kelly was awesome, he not only helped our casting skills, but hooked us up with fish and was entertaining at best. I plan on coming back and bringing some of my buddies. Thanks Kelly
Steve Burgess

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank pharmpinon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
17
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

That is what my husband told me on the deck of cabin 3, while bbqing, after a perfect day of fly fishing with our guide Robert.
Check out KRO.
You'll want to thank me later

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kristinalynngorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

My brother, son and I spent a couple days on the ranch fishing Lake Creek and enjoying the nicely-appointed waterfront cabin. We felt privileged by be on this wonderful piece of property. We found the cabin to be clean, cozy and very comfortable. Everything worked perfectly. The river and mountain view from the spacious balcony is gorgeous. The owner was hospitable and helpful in advising us on flyfishing strategies for the water. Despite higher water due to the spring run-off, we were able to catch some very nice fish (rainbow, cutts and browns) using streamers and large dries. If you like solitude while you fish, this is the spot. The cabin is located in a scenic wilderness area adjacent to a large alpine lake. There are a number of interesting sights to visit in the area including the ancient trees in the Ross Creek Cedar Grove. We were quite impressed with this friendly operation and will definately be back for another visit!

Room Tip: Book early in season
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PatrickRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vashon, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2010

My brother and dad and I spent a few days fishing with guides Robert and Jan. We'd alternate: two of us fishing one day while the other would hang out in the spacious cabin 3, reading by the gas stove or fishing the very trout-ey Lake Creek which runs through the cabin's "back-yard". Lake Creek has some nice fish in it, and if you like to bushwack and fish little creeks, it is a gem. The Kootenai is huge water - the cool weather kept the hoppers off the water, and thus the bigger fish were down a bit, but we had excellent dry fly action for the 12-13" rainbows and cuts. My dad and brother caught and released some large ones on streamers (I'll include a picture), I was having too much fun on the surface. Big, clear water like that requires careful mending of casts. Robert and Jan shared some tips to help me to become better at that -( I asked ).

Jeannie prepared some excellent meals on the river. She is an accomplished baker, so beware Atkins dieters! All aspects of our trip were truly excellent. Beds, food, surroundings: Troy is a small town, with some neat establishments: There's a great cafe in Troy, next to the theater, great food and inexpensive. Down the street is a well-stocked bookstore. I plan on going back to the area next summer to check out the Cabinet Wilderness. Five stars all around - Thanks guys!
Dan Houston

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vashondan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

Rented equipment from KRO this summer. Great experience. Robert is a good guy who strives hard to make the experience a positive one for his clients. I would definitely use KRO again!

Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank denverpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2010

"" My wife Linda and I are frequent guests at KRO. We consider cabin 3 our personal property, although you're welcome to use it if you like, and can't say enough good things about everything KRO does !! The fishing is superb, the accomodations first class and my wife, the part time angler, finds tons of things to do rathe...r than fish. You can take great short walks without leaving the property and will almost always see wildlife. We saw two bears and over forty elk in the first fifteen minutes of our first stay there.
The fishing on the creek is a blast and the Kootenai is one of the most satisfying rivers I have ever fished.
This is a first rate operation with world class natural resources and Robert and Jeanie Winstrom will have you feeling like best friends in short order.
KRO is worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lttriverkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

We have stayed with these outfitters several times and just keep coming back. The location is phenomenal - 500+ acres of a private hunting reserve plus access to millions of acres of the Kootenai National Forest and the Bitteroot Mountain Wilderness. The cabins are on Lake creek, which you can canoe a short distance down to Bull Lake. A short drive takes you to the Kootenai River - a world renown Blue Ribbon trout river. The cabins are custom made log homes and the privacy is absolute. We wake up, make our coffee and wander out ont he porch to watch the elk and deer graze. We often see moose, turkey and beaver from the cabin porch as well!

For hunters and fishermen, Robert and his guides are knowledgeable and the utmost professionals. They love to see their guests have a good time and will tailor a trip to fit each person's needs. They love what they do, they're good at it, and it shows!

The cabins are a must for a well deserved private retreat, and are open for stays even if you aren't purchasing a guide package. For a weekend retreat or a lengthy stay, it offers a wonderful experience with privacy and a distinctly personal touch from Robert's wife, Jeanie. The cabins are meticulously decorated and fully stocked with all the kitchenware you could hope for, including spices and basic food items such as coffee. The cabins have large gas grills and are the perfect place to cook a homemade meal. Or you can go to the nearby towns to sample the local fare.

Kootenai River Outfitters has a great deal to offer everyone - whether you are hunting or just looking for a quiet getaway. A great value and a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KootenaiFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troy
15.3 mi away
Venture Inn
Venture Inn
#1 of 6 in Libby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Kootenai River Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kootenai River Outfitters

Property: Kootenai River Outfitters
Address: PO Box 775, Troy, MT 59935-0775
Location: United States > Montana > Troy
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests will stay in one of 3 hand hewn log and cedar modern guest houses. All are spacious and privately situated on the water with gorgeous views of the high peaks and the creek. Full size covered decks on each provide comfortable relaxation in a stunningly beautiful environment. All have fully equipped kitchens, full bath, wood and /or propane stoves, propane heaters, power, wi-fi, phone, gas grills etc...in short everything that you will need for your stay with us. Just bring food and personal items. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing