We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty and peacefulness all around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lakeside Motel & Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Trout Creek
Reviewed August 7, 2009

We stayed at Lakeside Resort for a family reunion. The scenery was absolutely beautiful! The whole family was well taken care of and things were handled in a most proficient and timely manner. The amenities offered were perfect for the reunion and everyone couldn't stop commenting on how wonderful everything was. There is a small grocery store right across the street that sold pretty much any necessity. I dreaded having to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unicornkidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 45 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2009

Flew into Spokane to begin our trip and did the winery tours in the Spokane Valley. Family who live in Montana, met us there and then we were off on the great adventure to the "Best Last Great Place" in the Northwest. Hundreds of acres of wilderness, wildlife and Stars!

We spent 4 glorious nights and 5 days at the Lakeside Resort enjoying our newly purchased wine, sampling the many Montana made brews, and fell in love with one that was aptly named "Moose Drool". With everything from a market, laundry, non-smoking restaurants and bars to the private boat dock all within a few hundred yards of our cabin door, we were in heaven.

And we could see heaven every night when we'd sit along the Clark Fork River's edge as the sun went down across the water. If we hadn't already been married years ago, we would have chosen this place for an outdoor wedding. The 'backyard' or commons area of the Resort, is big and spacious, not to mention the indoor banquet room that has it's own full sized kitchen and adjoining patio big enough for dancing and a live band.

Although it's on HWY 200, you'd never know it was a highway. The only traffic we encountered was at dusk when the wildlife was out and about, and we're talking about the four legged type. We saw so much wildlife we'd only seen in books. From Bald Eagles and American Eagles to humming birds, White Tail Deer and Big Horn Sheep, Buffalo and Elk, we were great full not to have run into any Bear or Mountain Lions while we were visiting, as they live here too, so we were told. The only ones came across were the ones in the banquet room that adorned the huge rock fireplace along one wall.

We also found out that if you are the wilderness adventurer, young at heart and body and want to experience the Montana wildlife up close and personal, that you can rent boats, horses and local guides to take you on many outdoor excursions, but fortunately for us, that's what family is for. We're not that adventurous anymore unless it's on flat ground. A boat and a fishing rod is about our speed now-a-days. Isn't that what retirement or vacation is all about anyway? Good friends, great family and even better wine?

We are looking forward to coming back for a visit, maybe without telling the family this time. We had so much fun just hanging out at the resort! On a scale of 1-10, this place is an 11+ for a perfect relaxing vacation spot that has everything you may ever want or need in a resort. It even has Wi-Fi if you can't leave your laptop or PDA at home.

Thanks John and Julie for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SirusSid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2008

We stayed at the Lakeside Motel & Resort for a week and it was a wonderful experience! The room was very clean and the view was lovely! The website pictures certainly do not give the place its justice-couldn't believe how nice it was-and if you like to fish there is a dock right behind the rooms to do so-very convenient! Not too mention the paddle boats where quite relaxing and a great exercise. The gift shop was really nice and lots of variety plus soft serve ice cream which is so nice after a nice hot day! The owners and employees were very nice and beyond helpful! All in all I do highly recommend anyone to try the resort-plus it is pet friendly, which can be a hard find sometimes!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Nicole11a83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2008

On a cross country trip we came across this excellent lodge between Missoula,Mt. and Sandpoint, Id. on the Clarks Fork in Trout Creek, Mt, on Rt 200. The cabin was large, tastefully decorated,thick,fluffy towels, and absolutely clean (one of the wife's prerequisites). The grounds and and the views of the lake and mountains are beautiful. You can bring your boat to fish or ski, it's on the water with dockage, and in winter there's hunting, snowmobile trails nearby and I believe skiing. There's a gift shop,ice cream,video rental,fishing and hunting supplies. The staff and owners are very friendly and accomidating ,the rates very reasonabe and I would highly recommend this lodge,when we compared it to others in the area the Lakeside simply stood out. Sincerely, Mike Arras

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jarras1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2008

Wow what great accomodations, we stayed in cabin #111, super clean, lots of room, right on the river beautiful Scenery out the back window. Trout Creek in General absolutely beautiful country, lots of time spent in search of wildlife. Found Plenty!
People in town very friendly! GREAT, GREAT, GREAT, cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeinSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2007

This little gem is the best thing for miles around. The motel rooms are comfortable, clean and roomy enough to spend a few days in. The loction is picture perfect with beautiful grounds full of lots of grass, a boat dock and amazing view of the Clark Fork River and mountains in background.

The owners, John & Julie (as well as all the staff) are ALWAYS friendly, gracious and accommodating in every way. I have had to be in this part of Montana several times a year for the past few years and always try to stay here. On occasion, I've been unable to secure a room because they fill up fast when there's an event or gathering going on in town. Unfortunately, no other motel around compares to the experience and travelers quickly learn Lakeside is the place to be. They have a good-sized store with essentials as well as novelties, a few free-standing video games and a pool table for entertainment, new movies for rent, soft-serve ice cream and mochas and a laundromat as well as good old fashioned hospitality; the kind that's just not around anymore. No wonder they keep expanding... they know how to give excellent customer service along with clean, safe rooms to stay in at reasonable prices. I would reccommend this motel to anyone and even go as far as to say it's worth a trip out of your way or off the beaten path.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2007

Have stayed at the Lakeside Motel 9 times since 2005 and it's a wonderful place to stay for a short or long visit. On the Clark Fork River with a boat dock and lots of grassy area for your pets. I have 3 large dogs who travel with us and they gladly accept them as guests. The owners, John & Julie are gracious hosts and attend to our every need as do all the staff members. Would highly recommend to anyone. Melinda Murray (California)

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MMurray_California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trout Creek
18.8 mi away
Riverfront Motel & RV Park
Riverfront Motel & RV Park
#1 of 2 in Thompson Falls
104 reviews
20.1 mi away
Falls Motel
Falls Motel
#2 of 2 in Thompson Falls
187 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Lodge at Trout Creek
The Lodge at Trout Creek
#1 of 2 in Trout Creek
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Motel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Motel & Resort

Address: 2957 Mt Hwy 200, PO Box 1489, Trout Creek, MT 59874
Location: United States > Montana > Trout Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Trout Creek
Price Range: $107 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lakeside Motel & Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside Motel and Resort is located in Trout Creek, Montana. Lakeside Motel and Resort is a 4 Star Resort, restaurant, lounge, bar, casino, banquet meeting room, gift shop, sporting goods, catering, very clean, reasonable priced with a Montana Resort Atmosphere! We are located on the shores of the Noxon Rapids Reservoir, of the Clark Fork River with the Majestic Cabinet Mountains. We have large rooms, large cabins, Jacuzzi Suites, Restaurant, Lounge and Casino. Guests can sit in the backyard by the Lake: use BBQ, fire pits, volley ball, swim along our docks and watch the sun set across the lake with the Cabinet mountains in the background. We also have Trout Creek Unlimited Rental and Sales, were we rent fishing boats, Party Barge, Snowmobiles, ATV's 2-seaters and 4-seaters. Facebook-Trout Creek Unlimited Rentals! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Lakeside Motel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Trout Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing