We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be sure to ask for a room as far away from the bar as possible”
Review of Sacajawea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sacajawea Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Three Forks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I love old hotels and this certainly lived up to my expectations. The renovation is fabulous and the rooms are extremely well done with very high end touches. Our room was small but very comfortable and cozy. The public areas are very inviting and comfortable. Too cool to sit out on the porch, but look forward to that opportunity. Miss the old rocking chairs that used to be there. Had dinner out at the Willow Creek Care and Saloon, so can't comment on the restaurant or bar, but be sure to ask for a room on the opposite end of the hotel from the bar - very loud, if you want to sleep instead of partying. The glass of champagne and hot hand towels are a very welcome touch.

Room Tip: As far away from the bar as possible. Way too loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grasshoppermt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 254 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

Recently I had the opportunity to stay at The Sacajawea Hotel In Three Forks for business. Upon entering, I was welcomed warmly by a kind staff handed a warm scented hand towel and a glass of champagne. The Service and attention to detail speaks to a 5 star caliber establishment. The room was lovely and inviting. I will make a point to stay in Three Forks Montana for no other reason but to visit The Sacajawea Hotel again and again!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms were lovely, We had a corner room which we particularily enjoyed because of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTbusinesswoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed at the Sacajawea Hotel on March 2. Without a doubt, it was one of the worst hotel experiences I have experienced in any class of hotel in over 50 years of hotel/motel use as a business or pleasure traveler. I had business in Townsend which is nearby and could easily have driven to my home in Butte in the evening but opted for an experience in an old refurbished hotel so stayed there. I had a decent dinner on the premises, spending $77.95 (including tip) and retired to my $105.93 per night room at about 8 P.M. To my utter dismay and disbelief, the room noise coming from the bar music inside was so loud that any sleep was impossible. This went on until I called the front desk and asked what time the racket would stop. The answer was when the bar closed (about 2 A. M.). Complimentary earplugs were provided for the convenience of guests to attenuate outside noises. There were no outside noises. The racket was from the bar below my room. I very much regret staying there and left as soon as I could in the daylight without taking advantage of the "free" breakfast. I feel I should have been warned that the condition existed before I took the room. This was the WORST hotel experience I ever had. Fool me once...

Room Tip: CHANGE THE MANAGEMENT ! Existing management has little or no concern for the hearing of the patrons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Antone M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We spent the Valentine's Day weekend at the Sacajawea...and the experience did not disappoint! The three-story Hotel was built in 1910 across the street from the Milwaukee Road depot... an original jumping off point from the rails to Yellowstone Park. The Hotel has been redone in the high style of its original architecture. Everything was top notch...ambiance, staff, service, comfort, gourmet dining from the hand of Israel who brings pride and creativity to each dish he presents. We had the Rib eye glazed with a horseradish sauce and the Valentine's Day Special Lobster tail...freshly flown in. Every wish we had was accommodated...

There was live music in the Sacajawea Bar, and the crowd was Montana boots and hats friendly...but we didn't stay long opting to spend time in one of the 20-some rooms. Ours was on the second floor, nicely appointed and the King-size bed was most comfortable. We loved the complimentary aromatherapy spray from England...Delicious!

You want to be sure to make reservations early for dinner or for a room, as the word is out on this wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnacondaYanko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We plan weddings so we are very familiar with the importance of details. Our philosophy revolves around making sure all the little details, either noticed or subtle, are presented perfectly to cre...ate an experience that will have the guests, family and couple buzzing about the event. The Sacajawea Inn takes the same approach. We drove over for a friend’s birthday and decided to make an evening of it. From the time we walked into the magnificently restored lobby, we felt welcome. Run by the Folkvords, a Three Forks family, the service and atmosphere reflect the pride the family takes in the century old Hotel and their dedication to making their guests stay a quality experience. The general manager, Hilllary Folkvord, and her front desk staff greeted us with champagne and warm hand towels. Our room was beautifully appointed with Italian linens, down comforters, down pillows, and signature Gilchrest and Soames bath products. I loved the aromatherapy spray, a fabulous added touch.
Guests have 2 options for dinner. Pompey’s Grill is located on the main floor and offers a bar and formal dining room. If you are looking for a more informal setting, head down the Sacajawea Bar. Rest assured, you’re going to have a great meal at either. We were celebrating a birthday, so we ventured downstairs to the Sacajawea Bar. We ordered the steak special from the Pompey’s Grill menu and the Bison burger from the bar menu. Both excellent! My drink of choice for the night, The Farmer’s Daughter, a yummy berry based cocktail recommended by hotel GM Hillary (the daughter of the owner who happens to also be a farmer!) A great staff, lots of locals, and live music made for a great place for us to celebrate Amber’s birthday. The evening was a blast!
The Hotel offers a continental breakfast in bed. Just fill out your selection card the night before, and your breakfast is delivered to your room in the morning. Fabulous! But we also have to give a BIG shout out the staff. Every member of the staff, from Hillary and the front desk staff to our waiters, to the staff we encountered in the halls were engaging, cheerful, warm, and really made us feel welcome. The Sac’s attention to details, beautiful restoration, and wonderful staff made our night away a true mini-vacation. The kind of experience that had us talking about how much we enjoyed it all the way home.
Whether you are planning a wedding or other large event, a honeymoon get-a-way, or just a night away, we highly recommend the Sacajawea Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katalin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Having had a wonderful weekend at the Sacajawea last year, we took a Valentine's weekend with friends. It was a beautiful Montana day and the porch looked very inviting, though the breeze was cold. There was a basket of blankets waiting and we had a bottle of wine to start the evening. So we checked in and received a complementary glass of champagne. We unpacked and the other couple came by and we pointed out that there were robes hanging in the bathroom. They returned minutes later having determined they had no robes in their room. So, we grabbed our bottle & glasses and headed for the porch, stopping by the desk to request robes be delivered.

Spent a nice hour on the porch chatting, then moved inside as the wind had become unpleasant. In the meantime, the young lady came by and let our friends know that there was only one additional robe in the entire hotel. Oops.

The traffic was heavy--many locals coming in for dinner and there were good conversations and wonderful aromas from the kitchen. We looked forward to dinner (which will be discussed under Pompey's Grill.)

After dinner, we decided to see how the live music was in the downstairs pub. A lively crowd, heavy on cowboy hats and boots. The musician was fine and there were many folks dancing and enjoying. A nice selection of Montana beers and a full bar ensured a pleasant evening. After a couple of hours, the musician seemed to be losing the crowd, then was joined by Dean--the owner of the Hotel and the Wheat Montana brand. The evening turned into a fun jam session and probably more beer than was healthy for most of us.

Morning brought a young lady to our door with our continental breakfast. We had chosen our breakfast the prior evening and this was a very nice touch. Coffee, tea and orange juice was in another hallway and was a pleasant way to start the day. An excellent cup of coffee!

The mattress, linens, towels and general amenities are all top shelf. Very comfortable.

Even with the minor issues, this is a wonderful destination hotel and a great place to spend a fun or romantic weekend. Our greatest concern was in the restaurant and we hope our next visit has worked out the minor glitches.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We just spent the night there celebarating our 45th anniversary. It was outstanding in every category. Rooms are very comfortable, food outstanding and the service was the very best. I recommend this very highly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobTMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Forks
20.3 mi away
Gallatin River Lodge
Gallatin River Lodge
#9 of 31 in Bozeman
244 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lewis & Clark Motel of Three Forks
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Three Forks
Travelodge Three Forks
#2 of 2 in Three Forks
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sacajawea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sacajawea Hotel

Address: 5 N Main St, Three Forks, MT 59752-9010
Location: United States > Montana > Three Forks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Three Forks
Price Range: $157 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sacajawea Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Sacajawea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing