We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ribs "to die for!"”

Willow Creek Cafe and Saloon
Ranked #7 of 11 Restaurants in Three Forks
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ribs "to die for!"”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Well worth the short drive into beautiful Montana countryside to have a fabulous dinner. The ribs were excellent. The service was friendly and prompt. I love the "country" décor. We'll go back every chance we get. Reservations highly recommended every night of the week.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank grasshoppermt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    25
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ribs so good you'll leave cross eyed!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I had heard raves about this restaurant for years but never made it out to try it for myself. After enjoying absolutely every bit of our experience, I can't believe I've been missing out on it for so long. This restaurant looks like it probably did 100 years ago. In the teeny tiny town of Willow Creek, MT, if you blink you'll miss it. When you first enter the building you are in a bar that looks like its strait out of the old west, then you enter the restaurant and it follows the same authentic feel. Most importantly, the food is AMAZING. This restaurant is known for its ribs. The sauce in mouth watering and the flavor of the sauce is unlike any I've ever tasted. Those in my party who didn't order ribs ordered steaks and had raves about their meals as well. And I was most surprised to find a desert that I would have expected to find in the fanciest of restaurants. As full as I was from the ribs, I couldn't stop going back for more of their Russian Cream. MMM. For anyone in the Gallatin Valley area, this restaurant is a must visit! You'll never forget this meal!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Audrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Willow Creek: Where the Pavement Ends... and so will your diet.”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Hit this gem of a cafe on the right night and you'll be dreaming of their succulent ribs for the rest of your life. Long a staple for local cowboy ranchers and residents, I am almost sorry to say that the ribs (in a highly secretive sauce) at Willow Creek Cafe are no longer a well-kept local secret. Packed for dinner most evenings, the almost 40 mile drive from Bozeman and a wait for a table is well worth the experience. The menu usually boasts simple fare with potato sides, but of late the specials approach fine dining, and there are wine choices now that don't come out of a box. Last night my hubby ordered a med rare chile-lime-cinnamon blackened NY steak, and it was blow-your-mind good paired with a Washington State Pinot Noir. There have been a couple of occasions in the last six years of our patronage when the ribs were on the dry side, but usually they fall off the bone. Their signature BBQ sauce is outrageously good, and I've come pretty darn close to recreating it at home with mustard, honey, sweet vermouth, Worcestershire and Heinz 57 sauce. The cafe is a centerpiece in Stanley Gordon West's fabulous novel, "Blind Your Ponies". Look for the bicycle built for two on the front porch, a romantic icon in this touching story. Come here for the genuine Montana ranching-family atmosphere and leave here impressed by the food, friendly service and great value.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LorraineMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best ribs in the world!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is a really special place and the food is outstanding. It's the real Montana. Service staff is very friendly and you have to try there barbecued ribs--outstanding to say the least!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank BobTMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dinner”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We had the chicken fried chicken the first night and went back a second night for the steaks! Be sure to call for reservations so you don't have to wait, or are unable to get a table.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nancy353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willow Creek Cafe and Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Willow Creek Cafe and Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing