We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk up to see a neat cavern”

Lewis and Clark Caverns State Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Walk up to see a neat cavern”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This cavern was never seen by Lewis and Clark, but since it is in the area they named it for them. The cavern is up a fairly large hill about .75 miles from the ticket booth. Read the information you are handed very carefully. It is a long walk uphill. We are over 65 yo and made it.

The cavern is different from others we have seen. It is in a vertical orientation, rather than a horizontal orientation like Carlsbad or Mammoth. After entering the cave, we walked down steps and more steps and kept going down. After about an hour of looking at neat formations, we were many feet below where we started. Our guide was really knowledgeable about history of the cave, and the formations. It is different from other caves. Please read carefully the information you are given when buying your ticket.

Check out the geocaches in the area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank EarlM828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    93
    7
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntersville, NC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was a fun stop on our recent Montana vacation. The caverns are beautiful. The walk was not too bad. Our kids loved it. Highly recommend.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BelleReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The Best Cave Tour Ever”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is a 2.5 hour cave tour and by far the best one I have been to. The tour is informative and fun! The cave is incredibly beautiful and you get to see so much of it! I loved it but would not recommend it for heavily pregnant women, the elderly, or even the very tall. It is hike just to get to the opening and there are several very small tunnels you have to bend down to go through. The pathways are narrow and sometimes it is not easy to see where you are going. Other than that, everyone will love it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Katy Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Montana
Level Contributor
730 reviews
190 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Very cool”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This place is a must see for yourselves. History, science, natural beauty. Great guide, lots of information taken away with us.
Not something you can see just anywhere. Make time to go, you will not be disappointed.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffreyshapiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson,SC
Level Contributor
215 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice day trip”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My wife and I were in Montana to visit Yellowstone and decided to take a day trip to Lewis and Clark caverns. The tour was very nice. A rather long walk to get to the entrance and some rather narrow places in the cavern but the history was neat and the caves were remarkable. Be ready for about a 3-4 mile walk round trip and getting down on your bum to get thru some narrow passages.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tkherold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lewis and Clark Caverns State Park also viewed

 

Been to Lewis and Clark Caverns State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing