We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful scenery outside, fun cave exploring inside”

Lewis and Clark Caverns State Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lewistown, Montana
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful scenery outside, fun cave exploring inside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

There is a moderate hike up to the cave entrance and inside the cave there is stooping, stairs and a short slide. So be aware if you have mobility limitations or asthma problems.
Highly recommend the candlelight tour in winter. Approximately one third of the candlelight tour is with modern lighting because of the Beaver Slide. The rest is with candles and really is fascinating to trek the rest of the cave in candlelight. The store is closed during the winter.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank RobinCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    88
    7
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
KC
Level Contributor
383 reviews
141 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Out of shape people and adults with kiddos - don't go”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Let me begin by saying how much we enjoyed this stop! I really was a great way to finish up our Montana vacation. But, there are a few things that need to be made perfectly clear to people before they make the time to go there or try to get to the caverns. Entrance fee is $10 and there is a video you can watch while you wait for the next tour to begin.

The trip begins with a 1/2 mile walk up the side of the mountain to the entrance. The paths form a "Z" as it gains elevation. If you can't make this walk, don't waste your time. If you have little kiddos, please spare them the agony of trying to walk or you walk holding them. Getting to the entrance of the cave is only about half of the exercise you will get while viewing the cave.

Once inside the cave, everyone is asked to be quiet and not make loud shreiks if they encouter a bat (or cave rats, which we saw several). Obviously, children may be frightened by these things as well as the often dark enviornment inside. There are about half a dozen locations where you have to lean over or squat about waist-high to get into the next chamber. Again, hard to do for older or severely out of shape folks. One of the first locations is a "slide" which you actually sit on your bottom and slide down into another opening. I've never been in a cave with that type of mode of transportation!

The history is interesting and there are several unique features that the guides point out. Lots of corney jokes, so be prepared! The walk out of the cavern isn't nearly as bad as the walk to the entrance.

Enjoyable, but it was strange to see no pools of water in the cave itself. It is known as a "dormant" cave so the colors are not as vivid as I have experienced in other caves.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gabi_kansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“So Glad We Made Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

What an amazing experience! It's really something to see nature at work 326 feet underground. The staff is friendly and relaxed. The park office is warm with a great fire going. We went on a rainy day, but the 3/4 mile hike to the cave entrance wasn't unpleasant. The view was amazing even with the fog. My calves were killing me when it was over!
My only criticism is scheduling. It's a two hour experience, so when you have a 9:30 a.m. appointment, you should be able to embark at 9:30 a.m. If the school groups can't be there on time, they should be the ones who have to wait for the next tour... not the general public.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Roshalau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Natural Wonder”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

One of the most beautiful natural caverns anywhere, this wonder offers guided tours by experienced and knowledgeable forest service agents. Truly a remarkable and memorable experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank mld_portland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Get ready to go underground!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is an AMAZING tourist stop. You have no idea what you are truly in for. It's a VERY exciting and wondrous stop. You won't be disappointed. Good option for Mt souvenier trinkets too!

Helpful?
Thank tyockim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lewis and Clark Caverns State Park also viewed

 

Been to Lewis and Clark Caverns State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing