We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible chef”
Review of Pompey’s Grill

Pompey’s Grill
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Three Forks
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $42
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Here at the Sacajawea Hotel we have two great spots for you to enjoy food or drink in our beautiful setting. Stop into Pompey's Grill or Sacajawea Bar & Diner and try any one of our great dishes. After dinner head down to the Sacajawea Bar for a drink, a game of poker, or live music and dancing. No matter what you are looking for, we have you covered. Our dining room at Pompey's Grill features an extensive menu sure to please the most discriminating palette. Big Certified Angus Beef Steaks are on the menu, all hand-cut by our Executive Chef who then fires them hot on a wood smoke grill. Our wine list is extensive, with many varietals from different regions, all paired to complement the cuisine. Our casual watering hole, the Sacajawea Bar, is the place to be. Lively conversation, a bar menu, and live music on the weekends are the reasons why our downstairs bar is so popular. The 100 year old clear fir boards that once graced the floor of the Front Porch were re-purposed as wainscoting on the walls, and the old porch railings are now where you rest your boots while bellying up to the bar. Gaming machines and a Live Poker Room, which doubles as a meeting space, are ready for when the mood strikes. The Hotel was brought back to life in 2010, this Historic Gem is celebrating in Grand Style. From top to bottom, we have made every effort to ensure a comfortable and unique experience for all of our guests. Whether you are here for the afternoon or a week, you will be welcomed by our staff and made to feel like family.
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Incredible chef”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I have rarely if ever written multiple reviews for a restaurant but this recent meal warrants notice. I am a vegetarian and usually make due when I go out to dinner. On this recent visit to Pompey's I told the waitress to ask the chef to prepare of vegetarian meal with whatever he had; I didnt care. Chef Matt came out and asked if I had any other food preferences, dairy, gluten etc. In due course, I was presented with one of the best vegetarian meals i have ever had!
A mushroom and potato hash stuffed pablano pepper sitting in a chile lime yogurt sauce...incredible tastes and texture...it was served with spinach papardelle pasta with flash seared local heirloom tomatoes (met the farmer during the meal).
I highly recommend this restaurant for a lot of reasons...good service, attentive management but also an incredible chef.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MACOLEMAN0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    35
    14
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“local foods”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

He went out of his way to prepare a wonderful Vegan dish. Their food was excellent. They also had loose leaf tea, what a find!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vietbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-nae-MT, Manager at Pompey’s Grill, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for a lovely review. Our chef is always willing to accept the challenge to create something special for a customer with dietary restrictions. We are happy to hear he was able to give you an incredible meal! We use Tumblewood teas out of Big Timber, they are delicious... keeping it local!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Ambiance and Grounds are Inviting, the Food was Average”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stumbled upon the Sacajawea Hotel restaurant on our way from Glacier National Park to Big Sky. The hotel building is very inviting and caused us to stop for a look. The restaurant menu was impressive for what was otherwise a small rural town, and caused us to decide to stop for supper.

Having not personally eaten all day, I was ready to enjoy a good meal. We tried several items from the menu, including two appetizers. I had a steak, my wife had scallops, our son had a burger, and our daughter had mac & cheese. While all were well presented and looked very good, none really lived up to our expectations. I'd sum it up as good, not great or decent, not remarkable.

If you're in the area and want more than a family style restaurant, it's worth considering. Our experience was that it was not worthy of a foodie visit or driving from afar for a meal. The hotel is cute, and would consider a future stay. Perhaps next time the food will live up to our expectations.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OU812Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-nae-MT, Manager at Pompey’s Grill, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your review of our restaurant. It is rather disappointing to hear that you were not satisfied with your meal. We get travelers from all over the states/world who have raved about the excellent quality and exceptional preparation of our menu items. We also have many return guests who drive from afar on a regular basis to enjoy the amazing creations that we offer here at The Sacajawea.

What was it about all the items you had that did not meet your expectations? the Scallops and the Mac & Cheese are 2 of our most highly loved items! We definitely feel that our food is remarkable and not boring in any way.

Please feel free to contact management if you have any further comments or questions you would like to discuss. Thank you!

#285-6515
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“TRAVELING THRU”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We decided to try a new lunch stop instead of Wheat Montana. Easy to find was the Sac Bar and Grill in the basement. I had one of the best house salads served in a basket! We also had the Philly Sandwich and Soup which were all very good. Great service, very clean restaurant with a lot of TV's.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaneBerns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-nae-MT, Manager at Pompey’s Grill, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
We are so glad you decided to switch things up a bit and try the Sac bar for a lunch destination. We try to make everything we possibly can from scratch to give our valued guests great food. We love hearing you also received good service, they go hand-in-hand here at the Sacajawea. We hope you will stop again when traveling through!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
200 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Another wonderful visit”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We discovered the Sacajawea a year ago and had a less-than-stellar visit in February. But, we returned for dinner and were pleased to have a meal like we experienced the first time around.

We arrived in town two hours before our reservation. Though we knew the hotel was booked solid--and likely the dining room as well--we asked if they could seat us early. With what appeared to be little effort, they rearranged tables and seated us immediately. For us, this was the difference between arriving home at 10 p.m. instead of midnight--a long drive after dark.

One comment--three of the four of us had crab legs. All-you-can-eat for $35! And they did! It's hard to rate crab legs--so long as they're not over or under cooked, they're going to be good. The fourth of us had scallops and they were wonderful.

Salads started the meal, though the crab legs included soup also. Coconut creme pie and a chocolate bombe for desert. Nearly perfect.

The service was quite pleasant and we were pleased to see that the young lady with whom we had received somewhat poor service, was still there and seemed to be doing fine. Hopefully, some retraining helped.

We truly enjoy the Sacajawea and especially the dining room. The service is good, the rooms are lovely and the porch makes a perfect afternoon. They appear to be concerned with their customer's comments and we received a personal contact after our prior issues. We'll return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-nae-MT, Manager at Pompey’s Grill, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you were able to return and enjoyed your experience as a whole! Our "All You Can Eat Crab Legs" has been a real hit, glad you were able to partake. It's our goal to be consistent on both food and service in order for our guests to keep coming back. We look forward to your future visits and thank you for your kind comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pompey’s Grill also viewed

 

Been to Pompey’s Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing