We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a surprise”

Wheat Montana Farms Bakery & Deli
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Three Forks
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Waynesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
94 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“What a surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Driving from Missoula Mt on the way to Billings Mt, saw the restaurant and stopped in for lunch. Oh my goodness, what a place and the food was excellent, deli style. These people grow their own wheat and baked it into bread, as well. You better stop there and check this place out.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HainesRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    37
    14
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
525 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Great place to stock up for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stopped for fuel coming out of Bozeman and spotted this place next door, so stocked up for a picnic lunch. We bought coffee, pasties and an apple fritter - very tasty. Staff were very friendly and efficient, as it is a busy place. You can eat inside as well. The cinammon rolls looked enormous!

Well recommend if you're passing.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Soozee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
621 reviews
300 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
“Great Sandwiches, Desserts, Biscuits and Gravy etc”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is one busy place. Caravans come here to stop and refuel their stomachs. I had a huge cinnamon roll, biscuits and gravy and some soup. All were good. You can get mixes, loaves of bread etc. This should be on everyone's list of things to do in this part of Montana. YOu place an order and before you can blink an eye someone is calling your name with your food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank One2travelUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
533 reviews
365 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 444 helpful votes
“Not for the discerning eater”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

We ordered two sandwiches, the Rueben and a French dip, and both were the worst versions of either we've ever had: very little meat, bread not particularly good, and the rueben was panini-grilled with some kind of sugar super to make it sweet and crisp in a way that made it taffy-sticky--every bite got stuck in my teeth and I actually worried that I could lose a filling. We ended up eating the scant fillings and tossing the rest.

We also bought several baked goods, a cinnamon roll which wasn't nearly as good as it looked (texture and flavor was boring-supermarket bakery), and a pair of maccaroons that were so oppressively sweet you couldn't taste the coconut for the sugar. We tossed those out the car window as we drove away.

As someone else noted here, "it's a bakery for the masses". The food here is not for discerning diners. So disappointing as I'm the biggest fan of their flours and had this grand image in my head of what it would be like to actually have a meal there.

Obviously others found it otherwise. All I can say is, if your favorite flavor is sugar and the word 'artisan' means nothing to you, you'll probably be pretty happy here. But if you require more? Keep driving.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UnrepentantFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Just Good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Very nice stop for lunch. Service was prompt, polite and friendly. Bread was delicious, mustard surprisingly spicy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wheat Montana Farms Bakery & Deli also viewed

 

Been to Wheat Montana Farms Bakery & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing