We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Falls Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Falls Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Thompson Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Such a pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

We were traveling through on a house hunting trip and needed a place to stay. We booked a king room and while my husband was skeptical when we pulled into register. His attitude quickly changed. Fantastic room. pot lights which actually allowed you to see better than higher dollar places we've been in. And how often do you see a double vanity in a hotel - probably never. We were very impressed and know where we will be staying next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beartooths2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsMotelMT, Owner at Falls Motel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
We understand that the outside of our motel needs some work (it's on the list) - to be honest since we bought the mote a couple years ago we've spent most of our time and money on the inside - so that our guests have quality lodging while away from home. Thank you so much for taking the chance with us! We are super pleased you enjoyed the room. We look forward to hosting you sometime in the future. Very best regards, Mark and Katrina Campbell, Falls Motel owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    41
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
37
60
24
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philipsburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Room was very clean but small. Bathroom only had a sink so nowhere to really get ready. Bed was comfortable. There was a little train noise that bothered my husband but didn't really bother me. Staff was friendly. I would take others advice and upgrade to larger room if staying again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsMotelMT, Owner at Falls Motel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thank you for choosing us during your recent stay in Thompson Falls. The Falls Motel was built to house a crew of people who worked on the dam - so some of the rooms are small. Perfect for one person or a close couple. We also have rooms that have been renovated and have two queen beds. They are spacious. Our king singles are larger rooms as well and are perfectly comfortable for two people. We hope to see you again the future! Thank you for taking the time to review the Falls Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

I stayed at the Falls Motel earlier this year and stated that it met all of my needs and recommended the motel. However, I again visited the motel several weeks later and had an even better experience. On both occasions the people (owners I think) were very friendly, helpful and personable. However, the second visit I stayed in a room that was completely updated. It was tastefully done and had a very homey feel to it. During both stays the rooms were clean and well equipped but the first stay was in a room that had not been updated. I assumed all rooms were like that but apparently the first room was the exception as most of the rooms have been updated. Bottom line is it was a great experience and I will definitely stay there again when I am in the area again. It offered the same level of quality as the bigger hotel chains but with a personable feel.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but make sure your room is updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RGL1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsMotelMT, Owner at Falls Motel, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time twice to leave a review! We appreciate it and that fact you choose to stay with us when you're in town.
I just want to be clear that every room in the motel has been updated. When we took it over in 2007 it still had orange shag carpet, black/gray paneling, bathrooms had mildewy linoleum in the bathrooms and all furnishing from the 60s. We tiled all the bathrooms, painted all the rooms, installed newer Montana made furniture and laid new carpet. What we've learned since, is once the carpet "goes" - it will be replaced with solid surface flooring, like the second room you stayed in. Your second stay was in Room 28 - it truly is my favorite room next to the new Suite 21. We hope that you'll return - just call ahead and ask for YOUR special favorite room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We were greeted with a friendly smile and given helpful information to make our stay in Thompson Falls that much more enjoyable. Great beds and a clean room, with extra blankets and pillows. Will stay here again next time we are in Thompson Falls.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsMotelMT, Owner at Falls Motel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment. We're thrilled you noticed the quality of the beds - we purchased all new Sealy Celetial Plush beds for the motel. It's true, we could have bought cheaper mattresses - but isn't the bed itself truly a motel's product? Good beds = good night sleep.
We look forward to seeing you next time you come through town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was such a great experience. Very easy to tell that the management puts alot of ownership in this business. Rooms are very clean, warm and comforatble. Just an excellent place to stay and enjoy Thompson Falls. You are walking distance to the downtown area and many scenic attractions on the river. Loved it!!

Room Tip: they are all good. We had the triple room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsMotelMT, Owner at Falls Motel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review - and for staying with us. Our in town convenience does make it nice for customers to walk to shopping, eating, drinking, movie viewing and best of all soaking in the scenery and nature that surrounds us. Next time you're here as for information on trails - there are many you can reach by walking out your motel room's door. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

When you think of "motel" you sometimes have your own impressions, especially if it's in a smaller town. This however was a very nice, well kept, and clean establishment. The staff was super friendly, the rooms cozy and bed very comfortable - I slept like a baby. Next time I'm in Thompson Falls I'll definitely be staying there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowdrift5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsMotelMT, Owner at Falls Motel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
THANK YOU. Small town motels are like presents - you never know what you're going to find. We have worked hard to make our rooms clean, comfortable and with amenities that our guests can use. Hearing you enjoyed your stay and your kind words that share your experience with others is immensely appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winthrop, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Katrina and Mark Campbell made my stay in Thompson Falls MT extra special with their exceptionally clean rooms, comfortable bed, extra rags for cleaning my bicycle and genuine hospitality in assuring that every part of my stay was extraordinary. I too own a small inn and know how important happy customers are to our business, and these folks definitely deserve a shout out from me! Sheila C, River Pines Inn, Winthrop WA.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thompson Falls
1.5 mi away
Riverfront Motel & RV Park
Riverfront Motel & RV Park
#1 of 2 in Thompson Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
23.3 mi away
Little River Motel
Little River Motel
#3 of 3 in Saint Regis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
8.8 mi away
Rocky Point Ranch
Rocky Point Ranch
#1 of 3 in Thompson Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Lakeside Motel & Resort
Lakeside Motel & Resort
#2 of 2 in Trout Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
22.4 mi away
Mullan House
Mullan House
#1 of 1 in Mullan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rimrock Lodge
Rimrock Lodge
#2 of 3 in Thompson Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Motel

Property: Falls Motel
Address: 112 S. Gallatin Street, Thompson Falls, MT 59873
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Thompson Falls
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Thompson Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Falls Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic motel with 23 updated rooms with modern amenities. Free wi-fi, dog friendly, new mattresses, refrigerator, flat screen TVs, DVD players, microwave, and coffee maker in every room. We offer five different room configurations including a King Suite with private patio and fireplace, king singles, queen singles, double queen and triples. Why? We want our guests to have the type of room that serves their needs best!We are located in town, walking distance to restaurants, bars, casinos, theater, parks, trails - and the Clark Fork River is 1/2 block from the motel. NEWLY ADDED: Big Eddy's Deck Bar - 11 blocks east of the motel. Great Food. Big Deck. Cold Drinks. Amazing View. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Falls Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing