We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice change”
Review of Falls Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Falls Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Thompson Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A nice change”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Staying at a small motel was a welcome change from some of the big, impersonal hotels. We stayed in a large room which was tastefully renovated and very comfortable We extended our stay and on Mark's recommendation visited Graves Falls. What a beautiful spot. For nature lovers, there was no shortage of pronghorns grazing alongside the road in town.

Room Tip: Splurge on the renovated suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polly501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    41
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
37
60
24
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at this motel for a wedding we were attending in Thompson Falls. The rooms were clean and the bathroom was a bit small for three of us staying in one room. This is a family owned hotel. Mark was great, the heater was not working in our bathroom, so he brought us a portable heater. Outside our room was a apple tree which you could pick or watch the deer feed from. The girl at the front desk was very helpful.

Room Tip: Location is walking distance to restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bozy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsMotelMT, Owner at Falls Motel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We hope the family event was wonderful! We do love that the deer hang out at our apple tree - guests enjoy seeing them as well. Thompson Falls is surrounded by national forests meaning we have an abundance of wildlife from deer to elk, big horn sheep, bear, turkeys, bald eagles and osprey.

Thank you for the heads up about the bathroom heater - it will be replaced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a nice option in Thompson Falls. It’s not fancy, but the price is fair and staff was great. The rooms are small, clean and well appointed. You’re walking distance to services and near a nice local park.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsMotelMT, Owner at Falls Motel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Ah yes, we do have some small rooms - when a group is being cost conscience, these are the rooms they ask for. We also have very large rooms - including rooms with two queen beds and a triple with two queens & a twin bed in a side room. We really enjoyed having your group stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

A well kept family owned motel. Clean rooms with in-room fridge, coffee maker, and microwave. The location is conveniently located near downtown. A friendly post-visit thank you note postcard was a nice personal touch. I was able to cook my dinner with a gas grill outside my room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsMotelMT, Owner at Falls Motel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We definitely understand that people on the road, whether working or for fun - do not always want to eat out. That's why we are perfectly happy when guests want to pull out a grill to fix up some dinner. We also offer picnic table areas, one of which has a camp grill - you just supply the charcoal and food.

THANK YOU for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington, United States
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My family and I recently visited Thompson Falls Montana as we were dropping my Brother-in-law off for a week long hunting trip. Thompson Falls is somewhat isolated and there are very few hotel/motel choices and no major chains to choose from. This made us nervous as we are somewhat picky about our hotel rooms. The lady at the hunting lodge where we dropped my Brother-in-law off at suggested the Falls Motel in Thompson Falls.

The stay served its purpose; the young lady at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. She had some great suggestions for hiking (she is currently co-authoring a local hiking book). We chose the largest room they had; the main sleeping room with two queen beds, one very small separate sleeping room with a very small bed and a somewhat small bathroom. The room was old and worn but seemed to be clean. The bed was sufficient for a decent night's sleep. There was a microwave and mini-fridge in the room and the TV offered a good choice of stations; including two movie channels. The bathroom was small but served its purpose as well. We had a dog so the roomy green area outside our room was fantastic. We saw several deer, rabbits and other creatures in the area. My guess is that most people that stay there are either hunters or hikers. It actually was nice to stay in a homey simple local hotel to support a local business instead of a large chain hotel (although I would not want to do it on a regular basis). We will be going back soon to pick my Brother-in-law up and will stay there again. If you find yourself in Thompson Falls you won't do any better than this motel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RGL1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsMotelMT, Owner at Falls Motel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We so pleased our motel served your lodging needs! You commented about us having movie channels - YES, indeed we offer three premium movie channels: HBO, Starz and Encore. We also have DVD players in all the rooms, and the Redbox movie rental is located at the Town Pump, which is right next door. Thank you for staying with us both times you were in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden Lake, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here on our motorcycles in September. Great downtown location, walk to entire town. Nice island park very close by. Rooms are updated and nice, ours was pretty small but perfect. Frig and microwave were unexpected but nice. Very friendly staff brought us over chairs to hang outside, very nice. Travel here 2-3 times a year, will stay here for now on.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theperry5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsMotelMT, Owner at Falls Motel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Especially when the weather is nice, we are always happy to bring lawn chairs and even outdoor tables if needed so guests can enjoy this beautiful place. Just ask - we'll bring it over! Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave a comment. We hope to see you all again next summer. Ride Safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martensville, sk, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

we stayed here at the end of August. it was extremely quiet here and the rooms were very clean and spacious. There was service with a smile, restaurant recommendations and great value for our money. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsMotelMT, Owner at Falls Motel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing us. We truly appreciate all our guests - that's why we work hard to make sure your rooms are clean, you're treated well and you have the amenities you need. We hope to see you all again next summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thompson Falls
1.5 mi away
Riverfront Motel & RV Park
Riverfront Motel & RV Park
#1 of 2 in Thompson Falls
86 reviews
8.8 mi away
Rocky Point Ranch
Rocky Point Ranch
#1 of 3 in Thompson Falls
43 reviews
23.3 mi away
Little River Motel
Little River Motel
#3 of 3 in Saint Regis
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Mullan House
Mullan House
#1 of 1 in Mullan
16 reviews
12.8 mi away
Bear Creek Resort
Bear Creek Resort
#1 of 2 in Thompson Falls
15 reviews
20.1 mi away
Lakeside Motel & Resort
Lakeside Motel & Resort
#2 of 2 in Trout Creek
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Motel

Property: Falls Motel
Address: 112 S. Gallatin Street, Thompson Falls, MT 59873
Location: United States > Montana > Thompson Falls
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Thompson Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Falls Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic motel with 23 updated rooms with modern amenities. Free wi-fi, dog friendly, new mattresses, refrigerator, flat screen TVs, DVD players, microwave, and coffee maker in every room. We offer five different room configurations including a King Suite with private patio and fireplace, king singles, queen singles, double queen and triples. Why? We want our guests to have the type of room that serves their needs best!We are located in town, walking distance to restaurants, bars, casinos, theater, parks, trails - and the Clark Fork River is 1/2 block from the motel. NEWLY ADDED: Big Eddy's Deck Bar - 11 blocks east of the motel. Great Food. Big Deck. Cold Drinks. Amazing View. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Falls Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing