We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to get up early and not wake the kids”
Review of Falls Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Falls Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Thompson Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Salmon, Idaho, United States
1 review
“Hard to get up early and not wake the kids”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The rooms were very clean! However the only thing I didn't like was the sink and mirrors were outside of the bathroom and we had to get up early but there is no light over the vanity and I didn't want to wake the kids so I did my make up in the with a little mirror while sitting on the toilet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camille W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsMotelMT, Owner at Falls Motel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
How unfortunate! The room you stayed in does indeed have a vanity light, but the turn on switch isn't the easiest to locate in the dark - we apologize for that and for the inconvenience

We strive to offer all our guests a comfortable stay - which is why we've updated the rooms, have all new mattresses and work to keep them super clean.

Out of our 23 rooms, three of them have the sink/vanity in the main room - as was typical of older style motels. We've found that some guests love this - as others find them annoying. Please note all our vanities have proper lighting - and we use energy efficient light bulbs.

We hope if you return next year, that you will book early and request a room where the vanity is in the bathroom space. We would be completely happy to make this accommodation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    42
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
38
60
24
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colville, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My husband and recently stayed at the Falls to visit our grandchildren. the room was very clean, comfortable and spacious. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. I will stay there as I visit my grandkids in the future. Great place, highly recommend to anyone traveling to Thompson Falls.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janie894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsMotelMT, Owner at Falls Motel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
The holidays are best celebrated with family - so at the motel we try our best to accommodate any special requests that will make the celebration easier for our guests. THANK YOU for choosing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Katrina and Mark provide it all: comfort, convenience and cleanliness. Within walking distance to almost all of Thompson Falls' services and just a minute walk to the little island in the midst of the river. Enjoy the scenic bridge and the gorgeous surroundings as well as the comfort of your room with an extra tall shower. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsMotelMT, Owner at Falls Motel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments. It's great you noticed the shower head height. We want our customers to be comfortable, so in many of our showers we added extenders that make the shower heads about 7 ft high, so our tall customers don't have to bend down to get a good shower.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sedona
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Never would have found this place except its vintage sign on the main drag had an arrow pointing toward the river. New owners are revamping the rooms. Rooms are large (owners are combining what used to be two small rooms into one large one.) It is extremely quiet - being off the main drag - with a picnic table and literally a few steps from the beautiful river.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wover2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsMotelMT, Owner at Falls Motel, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you for your time to write such a great review of the motel. We are just 1/2 block from the Clark Fork River and the PPL Island Park where visitors can check out the new Fish Ladder, the revamped High Bridge and enjoy the nature trail that circles the scenic island. We hope you got to enjoy this place. We put picnic tables around the property so guests can sit outside on nice days and soak up the scenery and wildlife (whitetail deer) that likes to make town home. Most importantly, as you pointed out, we've spent a ton of time and energy updating the guest rooms so you are comfortable and can relax during your visit with us. We hope to see you again in the future, travel safe and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bretagne
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

It isn't a bad motel to spend the night : quiet, confortable beds, clean, nice welcome ... But we thought it could be cheaper compared to other places we stayed at during our four week trip. The surroundings aren't great, there is no place to sit outside at the motel. Overall we were a little bit disappointed by the place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gibri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsMotelMT, Owner at Falls Motel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your trip. We're a bit perplexed by your comments about there not being outside seating. We offer a couple different areas outside for guests to sit and take in the surrounding scenery. There are two picnic tables, one by the lilac tree and the other with a charcoal grill by our rose garden. We have also been known to bring table, chairs and umbrellas to our guests front door. The King Suite also has it's own private patio with seating area. We truly appreciate our customers and want to work hard to make your stay with us comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox Creek, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Thank you to the Campbell's for their great updated and renovated motel in Thompson Falls MT. We stayed here for two nights in early September. We travel by motorcycle and look for little out of the way towns and down to earth motels. The Falls Motel is a great motel. The hardwood floors, updated bathroom and new beds just to name a few positives. Thank you for the little extras in the bathrooms as when travelling with limited space it is much appreciated. The motorbike washing goodies and facilites is a big plus.

We recommend the Falls Motels to everyone. Thanks again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Warm and friendly from the front desk to the rooms. Genuine old fashioned attention provided by owners. Impeccably clean. Super biker friendly with cleaning supplies for motorcyclists. Try this small town motel for a simple and comfortable experience. I'll go the long way to experience a stay at this motel in the future!!! And you should too!!!

Room Tip: No tips necessary...Owners wrap their arms around you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsMotelMT, Owner at Falls Motel, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Sometimes it does feel like we're a bit off the beaten path. Montana Highway 200 through this scenic Clark Fork River Valley is little traveled compared to the rapidly busy Interstate 90. Every time I drive home from "the city" I'm always enthralled with the scenery and wildlife that surrounds us. The curvy road that follows the flow of the river and the steep rock formations of the valley walls can take your breath away. You know, we are tucked away - and you do have to go the long way round to enjoy this place. Boy are we glad you did! And we'll be happy to see you again - safe trails to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thompson Falls
1.5 mi away
Riverfront Motel & RV Park
Riverfront Motel & RV Park
#1 of 2 in Thompson Falls
90 reviews
8.8 mi away
Rocky Point Ranch
Rocky Point Ranch
#1 of 3 in Thompson Falls
44 reviews
23.3 mi away
Little River Motel
Little River Motel
#3 of 3 in Saint Regis
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Bear Creek Resort
Bear Creek Resort
#1 of 2 in Thompson Falls
17 reviews
20.1 mi away
Lakeside Motel & Resort
Lakeside Motel & Resort
#2 of 2 in Trout Creek
42 reviews
22.4 mi away
Mullan House
Mullan House
#1 of 1 in Mullan
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Motel

Property: Falls Motel
Address: 112 S. Gallatin Street, Thompson Falls, MT 59873
Location: United States > Montana > Thompson Falls
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Thompson Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Falls Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic motel with 23 updated rooms with modern amenities. Free wi-fi, dog friendly, new mattresses, refrigerator, flat screen TVs, DVD players, microwave, and coffee maker in every room. We offer five different room configurations including a King Suite with private patio and fireplace, king singles, queen singles, double queen and triples. Why? We want our guests to have the type of room that serves their needs best!We are located in town, walking distance to restaurants, bars, casinos, theater, parks, trails - and the Clark Fork River is 1/2 block from the motel. NEWLY ADDED: Big Eddy's Deck Bar - 11 blocks east of the motel. Great Food. Big Deck. Cold Drinks. Amazing View. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Falls Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing