We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Bed & Breakfast!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Laughing Horse Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Swan Lake B&B and Inns
Buckeye, Arizona
1 review
“Amazing Bed & Breakfast!!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband and I were lucky enough to send the kids off with the grandparents so we could enjoy our anniversary getaway in the Swan Mountain Range. We first visited the Swan about ten years ago, and I immediately fell in love with the place! After looking at the few option of places to stay, we decided on the Laughing Horse Lodge. Unsure of what to expect, I was tickled pink when we pulled up front to the quaint little lodge. The whiteboard, posted on the front porch, announced that check-in was self-service, we were in room #2, the room was unlocked, and we could find the key on the windowsill:-) I immediately knew that I was going to love the place! I wish I had more pictures to share because it doesn’t do it justice. Each room has a private entrance and the inside is cleverly decorated to look like a log cabin. So cute!! The back yard had a beautiful flower garden and green foliage and chairs to relax in, a perfect, inviting spot that called out and said “relax for a while and read a good book!”.

Dinner was just as entertaining. Laughing Horse also boasts a gourmet restaurant, and the ever friendly chef who came out to greet the restaurant patrons, was none other than the owner herself. My seared ahi steak on a fresh bed of lettuce, picked from the garden out back, was incredible! Breakfast was amazing as well, blueberry & peach pancakes, eggs, and fresh bacon.

If you ever get a chance to vacation in Montana, the Seeley/Swan Range is a must-see, and if you’re looking for overnight lodging that feels like authentic Montana, don’t hesitate to stay at The Laughing Horse. I can’t wait to go back again!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacindaBuchmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    18
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
25
84
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
344 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

You must dine at the Laughing Horse Lodge, just to see the laughing horses, and the stand up (or sit down comic) Kathleen, owner/chef/entertainer/world traveler, and artiste. Beautiful Swan Lake looms peacefully behind my shoulder, while my wine is brought to our table. We find out that Horace, one of the last buffalo standing, has provided the meat for our buffalo meatball appetizer. The rainbow colors in the salad remind me her photos in the men's room where she has photos of cowboys (get it!). Anyway, the girls had the parchment wrapped walleye, and I had the signature soba noodle cake with chicken and veggies. Did I say treasure? Superb! I think she goes on these world wide adventures just to refine her recipes for anyone who stops by. Top it off with great tasting desserts and vanilla bean ice cream. Just be careful on your drive back to Bigfork, the politzei is sitting on the roadside just before te turnoff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, Washington
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I so appreciated Laughing Horse. We were on a motorcycle and didn't realize how uninhabited that stretch of Montana was. We gratefully stumbled on it in the nick of time. There was a common outside area that was like the garden of Eden! They had rigged up all these big triangles of sail material to create just the right amount of shade. I went crazy with my camera, hoping to remember some of her inspired ideas. There was a lot of great black and white photography - mostly horse related, and mostly quite original, in the rooms. I peeked into several of the unoccupied rooms, enjoying the different decor. And the breakfast! Fabuloso. We left feeling inspired, enriched and happy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 16Krissy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I pounced on a last minute plan to drive 200 miles to Bigfork for the Whitewater festival and the "Wild Mile" race on Sunday or Memorial Day Weekend. I was directed to find a fun B&B in the area and I lucked out finding a vacancy at the Laughing Horse Lodge.

It doesn't look like much upon arrival. Kinda looks like any ol' bar/resturant in rural Montana. Inside, all that changed. It is quaint, cozy and welcoming. There are 8 log cabin rooms with a delightful courtyard in the center. Two adorable and well behaved golden retreivers and a parrot are around to keep you company. Rooms are small and the logs don't offer the best sound proofing, but the total experience including huckleberry pancakes, eggs and sausages in the morning make this a must return spot. Give it a try, you won't be dissappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottLockwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Laughing Horse Lodge is an absolute gem. It's designed and decorated tastefully and cheerfully, and the whole place has a happy, relaxed atmosphere. The breakfast is delicious, the grounds are beautiful, and the whole experience is just wonderful. We'd return in an instant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We spent three days at the Laughing Horse Lodge, and the entire experience was exceptional. We have traveled quite a bit across the US and abroad, and this is our favorite B&B. The Laughing Horse Lodge perfectly balances a private room and bath with a gorgeous common courtyard and dining area. The rooms are warm, cozy, and impeccably clean and are a great choice for either couples on a getaway or small families traveling, with or without pets.

The owner/chef, Kathleen, is an excellent cook, hostess, and concierge - all-in-one. We consistently marveled at Kathleen’s knowledge of and attention to her guests – from remembering our names (having booked weeks prior) to another couple’s dietary requests from days before - amazing! Kathleen has a wealth of knowledge about the area and sights-to-see as well as a hilarious sense of humor. Even though she is the owner/chef (and more), she still somehow finds the time to visit every table and chat with her guests at both breakfast at dinner and keep them laughing.

We visited Glacier National Park a bit late in the season, as parts of the Park’s roads were closing for construction, but Kathleen wouldn’t hear of it. With her guidance and expertise, we were able to see almost everything that we wanted in the Park and the vicinity. Thank you, Kathleen!

If you really want to treat yourself, visit Kathleen’s restaurant for dinner. She has a great selection of wine, beer, and food with a little bit of something for everyone – ranging from dinner salads, pizza, and burgers to steak, fish, and lamb. Even if dinner doesn’t fit into your plans, after having had Kathleen’s huckleberry and peach pancakes, you’ll find yourself coming back again (and maybe again and again!) for dinner.

If you’re trying to decide on a place to stay near Glacier and are looking for a good location and comfort, great food, and a fantastic hostess and atmosphere, the Laughing Horse Lodge is it! Just remember –you’re in northwestern Montana; if you can’t take a holiday away from e-mail/technology and unplug, then you’re probably visiting the wrong place anyway.

Room Tip: A room with a kitchenette works great for storing picnic provisions which may need refrigeration.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akaplan870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We just spent 6 days at Laughing Horse & we have only the best to say about our stay there. The room was very clean & neat. The food was excellent, also. We plan to return again as soon as we can. Kathleen has a very good sense of humor & we really enjoyed talking to her. She can help you plan your day with information & maps of how to get to where you want to go. Kathleen is an awesome chef. Her dinners are great, too.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent. No Pool or fitness center, but who needs them when the area is so full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swan Lake
14.3 mi away
Marina Cay Resort and Conference Center
21.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Flathead Lake Inn and Suites
21.4 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Ridgewater Polson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Islander Inn
Islander Inn
#3 of 9 in Bigfork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
14.0 mi away
Timbers Motel
Timbers Motel
#2 of 2 in Bigfork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
18.4 mi away
Swan Hill Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laughing Horse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laughing Horse Lodge

Property: Laughing Horse Lodge
Address: 22360 Mt Highway 83, Milemarker 71.5, Swan Lake, MT 59911-7822
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Swan Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Swan Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European-style road house featuring gourmet dining and comfortable, quiet rooms - no TVs, Phones, or Alarm clocks in rooms, no cell service on property. Non-smoking dogs welcome. Complimentary WiFi. Near Glacier National Park and Bob Marshall Wilderness. Perfect for weekend getaways, intimate weddings, family reunions and retreats. Open May through October. Dining room known for presenting mostly organic, always fresh and totally delicious meals - gluten and dairy free, as well as vegan meals available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Laughing Horse Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laughing Horse Hotel Swan Lake
Laughing Horse Lodge Swan Lake, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing