We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.


Swan Mountain Outfitters Day Tours
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Swan Lake
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Swan Mountain Outfitters offers summer wilderness pack trips, float/fishing trips, llama treks, custom trail/wagon rides and guided hunting trips in and around the Bob Marshall Wilderness. They also hold the horseback concession contract in Glacier National Park and offer trail rides from four locations in the Glacier area: Apgar, Lake McDonald, Many Glacier and West Glacier.
Spring Hope, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My husband ,myself and our 12 year old son who has Asperger's went on a "Beef &Buggy Ride" . We trail ride but my husband has been injured and we could not do that. We rode out a wagon pulled by a pair of very healthy Clydesdales. Our guides were Mike & Shawn and they were great. They cooked a great meal of steak ,corn on the cob ,beans and salad part on an open fire and some on a grill. This was topped off with the VERY BEST SMORES we have ever had. Then an amazing thing happened Shawn & Mike played a game of horseshoes with my husband and our son LOVED it. It is real struggle for him to enjoy sports of any kind because he is soo shy and it upsets him when he looses. Shawn & Mike made him feel vey comfortable and he took to them right away. Thank you Shawn & Mike for a great time !!! The horses and pack mules at Swan Mountain were very healthy and happy. You could tell they were groomed and shod on a regular basis.We were very impressed with the appearance of the horses and mules.

Visited July 2013
1 Thank Cynthia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dungannon, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Was very disappointed in our hunting experience at Swan Mtn”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

After paying thousand of $$$ to hunt bears in montana you would think the guides would have scouted the area and seen where the bear sign was before our arrival since we were the first group of the season. This was not the case. We spent 5 days walking miles after miles looking for sign of bears and in most cases we were taken to places that had been clear cut and had no sign of vegetation or any type of game. We then learned the guides didn't realize the areas had even been timbered even though the timbering was done 1 to 2 years ahead of time. Was very poorly plannned and executed hunt. When we were taken to areas with encouraging sign we were quickly paraded thru there and never went back even though it was mentioned to the guide that we would like to hunt there again. This trip is just not what it is cracked up to be. Not for serious hunters that are expecting an outfitter that hunts its butt off to get you a bear.
Please dont waste your $$$ or your once in a lifetime trip with this place.

Visited May 2013
Thank EAC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley A, Marketing Director at Swan Mountain Outfitters Day Tours, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear EAC77,

We were concerned to read that your bear hunt experience was unsatisfactory and below the standards we have set for our outfit. There are plenty of black bears in the Swan Valley, but because Montana is a free chase state and does not allow baiting or dogs there is never a guarantee. In order to overcome these challenges we focus on providing the best in equipment, stock, experienced guides and a strong understanding of the terrain. It’s disappointing to hear you didn’t recognize these efforts and we will look into every aspect of what you describe. As a family run outfit, we operate with honesty and integrity and are always upfront with our hunters. While we may not agree, we understand the importance of what you are saying, and will improve as an organization as a result of it. Thanks for taking the time to express share your experience.

Swan Mountain Outfitters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful Ride”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We took a 2-hr ride out of the Lake McDonald corral. Really great ride, lots of great scenery. Horses and guides were great.

Visited July 2013
Thank jltpeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A perfect day!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We (9 yr old and I) did the 2hr horseback ride in the morning with a fantastic guide who had a lot of knowledge of the area and horses. (four riders, one guide) We had Cheers and Smooth who didn't like each other very much (Smooth kept getting too close to Cheers during the ride) - but it wasn't that big of a deal. The ride was the perfect length for novice riders. Beautiful route. We also took the afternoon white water rafting -- (Glacier Raft Co) which was outstanding. Warm sunny weather made for a great opportunity to jump off the raft into the frigid and refreshing river water. I recommend this combo for families!

Visited July 2013
Thank Persico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great ride”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We did the half day ride to Apgar Lookout at Glacier National Park. The wranglers were very professional and really kept safety in mind. The weather could have been better, but of course they had no control over that. My daughters horse was a little difficult for her to control and the wrangler really took care of her and kept this in mind. This ride usually would allow for a 30-40 minute break at the top, but since it was cold, windy and rainy, the wrangler gave us a short break and allowed us to head back early. All the staff we had contact with were friendly and professional.

Visited June 2013
Thank A-ro911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swan Mountain Outfitters Day Tours also viewed


Been to Swan Mountain Outfitters Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing