We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yuck!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sula
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sula
Reviewed December 26, 2010

We rented one of the cabins that was horribly overpriced for what you get. The "cabin" looked more like a singlewide trailer with way outdated decor. the blankets were old and the sheets had holes in them. We had a full kitchen but nothing to cook in and no coffepot! we had small children and there was no tv but they said we could RENT a tv. Who does that? then we got to the hot springs and it was disgusting. The "hottub had things floating in it (hair and other things) and the paint was all chipped off the bottom. The large pool was cold and also was in terrible shape. It had a plastic dome over it and it would drip ice cold water on you.also is was only open until 9pm at nite. We would not recommend tis place and will never go back

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ctnicurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lths, Owner at Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

The cabin being referred to here is cabin #3 which sleeps 8 people and is definitely not a single-wide trailer. We do not pride ourselves on decor that keeps up with the times, especially in a cabin built in the 1940s, but for guests that are concerned with such things, we do have a couple of renovated cabins for couples with king size beds and Jacuzzis as well as one cabin we built in the 90s which has a lot of character and a more modern feel. As imperfect humans it is not impossible that sheets which have worn through have made their way to beds. This is not a regular occurrence and if it had been brought to our attention we would have been happy to correct the error with apologies. The blankets are perfectly functional and washed regularly as well as replaced when necessary.

When guests make reservations for a cabin that has any sort of cooking facilities, we make sure to tell them exactly what appliances the cabin contains and we warn guests that if they are interested using the kitchen they must bring with them everything they will need including pots and pans and plates and forks and knives. This is the most common miscommunication we experience here, even though the website clearly states the kitchens to be unfurnished and we stress this over the phone. The kitchens do not contain coffee pots but our Jacuzzi cabins and the newest cabin do have coffee pots and coffee making supplies. These 3 cabins also have TVs with DVD players (but no channels) with DVDs available to rent in the office. We even have a TV/VCR combo available in the office which, for $10, can be taken to any cabin for the night along with one of our VHS selections. This is a fabulous option for families with children needing TV time, though most young guests are likely to enjoy the pool more.

The hot tub and pool are on a flow through system which means fresh water always entering and older water exiting continuously. This process allows for a fresh hot tub of water every 15 minutes, unfortunately we cannot control the shedding of guests enjoying the hot tub along with you. Even on the coldest of winter days, the hot tub still averages 103 degrees and the large pool averages 93 degrees.

We look forward to resurfacing the pool built back in the 1940s, but it is quite a financial undertaking which could possibly cause price increases we are reluctant to put into place. In the meantime, our vigorous cleaning methods do cause some paint to chip, but it is better than the alternative of a dirty pool. The water is unaffected by this chipping because the chipping only occurs during pressure washing, not during regular use. The greenhouse like dome we use to cover the pool in the colder months allows us to continue to offer the spring's benefits to the public by not only keeping the water at 93 degrees, but also keeps the air surrounding the water comfortable for wet guests when out of the pool. Condensation occurs naturally and water accumulating on the dome does drip into the pool which some guests describe as an exhilarating contrast of temperatures.

True in the winter we close at 9 (Fridays and Saturdays in the summer until 10) but our family environment is not conducive to late night follies. Besides, we find most skiers wish to wake up early feeling refreshed for another day on the slopes. Though we wish everyone who visits us has a wonderful time, having something for everyone does not guarantee everyone will be able to find the splendors we have here for them. This is unfortunate but it does not deter us from trying.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 93 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2010

We reserved the resort for a family reunion. I read some of the reviews and was apprehensive, but our experience was a good one. The staff was friendly, helpful, and very nice to deal with. The gambling machines weren't very generous, but where are they? Gamble at your own risk.
The motel unit I stayed in was clean, had plenty of towels, and oh so quiet. I slept well for being at such a high altitude. I was in several cabins that the family had rented and all were nice. The nights were cool and the days were a little wet, but all in all, we had a great time. I would go back again. I didn't swim, but some of the family did, and they were happy with the pool.
I recommend This spot in the mountains. It's not bad at all.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dannymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2010

My stay was wonderful! I was informed that the resort had recently gone back to it's original owners and it shows! What a beautiful setting, clean, cozy cabins, wonderful food and attentive staff! The price was fair and one of the most relaxing "getaways" I have had in a long time!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perry08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

Other people have said it all before. Yes, it's kinda dirty and old, and the rooms are small... and the walls are paper thin and you can here everything going on in every other room, not just the rooms immediately adjacent to yours. We had no problem with the staff, but we really didn't ask for much. We did not eat dinner at their restaurant, first because it closed way to early and second because it looked way overpriced for a not so impressive menu. But hey, the room is cheap and you get what you pay for. If you just want a place to rest your head before/after a day of skiing, I guess it will work... but I'm not going back there.

We did eat at neat little place maybe 10 miles down the road in Conner, called the Naughty Moose, food was pretty good, portions were huge, price was fair, they had live music. I recommend it over the "Resort's" restaurant.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerbong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2010

water was luke warm at best
service was terrible
The establishment was so dissapointing we decided to head home early rather than stay and they refused to give us our money back. this place has no redeaming qualities

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank liket0play
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2010

First, the owners requested that we pay in cash. They cited credit card fees as the reason, but I suspect it's so they don't have to report the income. This is no big deal, so I requested that everyone show up with their share of the cost. This had the unfortunate effect of utterly confusing the management. I suggested that we pay the outstanding fee on my credit card, but they absolutely refused. While the cabins aren't that bad, we were a little dismayed to learn that none of them come with pots, cups, plates, utensils, dish soap, etc. Basically bring everything you're going to need to prepare food, as it certainly isn't going to be provided by Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort (LTHSR). The hot-tub and hot-springs could be better described as warm-tub and warm-springs. The same applies to the sauna -- temperature never climbed above 80. Management said the power costs were prohibitive! Next we had several items stolen by a group of visiting teenagers. Next, the management routinely closes the bar / restaurant before the advertised closing time. We met another couple there that was told there would be live music and the bar would be open until 2:00am -- in reality the bar closed at 8:30 and there was no live music at all. Bottomline: if you simply need a place to sleep, LTHSR isn't that bad. If you're looking for ANY amenities above and beyond this, you'd do much better elsewhere. The management simply doesn't care about their guests -- beyond receiving payment -- and it shows.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Volstag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whoney, Manager at Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2011

I am sorry about your experience here. As far as the credit card issue, You came with multiple people and wanted us to split the room price with everybody and I am sorry but that is just not done here or in most other motels. Also it makes one person responsible if there is any damage. So it has nothing to do with not reporting the income or taxes which we do not appreciate the accusation form you. As far as the sauna, it is kept on a timer, if you wanted it on all you had to do was say so and wait 10 min and it would be around 145. As far as the bar, it is never open till 2am and we do not have live music. That couple you talked to was probably talking about Lost Trail Resort just over the pass in Idaho. Just like this site do not believe everything you here

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2010

I recently spent a weekend at this "resort" with 12 friends hoping to have a nice weekend of skiing and soaking. The skiing was great, but the soaking and the lodging were horrible. I've never seen such horrible customer service, they made every one of us feel as if we were putting them out by paying them hundreds to stay in their shoddy cabins. The people working there made every interaction as uncomfortable and difficult as possible; from requiring cash for our cabins (suspicious), to refusing to allow us to warm up the sauna before coming to the pool area.

Our cabins were somewhat affordable, and were par for the price and for cabins at comparable hot springs around the state. We had made sure to book one of our cabins with a kitchen so we could do our own cookin but to our surprise they did not stock it with dishes, silverware or any cooking pans nor did they provide anything to clean with even though we were required to clean the cabin before checkout.

The biggest disappointment of our weekend at this mess was the pool. I've been to just about every other Hot Spring resort, and I'm no stickler for a clean pool or pristine water. The pool was very typical for Hot Springs here with some crumbling cement and some peeling paint, which was not a big deal. The disappointing part was that the pool temperature, like swimming in a big glass of room temperature tap water that someone left outside under a leaky tarp. Nothing you would want to sit in and relax. Even if the water was a tolerable temperature, the beauty of sitting outside under the stars and trees would be ruined by their makeshift tarp roof. When we inquired we were rudely told they could send more hot water to the pool but it would not be safe. The only warm water at this "Hot Spring" is in the Hot Tub, and because of this was so over used the water was disgusting and filmy.
While at the pool area two people in our party also had belongings stolen from the changing area.

The current owners may be replying to this site saying they are under new management and now are hospitable and accommodating. They may be new owners, but it seems nothing has changed here going back to 2006. If you're looking for a Hot Spring close to Lost Trail go to Jackson Hot Springs, they'd love to have you.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TerryKnife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort

Address: 283 Lost Trail Hot Springs Rd, Sula, MT 59871
Location: United States > Montana > Sula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sula
Price Range: $76 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This rustically elegant resort, with cabins, motel units, and a family reunion lodge, has accommodation options for everyone, including RVers and tenters. The hot spring pool measures 20' by 70', goes from 10" to 9' deep, and averages 95 degrees in summer and 93 in winter. The hot tub is 10 degrees warmer. Plan on NY style, fresh dough, thin crust pizzas or catch up with our Wood Fired Pizza Wagon during your visit for Neapolitan pizzas. Relax with a refreshment from our full bar and get lost in the wide range of tunes from our radio station, 102.1FM KLTR Lost Trail Radio. Conveniently located in the middle of nowhere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lost Trail Hot Springs Hotel Sula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing