We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Enjoy Skiing”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sula
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sula
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I stayed in a cabin. It was a bit primitive but was perfect for my needs. I skied at Lost Trail Pass, returned to the resort, soaked in the pools and had a great dinner every night. In the morning breakfast was quick and good. I will be going back again,

Room Tip: Get one of the cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrdillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lths, Owner at Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

That's how we see it! Glad you agree. Good to know that for you we got it right - thanks for sharing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 92 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife and I had a really enjoyable one night stay. Our cabin was clean and comfortable and provided a good night's sleep. Definitely quiet. A late evening soak in the hot spring tub (105º) and swim in the pool (90º or so) was just great. The owners were very cordial and provided a super breakfast in the dining room. Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort is rustic rather than luxurious, but they provide a unique and enjoyable experience. Numerous tree trunk remnants have been carved providing an interesting "art" exhibit.
We do not hesitate to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lths, Owner at Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words. It means a lot to us. It's important that guests appreciate this place for what it is because we have no plans to make drastic changes. Most of our guests are typically happy to hear that. However, the Jacuzzi Cabins have a bit of a luxurious touch for those looking for that kind of experience. Thanks for sharing with others!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is a review of the hot springs and service, we did not stay here but visited one afternoon to use the hot springs pool. The area around the pool was is poor condition with only a few tables and chairs, some of which were broken. The chairs and tables were dirty. There was an abundance of fake flowers on the deck and the one real hanging pot was totally dead. The hot tub had all kinds of debris floating in it and there were pine cones in the pool. The bathrooms had no soap or towels (not even empty dispensers), just toilet paper. Obviously not a lot of pride shown in the care of this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lths, Owner at Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Our guests often marvel at the historic property we maintain. Owner operated with limited staff, there are always chores to do. The work is never done. The grass grows and we mow it. The snow falls and we plow. Tables are cleaned and dirtied again. Plants grow and die. It is the cycle of life and the tasks of business owners. We can't recall a time recently, or ever for that matter, that pine cones made a home in the pool but I suppose it isn't impossible - we are in a nature setting. There are trees near the pool but the debris is typically limited to the deck. It is often those trees that dirty the tables and chairs on one particular deck, but hey, nature happens. It's usually what people come here for. They are rarely offended by it. They enjoy the shade the trees provide. It sure can be hard to keep up with nature but who with a tree in their yard doesn't understand that?

I'd enjoy taking this opportunity to tell our readers a little more about ourselves. Call it making lemonade out of lemons, as opposed to the lemons this guest is making out of lemonade. This place is like a cool, refreshing drink. We can help the cares of the world disappear if you're open to our simplistic, rustic environment. Sometimes that's all any of us need – a little simplicity.

The lovely peachy-pink and white artificial flowers will stay bright and cheery long after our short growing season leaves us. Of course silk is a poor substitute for live, but sometimes something's better than nothing, right? That poor hanging plant was the last survivor of the live flowers. In its day it was beautiful but its day is gone and it passed away quickly and quietly while we were sleeping - a cold night in the summer isn't unusual here. Artificial is much more resilient. When it was removed there were still bits of green on the one side, but we took it down anyway. It was a sad sign of the end of the season.

The deck won't be available much longer, with its 6 tables and 36 chairs. It's a shame this guest wasn't able to enjoy our facilities. True, we did discover a broken table recently, but it was fixed the next day. For one day it was resting on its side out of the way. These things happen. Especially when the tables get used as much as ours. Before long the dome will rise enclosing the pool to keep in the warmth. We stay open year round and the dome makes that possible. It's like a giant greenhouse, keeping the air warm around the pool, and keeping the water as warm as possible regardless of below freezing temperatures outside.

The question I have for people who leave opinions for the world instead of coming to the business for help is - why? Why don't they raise their concerns when something could be done about it? Why don't they want to enjoy themselves? Why do they travel looking for things to complain about? If this guest had given us the chance we could have done something about many of these issues. He criticizes the service without giving us the chance to serve him. Of course we have soap and of course we have towels. No, we do not keep empty soap dispensers in the bathrooms. Most guests come equipped but for those that do not - we are here to help. I'm glad to hear we weren't out of toilet paper. That can happen on occasion too! Then he really may have had to talk to us. Or maybe it would have just remained empty for the next guest. Don't we all love that?

The trick is letting us know there is something we can do to help you enjoy yourself! We want you to enjoy yourself! Why not try talking to us? Whatever, too late now, but just so everyone else knows, we have soap and towels and shampoo and conditioner and toothpaste and toothbrushes and bathing suits and pool toys as well as goggles and snacks and beverages and a restaurant with awesome steaks and pizzas and lodging ranging from tent camping to a Jacuzzi cabin and a staff that aims to please - so much so that we even keep a pool skimmer around for the rare debris in the pool or hot tub. Imagine that! Who would've thought! But seriously...we cannot express this point strongly enough.

The other point we'd like to make is read reviews before you go, don't just write them after you leave. We feel a lot of unpleasant trips could be avoided if people had realistic expectations of where they're headed. Of course you have to read these opinions keeping in mind we don't all like the same things. Sometimes by reading about a reviewer you can learn more about them and therefore get a better idea of how much to value their opinion. Feel free to click on their profile and read other reviews they've left.

Helpful to understand about our property is that it has buildings dating back to the 1800s and 1920s and 1940s - repair is a constant. We take great pride in our business and feel fortunate that we have been able to keep the hot springs available to the public for over 20 years while other hot springs facilities in the area closed down years ago. Unfortunately that didn't shine through for this guest but what can we say? You can't win them all, even at this Best of the Last Best Places! Hidden Gem! Our Little Piece of Heaven!

If ever there is an issue with our facilities, please, please, please tell us about it so we can fix it for you and the other guests still to come! If leaving statements like this online is intended to help other travelers then start by helping the travelers coming that very same day. We sure do get tired of telling people this but we really do believe that talking to the business, instead of complaining later, would make a better day for everyone. Isn't that really the goal here? Let's all have a happy day! Or is that too laid back for the critical traveler? Meanwhile, we will continue to mow and plow and clean and soldier on and we're still looking for the pine cone in the pool. It's not worth cutting a tree down over, but rest assured, if we did, we would turn its stump into another one of our creative carvings of the Lewis and Clark era – because we have great pride in our property, location and history.

Thanks for taking the time to learn more about us. We'll look forward to your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our family of four had a very nice stay at Lost Springs. We loved swimming in the pools, our tent site was nice, and the breakfast before we left was delish. Would love to try the pools in the winter after skiing.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Bnrfedor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lths, Owner at Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

We will definitely look forward to your visit in the ski season. Your family was a pleasure to serve!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My Wife and I recently went to Montana to do "All the Hot Springs in Montana", we visited seven with our 20 foot travel trailer.

Then we discovered the Best of the the Seven, "Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort" http://losttrailhotsprings.com/.

Eighty miles south of Missoula MT. on Highway 93 South, just past Sula Mt. in the Bitterroot Valley.

The owners Mary Dell Honey and her son Stann Honey (with Mary's Husband Gary Honey and Stann's girlfriend Renee) were all Gracious Hosts and Stann will facilitate you and yours as much as humanly possible.

Stann wears many hats, besides being the cook, pool expert and all around fix it guy, he even runs the Lost trail Radio Station!
That's right, Lost Trail has it's own radio station that has a 6 mile range, with a wide range of musical tastes. You Will Like!

The Cabins, RV Park, Restaurant/Lounge and of course the beautiful (chemical-free) hot springs pool and hot tub are truly to die for!
Did I mention the 300 year old Ponderosa Pine trees all around?

I'll Be Back!

At 8,000 feet,
Mike & Cindy Swendrowski,
Estes Park, Colorado.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Swendrowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lths, Owner at Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

You were a pleasure to have join us! You must do it again! Thanks for the kind words and your keen skills of observation. Thanks as well for sharing your observations with the world. The happy people are all too often too busy being happy to think about telling perfect strangers online about their happiness. Thanks for spreading happy words. It gives us warm fuzzy feelings. Truly, these pleasant reviews mean a lot to us! Thank you for helping us conquer the negativity in the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Skiers, I'd like to put this place on your intinerary. This place is a great place to explore Lost Trail ski resort, and X-country ski the southern Bitterroot Valley.

Every February I take a 2-3 week vacation in which to explore ski resorts in WA, ID, BC, MT, WY, UT and Oregon.

Lost Trail Ski Resort was the best find this year.
I was based at Lost Trail Hot Springs resort for three nights and found the stay delightful.
Stann and Mary made my stay very enjoyable. Good food; inexpensive and functional accomodations; knowledgeable and informative conversation about the local history, outdoor activities.

And I had Wi-fi. And they had a dry sauna, hot tub and enclose outdoor hot springs pool.
It doesn't get much better.

greyds

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lths, Owner at Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Happy memories haunted this guest. You notice months went by before this review was written. He just can't get over how awesome it is out here! With ski season just around the corner, keep in mind we are the closest lodging to both downhill skiing and cross-country skiing. Aside from that, a good soak in our hot springs water will soothe away your aching pains. If that's not enough of an excuse, how about our kicking pizzas and steaks? Not working for you? Try the wings instead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I came for 2 days. I stayed for a week. The owners, Stann and Mary, made me feel comfortable and welcome. Every morning I ordered a great filling breakfast and watched guests enjoy the clean hot springs pool. On a hot afternoon I could choose from a nice selection of cold beer from their full bar. Lunch and dinner is available. Every evening I sat on the porch of my cabin and enjoyed the quiet breeze. They have a wide variety of lodging options: a campground, motel, lodge, and cabins of many sizes. I stayed in a 1 bedroom cabin of a simple rustic style. The main room is roomy and has a kitchen and eating area. You must have your own cooking and eating utensils. Everything was clean and the bed was comfortable. It was just what the doctor ordered.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
Thank snowman3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lths, Owner at Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

We often have guests that don't want to leave. That's normal. What isn't normal is a guest actually having the opportunity to stay longer than expected. We were glad we could accommodate this guest as it was obvious what a wonderful time he was having and we love to have happy people around. We welcome him back at any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sula
16.8 mi away
The Darby
The Darby
#2 of 3 in Darby
24 reviews
17.0 mi away
Rye Creek Lodge
Rye Creek Lodge
#2 of 9 in Darby
50 reviews
16.7 mi away
Bitterroot River Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort

Address: 283 Lost Trail Hot Springs Rd, Sula, MT 59871
Location: United States > Montana > Sula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sula
Price Range: $76 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This rustically elegant resort, with cabins, motel units, and a family reunion lodge, has accommodation options for everyone, including RVers and tenters. The hot spring pool measures 20' by 70', goes from 10" to 9' deep, and averages 95 degrees in summer and 93 in winter. The hot tub is 10 degrees warmer. Plan on NY style, fresh dough, thin crust pizzas or catch up with our Wood Fired Pizza Wagon during your visit for Neapolitan pizzas. Relax with a refreshment from our full bar and get lost in the wide range of tunes from our radio station, 102.1FM KLTR Lost Trail Radio. Conveniently located in the middle of nowhere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lost Trail Hot Springs Hotel Sula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing