We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding secluded resort”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sula
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sula
Billings, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding secluded resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

We have stayed at the resort a couple of times and we were always treated exceptionally well. The food is always top notch and prepared just the way we asked.
The facilities are rustic but well maintained. The pool is very nice and the temperature is very comfortable. I have read the reviews of other people and do not agree with the negative comments that have been posted. We have traveled all over Europe and stayed in many hotels that were not as well maintained as the Lost Trail Resort.
We are looking forward to staying there many more times.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lths, Owner at Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. It means a lot to us. We hope you have a chance to visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    20
    5
    11
    14
See reviews for
28
31
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

Four of us came to Lost Trail for snowshoeing on the Chief Joseph trails and to soak in the hot springs pool and an overnight in a cabin. There were some negative reviews on this site but we liked the owner's responses so we decided to take a chance. We are so glad we did! The little log cabin we shared was a treat. It was warm and the beds were comfortable. The food at the restaurant was very tasty and a good value. We had pizzas and they were fantastic. The full breakfasts the next morning were also top-notch. We would definitely recommend Lost Trail Hot Springs to our friends!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davechrismon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lths, Owner at Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
We're glad you took the chance too! Just goes to show you can't believe everything you read on the net, even if it is considered an unbiased opinion. We'll look forward to seeing you and your friends in the near future. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

I like to ski the Chief Joseph area in the winter. It can get really cold and I can get really tired after a long day on the trails. This place is only a few miles down the mountain and has hot pools and great food and clean nice accomodations in a very Montana setting. Don t go if you want a fancy resort. If you just want great rustic place to relax, this is it. Friendy folks with a great restaurant-steaks are always perfect and they have a nice selection of local made beers. Enjoy. I have been here often and will return often. Did I mention it is extremely reasonable in cost?

Room Tip: Cabins are great. The lodge rooms are cheap\er and low key-BUT the building is super energy efficien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lths, Owner at Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
We agree! It is a great place. Thanks for taking the time to share that with the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

Consistantly one of my favorite places. Beautiful location and friendly staff. They go out of their way to keep the public happy. Even though they are only open friday thru sunday in the winter, if you call ahead .and make an appointment on a monday thru thursday, they are very accomodating! How many businesses do you know that will do that? The restaurant is only available on the weekends though, so it might be better to go then.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAREnterprises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lths, Owner at Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Keep coming back! We'll be happy to serve you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
59801
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

This place has been one of my goto spots for the past couple of years. Yep, you have to go with an open mind as far as the rusticness of the area, with that being said but they are very comfortable and the owners have been nothing but kind to me and my family whenever we go. The food has always been excellent and well priced. If you do not like pizza, theirs will change your mind, the gyro pizza was on special that day and is to die for. My family and I visited with some friends and he had a steak that he said was out of this world, she had fish that was pan seared. All I can say is that the water is crystal clear that there must be something good in it, whatever it is, I want more.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lths, Owner at Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Our water is addicting and we've got more for you, so feel free to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

I've been going to Lost Trail Hot Springs for years. My family has enjoyed the spring water for decades. True, it is not a five star resort, in fact it is kinda rustic, but that is a large part of its charm. The water is enjoyable year round. They serve pizza now too which is great for adults and kids. I highly recommend checking it out when you have a chance.

Room Tip: The Jacuzzi cabins are a nice treat! Even the water in the cabin is from springs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lths, Owner at Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
We're glad we could be here for you and your family all these years. Come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

I've been a very regular patron of Lost Trails Hot Springs for over 2 decades now. Managers Renee, Stan, Mary, and Gary are some of the friendliest, most considerate, and hardest working folks you will ever meet. They go out of their way to make their customers feel comfortable and happy. I highly recomend a visit to this very fine establishment!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tony j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lths, Owner at Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Thanks for the wonderful recommendation. We'll look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sula
17.0 mi away
Rye Creek Lodge
Rye Creek Lodge
#2 of 8 in Darby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
21.8 mi away
No photo provided
Budget Motel Darby
#2 of 2 in Darby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Darby
The Darby
#2 of 3 in Darby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort

Property: Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort
Address: 283 Lost Trail Hot Springs Rd, Sula, MT 59871
Location: United States > Montana > Sula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This rustically elegant resort, with cabins, motel units, and a family reunion lodge, has accommodation options for everyone, including RVers and tenters. The hot spring pool measures 20' by 70', goes from 10" to 9' deep, and averages 95 degrees in summer and 93 in winter. The hot tub is 10 degrees warmer. Plan on NY style, fresh dough, thin crust pizzas or catch up with our Wood Fired Pizza Wagon during your visit for Neapolitan pizzas. Relax with a refreshment from our full bar and get lost in the wide range of tunes from our radio station, 102.1FM KLTR Lost Trail Radio. Conveniently located in the middle of nowhere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lost Trail Hot Springs Hotel Sula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing