We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Family's Favorite Lodging”
Review of Silver Gate Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Silver Gate
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silver Gate Cabins
Reviewed March 30, 2008

Last summer we (45-ish couple, 15 yr old daughter, 20 year old daughter, and the boyfriend that became the fiance on the trip!) enjoyed a twelve day vacation in Yellowstone, Grand Tetons, Cody, and then back to Yellowstone. We all agreed that, for us, the highlight of our trip was our stay at Silver Gate Cabins. We stayed in the Back Cabin. It was just right for us. A little rustic, very private, and just minutes from the best wild life viewing anywhere! We saw marmots, stellars jays, and even big horn sheep (with a spotting scope) from our front porch. Bears were spotted in the road before we even got to Yellowstone most days!
The staff was friendly and very helpful. They warned us when we made reservations to be SURE and bring in food from Cody because there is no grocery store anywhere even remotely close by. (There is one restaurant in town, but it was very expensive.) The owners also operate a very small store that has the bare essentials for a light meal. The owners also have spotting scopes available for rent. They gladly provided my husband and son-in-law-to-be a lesson.
Our cabin had two bedrooms. One bedroom had a queen bed. The other bedroom had bunk beds and another bed. There was a bathroom with a shower and a kitchen and living area combo. The kitchen had all the necesseties, but no luxuries. There was a wood stove but we didn't need to use it. We did enjoy the grill, however. There was no TV and no phone. Cell phone coverage was spotty at best. Just the way we wanted it!
The last time we went to Yellowstone we spent most of our time on the western side. We even stayed in West Yellowstone. If I'm ever fortunate enough to go back I will spend my entire stay at the Silver Gate Cabins. For me the Back Cabin was perfection!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank kmp983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 138 of 138 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2007

We put together a last minute trip to Yellowstone National Park this summer and were excited simply to find availability here. Given the rush, we went blindly, having found few reviews on the Internet. I'm pleased to report that it worked out well!

We had a small cabin in the Whispering Pines section (quieter - you might want to request this area). It had been recently redone with stainless steel stove, oven and fridge. Charcoal grill, toaster and coffeepot also provided, but no microwave. The cabin interior was not luxurious, but perfectly comfortable for a couple. The hosts were very friendly and helpful, both on the phone consulting about the trip and after we arrived.

Staying in this location has its pros and cons. Silver Gate is 1 mile outside the Northeast entrance to the park and therefore about 15 minutes away from the Lamar Valley. Since that quiet corner of the park is best for wildlife watching, it worked out well for us. [The owners rent out high-quality spotting scopes for $20/day and I highly recommend renting one and going out at 5-6am one morning.] The atmosphere in this area is much calmer than the RV- and tourbus-jammed lanes of the grand loop roads. On the other hand, it is a 40 minute drive just to the first major crossroads in the park (Tower-Roosevelt) and the Old Faithful area is about 3 hours away. It might make sense to spend a few nights down in the southern part of the park or between YNP and the Tetons to get to see that area before coming up to Silver Gate for another few days.

We came in from Bozeman via the Northwest entrance and left on US 212, the Beartooth Highway, passing through Red Lodge. This incredible drive is not to be missed!

[A note on food: A single company, Xanterra, has a monopoly on the concessions in the park and the food is TERRIBLE. A cabin arrangement where you can make your own breakfast, pack your lunch, and make many of your own dinners is a great situation. The last real grocery store is 3 hours away in Livingston. We picked up a styrofoam cooler and a bag of chipped ice to keep our perishables alive for the journey. The cabins' general store has enough food to keep you alive during your stay (frozen pizza, mac& cheese, etc.), but has very little fresh produce or meat. There is a diner in Silver Gate that serves breakfast lunch and dinner and several other options in Cooke City 3 miles away. We didn't try any of them, though, so I can't give a report.]

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank CambridgeLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AirJo1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fulvio1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silver Gate
3.0 mi away
Soda Butte Lodge
Soda Butte Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cooke City
172 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cooke City Alpine
Cooke City Alpine
#6 of 6 in Cooke City
149 reviews
21.9 mi away
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
#1 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Gate Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Gate Cabins

Address: 109 US Highway 212 W, Silver Gate, MT 59081-8009
Location: United States > Montana > Silver Gate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Silver Gate
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Silver Gate Cabins Hotel Silver Gate
Silver Gate Cabins Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing