We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to Yellowstone!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Grizzly Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Silver Gate
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grizzly Lodge
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Close to Yellowstone!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

With all of the campsites full and hotels in the area booked we found one last vacancy here. We were pleasantly surprised. Our room had a single bed, sitting area, and kitchenette. For the money we spent we definitely got a great deal. The staff was very pleasant and got us settled in even though it was later in the evening. This facility is relaxed and was a great fit for us for the night.

Bonus: They are only a few minutes from the park! In which was significant because we were rising before the sun to go spying for animals in the Lemar Valley. The location saved us time and allowed us to come back for a nap before check out time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PhotoJAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    42
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
46
48
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here one night in early July 2013. We were hoping to snag a campground or cancellation in the park, but we were out of luck so we headed to Silver Gate or Cooke City. Everything was booked for that night except one last room at the Grizzly Lodge.

The location is good, you can head up Beartooth Pass (in the summer) or west into the park, Lamar Valley, and beyond. You can walk to a couple small shops and restaurants. Nothing fancy in this area, but good burgers and beer.

The room was dated, the carpet was tired, the beds sloped a little. Nothing fancy or pretentious for sure. That said if you have been out camping in the weather for a few days, or are just plain beat tired, then you can appreciate a roof and a bed. I have stayed at many place like this in Montana and Idaho, and they are all basically the same, as long as it doesn't smell bad and the water tastes good and you have cold beer in your cooler it is a fine place to spend a night. Just don't expect city-slicker type accommodations.

There is a fire pit and Soda Butte Creek on the property, so the setting is nice. Also the staff are good, typical Montana...friendly and they let you dictate how much you want them involved in your story. Same with the owner's dog.

You probably won't find anything much nicer or different in the Cooke City/Silver Gate area, and most accommodations in the park are similar, so if they have room, give them a try, enjoy the fire pit and sound of the creek.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jpellan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime K, Owner at Grizzly Lodge, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your tripadvisor comments. I am proud to say we are getting all new beds this winter for summer 2014, new bedding, and are currently renovating 3 rooms. Call in advance to get one of our newer rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

The Grizzly Lodge is the way to go. Located only a mile away from the park, prices are excellent. The rooms are super basic but there is so much to do that we didn't lack for anything. Great hiking trails in every direction!!! Easy walks to 2 different waterfalls. Plus the property is surrounded by the Soda Butte river. After spending a few days in the park surrounded by people, it was so nice to escape to the Northeast entrance. Silver Gate is right outside park boundaries but you can hardly tell. Nature and wild life abound. We made friends with 2 different foxes and watched a buffalo grazing through our window! The owners are wonderful. They let us use their phone to call and check in at home. (It was so refreshing to be without cell service!!!) The camp fire was such a wonderful way to end an evening under the stars. Everything was so perfect, my friends and I are already planning our trip next summer!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We just got back from a 7 night stay at the Grizzly Lodge (right outside Yellowstone. Jaime was such a great host and very friendly. The room was great, the people were great, beautiful setting, cool lodge, Bon-fire every night! Can't wait to go back!!! Thanks Jaime and Jay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debbie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our experience at the Grizzly Lodge was perfect from the beginning. There's no cell service in the area and I asked the owner how far we'd have to drive to obtain service and she handed me the office phone so I could check on the kids, who were still in Bozeman. In addition to the outstanding staff, our room was perfectly clean and had been remodeled within the last year or so. The Soda Butte river flows through the property and the park provides a majestic backdrop for the perfect vacation. The owners offered provisions to make s'mores every night at the campfire and played croquet with the kids prior to the bonfire. Nightly there stories about the history of the property, and Silvergate and Cooke City. We are definitely going back before the summer ends!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gonzo720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This place made me want to live there. It's so close to the park and the owners are just wonderful. It's sn experience that just screams Montana and lets you soak in the natural beauty of this place. If you stayed here, you would definitely not regret it.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Dave1868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

This place is definitely 5 stars all the way. They have wonderful, attentive staff, a great location just outside the park, lovely neighbors who are always glad to meet new people, and they’re very affordable. I just returned from my second trip. I booked Grizzly Lodge on a whim last year, as I wanted to be close to the Northeast Entrance to Yellowstone. It was a great decision. I was only able to spend 2 nights, but I’m so glad I did. This year I spent five nights. Because of the location I was able to get into Lamar Valley very early and see amazing things. I highly recommend the Lodge. Not just for the location, but because the owners and their staff really help add something extra to a vacation. I know for sure that every time I come back to Yellowstone, that I’ll be spending part of my trip at Grizzly Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Adriana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silver Gate
3.1 mi away
Soda Butte Lodge
Soda Butte Lodge
#5 of 6 in Cooke City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cooke City Alpine
Cooke City Alpine
#6 of 6 in Cooke City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
21.8 mi away
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
#2 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grizzly Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grizzly Lodge

Property: Grizzly Lodge
Address: 102 US High 212 W, Silver Gate, MT 59081
Location: United States > Montana > Silver Gate
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Silver Gate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grizzly Lodge is open during the summer months, from June 1st through the first of October. Our close proximity to the park makes us your perfect choice. Located in Silver Gate, Montana, we are only 1/4 mile from Yellowstone's northeast entrance and 5 miles from Montana's highest peak. Plus, you're just steps away from restaurants and recreational goods and services to help you enjoy the area to its fullest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grizzly Hotel Silver Gate
Grizzly Lodge Silver Gate, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing