We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Shelby”
Review of Comfort Inn Shelby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn Shelby
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Shelby
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
“Best Hotel in Shelby”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

the rooms are clean and smell fresh.The front desk is polite ,respectful and helpful..especially if you meet KC,Pat ,Darla,Monica and cheerful Heather will always make you smile.Josh the maintenance supervisor and shuttle driver is also and awesome and respectful individual.Also should mention the sweet ladies that cook the meals alsways helpful and serving and the beautiful housekeepers all in all its truly a comfortable stay for the weary traveler.A+++

Room Tip: The king suites are very large and comfortable..they are in the New wing they recently added.I prefe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NileNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, General Manager at Comfort Inn Shelby, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Nilenomad: Thanks for the compliments on our staff. We encourage this interaction with our guests. It puts the guest more at ease and they feel more comfortable during their stay. Our staff members see these compliments when they come and it makes them feel great about the work they do and who they work for. They also see how important of a role their position is in the overall operation of our facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    88
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
55
124
11
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Kelowna, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed again this year at this hotel on our way back to Canada (it's only 1/2 hour from border so you're at border nice and early wiht no line ups). We were much more pleased this year as we had a room in the new wing. i believe they also renovated some of the old section. So that took care of all our previous concerns. We had a king suite with a kitchenette,which was great. It had not only a small stove top, m/w and mini fridge, but also pots & pans, plates, glasses, utensils, etc. It was perfect after a long day on the road to be able to simply call Pizza Hut next door, have something delivered and eat in.

Room was extremely clean; bed was super comfortale and bathroom in new wing way better set up than in room 100. Also, breakfast in the morning is great. We'll be back next year again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fernmonca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, General Manager at Comfort Inn Shelby, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
fernmonica: Thanks for coming back to the Comfort Inn again so soon. It nice that all the remodeling has been completed! Glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for keeping us in mind again when you come through next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed at the hotel on the night of Apr 11, and although I found it to be somewhat overpriced for a hotel in the middle of nowhere, it was pleasant, the staff was friendly, Wi-Fi was fast and free. The breakfast was rather impressive for a continental style - I had a cheese omelet, bacon, toast with jam, boiled egg, yogurt, apple juice. Other items available were fresh giant waffles (plain and blueberry), cereals, milk, coffee, orange juice, cinnamon buns, etc. Overall, a good hotel and I will keep it in mind next time I travel through Montana.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kotbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, General Manager at Comfort Inn Shelby, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Kotbar: Thank you for taking the time to review our facility. Glad you enjoyed the breakfast. Next time your here, feel free to look into one of our packages that we offer to see if it may be a better value for you. Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were on a 22 day road trip/vacation, and this Comfort Inn was one the best motel/hotel we stayed at. The cost was about average, but the room and the staff were excellent. The continental breakfast was better than average. What really was impressive was the extra electrical plugs. There was a 4 way electric plug and USB port attached to the table for charging phones and devices.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, General Manager at Comfort Inn Shelby, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Owen S, We put the "Cubies" in last fall for the convenience of our guests to enjoy their personnal devices. They have been well recieved by our guests. We also appreciate your comments about the staff & breakfast area. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights while on business. The rooms were Clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good and had a lot of options. Tv reception in my room was spotty but it is northern Montana. Service was good as well.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, General Manager at Comfort Inn Shelby, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
John L, thanks for your review on your last stay. I appreciate the feedback on the TV reception. There should not be any problems with the reception. On your next stay if you are still experiencing TV issues, please call down to the front desk. It could be as easy as a loose cord on the back. We would be more than glad to help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We travelled here to golf.
Fantastic property clean, affordable, great value for the dollar. The rooms were amazing plenty of space luxurious furnishings. From a room safe to a pull out desk and office chair, lots of lights, a couch (hide a bed) and chair, king size bed. Lots of wall sockets available for chargers and the like. The room climate control functioned flawlessly. The days of the old noisy aircontraption hammering you asleep are finally gone. Complementary snacks, soups, popcorn picked up at the front desk to enjoy from the rooms microwave are an added bonus. We were not afraid to walk the hall in our sock feet carpets were meticulously well kept. The doors were heavy but kept ambient noise out of the room. I never heard a sound from the walls or the halls. Although a non smoking facility designers were courteous to place a small heated smoking room just outside the doors from the casino. The pool was well maintained and although smaller was at the perfect temperature. I found it odd however that patrons coming from the pool area walk right through the complimentary breakfast area.
The complimentary breakfast was “continental” however eggs, sausage, cereals, coffee, fruit juice, muffins and more meant you were able to get lots to eat. I’ve had continental breakfast in other hotels where a coffee and bun was considered suffice. From the food counter to the patron tables the area was maintained spotless. (Kudos to the staff)The staff were friendly, courteous and well versed I was very satisfied with my whole experience and I will certainly return here whenever I stay in Shelby.
Off site and worth mention 1 block was Ringside Ribs incredible huge portions and fantastic food. I had the three piece fried chicken and with the three sides baked beans, mashed potatoes and salad I ordered from an extensive list available could have provided food for a small village or myself for 3 days. Fantastic! Service was awesome.

Room Tip: There are 9 different types, ask questions upgrade with-in budget and you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanzelandgretal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, General Manager at Comfort Inn Shelby, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hanelandgretal, I hope you had a great time golfing. We feel Marias Valley Golf Course is one of Montana's finest. Thanks for your great review and when you come back for your next golfing trip. Ask the golf course to set you up with their special rate only available through the Comfort Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and I own our own business which requires us to often travel and live on the road in Montana. The staff at Shelby Comfort Inns and Suites truly makes us feel at home. They go above and beyond more then any other motel we have stayed. Highly recommed!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwesland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, General Manager at Comfort Inn Shelby, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
kwesland: Going above and beyond is part of our core values. We try to in still them in each and every one of our staff members. The only way that can happen is if it starts from the top. Thank you for your kind review and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelby
0.7 mi away
Best Western Shelby Inn & Suites
23.1 mi away
Super 8 Cut Bank
Super 8 Cut Bank
#1 of 3 in Cut Bank
169 reviews
21.8 mi away
Glacier Gateway Plaza
Glacier Gateway Plaza
#2 of 3 in Cut Bank
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Glacier Gateway Inn
Glacier Gateway Inn
#3 of 3 in Cut Bank
38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Motel 6
Motel 6
#5 of 7 in Shelby
61 reviews
23.3 mi away
Super 8 Conrad
Super 8 Conrad
#1 of 2 in Conrad
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Shelby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Shelby

Property: Comfort Inn Shelby
Address: 455 McKinley Ave, Shelby, MT 59474-1845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Shelby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Shelby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Shelby 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off Interstate 15, the Comfort Inn® hotel, a 100% non-smoking facility, is within walking distance of the Marias Museum of History and Art. This Shelby, MT hotel is minutes from the Toole County Courthouse, the Marias Valley Golf and Country Club, the Toole County Hospital and beautiful Champions Park. Shelby is the perfect destination for outdoor and sports enthusiasts. The part of Montana around Shelby has a greater diversity of fish and wildlife than any other state. It is a year-long habitat for grizzly bears, black bears, elk, mule, deer, white-tailed deer, mountain goats, bighorn sheep and antelope. Local lakes and streams and the Lewis and Clark National Forest provide ample fishing and recreation. Hotel amenities and features include: •Free high-speed Internet access•Free local calls•Free coffee•Pet-friendly hotel (nightly fee applies). Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, sausage or bacon, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! After a long day on the road, be sure to take advantage of the indoor heated pool, hot tub, sauna and exercise equipment in the pool area. Business travelers staying at this Shelby, MT hotel will greatly appreciate the 1500 square foot convention center, business center and access to copy and fax services. Relax and enjoy a movie on Starz and Encore, available in all guest rooms. In addition to standard amenities, some rooms come equipped with refrigerators and microwaves. Be sure to ask about the specialty suites with whirlpool bathtubs. A few cold deli items are available in the hotel's deli case located in the lobby. Try your luck at the hotel's liberal casino and lounge. Staying awhile? The hotel's information kiosk lets guests know what's available in the area. Laundry facilities are located on the property for added guest convenience. Come stay with us and experience the most comfortable lodging in Shelby, MT. Our goal is to make your visit memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Shelby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Shelby Hotel Shelby
Shelby Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing