We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dixie Inn Lounge & Dining Room

Dixie Inn Lounge & Dining Room
Ranked #8 of 15 Restaurants in Shelby
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

I loved the service and staff, however the food was overpriced. For myself alone and the chicken dinner it was 30 bucks. I didn't get any extras. I probably wouldn't go back there for the food, but the service was great.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Iris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitefish, Montana
Level Contributor
102 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Went downhill?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

I was told this was, at least in the past, the best place to eat in Shelby. Maybe I picked a bad night but I was not impressed. Ordered shrimp that had obviously sat in a warming bin for a while. The salad bar wasn't very good at all. Very disappointing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank FXDL07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Montana
Level Contributor
680 reviews
475 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Old time feeling dining room & server too”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is an old place that either locals or people from the RV go to.
The food not bad, actually. Great salad bar, homemade soups, the potato soup is excellent!
We oppted for the nightly steak special. Not such a good choice. The server was spot on letting the cook know that the meat was not the usual she served. She asked if we wanted to re order, it wasn't necessary. The salad bar and soup were very well prepared, Wine served from a box, not bad.
The server has obviously been there for decades. She was floating around the dining room like she was at home. Quite a kickto watch in this dim dining room. I would definatly order the fried chicken which seemd to be popular and for sure the soup and salad.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jeffreyshapiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipman, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Close to Motels”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

This restaurant is close to the motels and the highway. The food here is average. The waitress we had was very friendly and jolly. She made you feel welcome as if you were from Shelby.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank cuz1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

always enjoy my time here. The family that runs this place make you feel right at home. Had a great time with some of the locals and found out more of the history of this town

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jimbo591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dixie Inn Lounge & Dining Room also viewed

 

Been to Dixie Inn Lounge & Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing