We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Questionable exterior, but excellent meal”

Frontier Bar and Supper Club
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Shelby
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Questionable exterior, but excellent meal”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We decided to stop here for supper after reading other reviews. The outside of the building is a bit rough, but inside is fine and the meal itself was very good. We both had prime rib and it was excellent. 16oz was $26.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ratherbfishing1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    20
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Food was awesome”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

It's sort of funny that such great food is stuck in a dive Like this. The steak and salmon were very good. Fries are a victim of the main dish being so good though. I still can't get past how this was in a dive of a bar on the very out skirts of town. Prices are high.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best on the Hi-Line”
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

The Frontier is amazing! They have the best prime rib I have ever eaten.... Hands down! Other favorites you must try are the chicken fettuccini Alfredo, steak Diane, and fried mushrooms. In the four years I lived in the area I bet I was there 100 times because of the friendly service and amazing food. Don't waste your time in Shelby, just head to Dunkirk!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KyleParkerMetzger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locust Grove, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“beast Kept Secret in Shelby Montanta”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

After driving over 300 miles today my wife and I were tired and wanting a good steak. The clerk at the motel said there was not really a good steak house in Shelby so I looked online and found a place 10 miles outside town that was suppose to be good. Wow was great food. The outside looks like a realy dump just a plain white block building across from the first grain elevator east of Shelby, MT. The inside decor is rustic. I was a little leary of going in but we found many locals with their kids. We split the Prime Rib dinner. It was 18 oz. of the best Prime Rib I have had in a while and it was only $24.95 (including tax). Great food, good service.Reservations is a good idea on the weekend.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Randyclements
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conrad, Montana, United States
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Great food but the waitress there is something else. Grumpiest thing I have ever come across! And, we were seated at a table that was so skewed, that my beer traveled across the table by itself. If we go again, different table and different waitress!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Traci H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frontier Bar and Supper Club also viewed

 

Been to Frontier Bar and Supper Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing