We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and convenient!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St Mary Lodge & Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Saint Mary
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This or The Lodge in East Glacier, and the Lodge at Many Glacier are about your only options. The St Mary Lodge is well located at the Going to the Sun Rd and Hwy 89 (east side of Glacier National Park Entrance and 15-20 minutes south of Many Glacier . Clean and nice staff very touristy area and very pricey. Gasoline was about 10-15 cents higher and the price of hotel is expensive. (local untold taxes drive the prices of the room way up! The food at the Snowgoose Grill is ok but not worth the price. Two Sisters Cafe is worth the 10 minute Dr north on 89.

Room Tip: Limited Viewing on either side, its small highway or small stream and pines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glacier Park In... M, Manager at St Mary Lodge & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

You may want to try Rising Sun Motor Inn as well. Thank you for taking the time to comment. Your business is important to us and we do appreciate your input. We want you to know that we do read all responses and your thoughts and concerns are very important to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (952)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

801 - 807 of 952 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed in the cabins over the road. They were dirty and the noise from other people's airconditioning was constant and very loud. We decided not to try the food and 'self-catered' instead. Unless this place has a revamp it should not be charging what it does. The only good thing was its receptionists who were very pleasant.

Room Tip: Do not book the cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pseudonymity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed in the western annex. Small room - expensive for facilities. Staff was very, very good-efficient, courteous, professional. Good meals in the main lodge. Convenient to touring in Glacier National Park. Expensive gas nearby but cheaper than in Canada.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glacier Park In... M, Manager at St Mary Lodge & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thank you for the pleasant review. Thank you for your positive comments about the staff at St Mary Lodge. We do hope that you will find an opportunity to stay with us again sometime in the future and we would look forward to having you stay at any one of our locations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We checked in and the counter help was all that helpful in directing us to our room. We found our basement room and to say I was less ten impressed would be an understatement, but the room overall was cozy and it grew on me although the bathroom was so small it reminded me of a cruise ship. It was overall clean and a good option being so close to the park entrance.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank linz710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glacier Park In... M, Manager at St Mary Lodge & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

We appreciate the time you took to send in your comments and do hope that you can return to stay with us again at one of the Glacier Park, Inc. properties.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We very mu;ch liked our stay in St. Mary and our room would have been a good deal if the shower worked. We were there for a week and despite daily complaints, we could never get anyone to fix it. The location is probably the best spot to explore Glacier National Park with easy access to Going to the Sun road spots and hike as well as those of Many Glacier. It was also odd that they did not have an ice machine. You had to ask for ice from the responsive staff. The restaurant was very good as was the lounge. WiFi only in the lounge and you needed to get coupons for each device and renew them when they ran out (24, 48 or 72 hour varieties).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DocLeJeune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We had the PERFECT stay at St. Mary's Lodge. We had a room in the new addition to the hotel, on the 3rd floor facing the river. It was SO peaceful. The food in the restaurant was FANTASTIC.It was the best french toast and bacon I've ever had, and the huckleberry syrup was delicious! Would totally recommend the place and the restaurant!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new addition (for A/C), facing the river, on a higher up floor. Great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We weren't expecting luxury by any means, but the room we had on the second floor was very small and cold (the window outside of our room was open even though it was freezing outside). The doors are also ridiculously thin - definitely bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper. The bathroom is so tiny, no way 2 people could be in there at once and the shower was so small too, with just a thin plastic curtain. No TV or anything, which we weren't really expecting, but it was a bummer, b/c there was a TV downstairs, but every seat was taken, people were standing around, etc. I also found it weird that the sweets area was closed pretty early so you couldn't get a treat after dinner. No wifi either. Overall, we found the rooms to be a bit more updated (albiet less character) and the shower/bathroom to be much better at Many Glacier. Everything seemed like a rip-off for this quality of room, but to stay so close to the park and in peak season, that's how it goes.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurengucsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glacier Park In... M, Manager at St Mary Lodge & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

We are sorry about the "sweets area" being closed so early. Our company, Glacier Park, Inc., purchased St. Mary Lodge last year. GPI has a sincere desire to offer a quality experience to all of our guests. Comments like yours assist us in understanding our strengths and weaknesses. We do hope that you will find an opportunity to stay with us again sometime in the future and we would look forward to having you stay at any one of our locations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Mary
23.1 mi away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#5 of 6 in East Glacier Park
254 reviews
22.9 mi away
Glacier Park Lodge
Glacier Park Lodge
#4 of 10 in East Glacier Park
1,151 reviews
11.0 mi away
Swiftcurrent Motor Inn and Cabins
Swiftcurrent Motor Inn and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Glacier National Park
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins
Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins
#3 of 10 in East Glacier Park
285 reviews
7.1 mi away
Montana's Duck Lake Lodge
22.3 mi away
Lake McDonald Lodge
Lake McDonald Lodge
#1 of 6 in Glacier National Park
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Mary Lodge & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Mary Lodge & Resort

Address: 3 Going-To-The-Sun Rd., Saint Mary, MT 59417 (Formerly The Resort at Glacier/St. Mary Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Saint Mary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Saint Mary
Price Range: $152 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St Mary Lodge & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just outside Glacier National Park's east entrance on the historic Going-to-the-Sun Road, St Mary Lodge & Resort provides a combination of natural beauty with full-service modern comforts. With 115 guest rooms spread among seven facilities, every experience is unique. From rustic and relaxing to upscale accommodations, the Lodge has something to fit every taste level and budget. Highlights of St. Mary Lodge, Cabins and Motel include:• Located at the East Entrance of Glacier National Park • 115 Rooms Different Rooms to Choose from: Main Lodge, Great Bear Lodge, Cabins, and the West or East Motel • Snowgoose Grill • Curly Bear Cafe • Glacier Perk Espresso & Candy Shop • Mountain Lounge (Lobby Bar & Lounge) • St. Mary Grocery Store & Gas Station • St. Mary Gift Shop • Loose Moose T-Shirt Shop • Trail Creek Outfitters • Wireless Internet Available in the Lobby • All Rooms are Non-Smoking • Pets Welcome at the East Motel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your St Mary Lodge & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Mary Lodge And Resort
St Mary Hotel Saint Mary
St Mary Resort
St Mary Lodge & Resort Saint Mary, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing