We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WAY overpriced” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Mary Lodge & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
St Mary Lodge & Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Saint Mary
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“WAY overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed two nights at the Great Bear lodge and were very disappointed. As others have pointed out, the tackiness starts when you see that to get to the front desk, you have to walk through a gift shop reeking of cheaply scented candles. Communication is difficult in that more than half the staff -- in the shop, at the front desk, in the restaurant -- speaks very limited English, though their Mandarin sounds solid. You really can't find any American college students for these jobs? Our room was dark -- how about springing for some higher-wattage bulbs? -- and smelled slightly moldy. We ate one dinner and one breakfast in the restaurant before giving up and going elsewhere; the food was unimaginative, poorly prepared, and VERY slow in arriving, though the restaurant was far from full. All in all: a rip-off.

Room Tip: We did like the fact that our ground-floor room was close to the creek, and leaving the door open at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank effieclyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPIManagement, Manager at St Mary Lodge & Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Please let me take a minute and thank you for taking your time to leave us the feedback. I’m sorry that our employees weren’t able to communicate more effectively. We hire over 1,200 to staff our hotels and lodges for the summer season and many of them come from all over the country and world. As you can imagine, it is quite an opportunity for them. This isn’t the only comment about this issue, so I thought I’d take a minute and fill you in on why that is. As far as everything else, Glacier Park, Inc. purchased the St Mary’s Lodge and Resort mid-season in 2011 and inherited the vast international staff. Although we feel a multicultural experience is a good thing, we will strive to make some much-needed changes to this location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    151
    137
    91
    66
See reviews for
159
291
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, GA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

As far as the room goes, it was clean with plenty of space, beds were comfortable and bathroom fine. The surprise was the view out our sliding glass door of the river and mountains beyond. Very nice. We were in the Great Bear Lodge and also had the one room that has a traditional brass key, not the plastic key card.

The front desk staff were pleasant enough, but seemed young and inexperienced. Quite honestly we are 'over' the Ritz Carlton type hotel where every question asked is met with 'my pleasure' response.

The very best thing about St. Mary's Lodge is it's proximity to The Park Cafe' right around the corner. And there is a grocery store to the side along with a large shop with all kinds of things needed for hiking and the outdoors. We didn't eat in the restaurant since it seemed overpriced and a bit formal for our needs. There was a HVAC glitch during our stay, but only in the gift shop which you have to walk through to get to the hotel lobby. Extremely hot for 2 or 3 days.

All that to say we would recommend the hotel to anyone going to the gorgeous Glacier National. The beauty we found was in the park....right where we wanted it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donnatye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPIManagement, Manager at St Mary Lodge & Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to leave us the feedback. I wanted to take a minute and address your comment about the staff being young and inexperienced. Although, our management is well trained and courteous, Glacier Park, Inc. hires around 1,200 employees from all over the country and world to staff our Hotels and lodges each summer season. It is quite an experience for them as a summertime job. It’s something that began back in the 20’s when the Great Northern Railroad owned and operated the lodges in the Park and has evolved to include workers from all over the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

I chose St Mary Lodge & Resort on the recommendation of Sunset Magazine. I was hoping for a more exclusive experience than a log-lodge that just feels like a regular motel. The registration office is in another building. I did enjoy the balcony view of the swiftly running river and the majestic mountains. And somehow I thought it was on St Mary Lake; it's not. It's a nice place to stay, however, it is pricey--$298 a night. It was decorated in a cabin theme and it didn't feel like a cabin or a lodge. We canceled one night and stayed one night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank declectic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPIManagement, Manager at St Mary Lodge & Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
I’m sorry to hear that you were not impressed with you stay at the St Mary’s Lodge and Resort. I trust that the staff and service were to your satisfaction? Because of the proximity to and similarity in names, I think that some of our guests are expecting to stay in one of Glacier Parks Historic Lodges. Glacier Park. Inc., also owns and/or operates all of those as well. If you would like to stay in one of those on your next trip into the Park, you can find all of that information on our website. Thank you for taking the time to leave us the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here after a long day of hiking. Granted we only booked this room about a week in advance in their busy season, and I think we got their very last room. We stayed across the street from the actual lodge in what looks like a renovated motel. It was clean enough. The beds were hard as a rock, not good for tired hikers! The bathroom was small and unremarkable. The shower was small and water got all over the bathroom floor. Be careful too, the hot water really should say scalding. Overall, I was unimpressed. Also, there is no wifi here.my boyfriend works from his laptop and had to put his Verizon card on the bumper of our car in the parking lot in able to work.

Room Tip: Reserve Early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindseyRn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPIManagement, Manager at St Mary Lodge & Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
– Please know that Glacier Park, Inc. purchased the St Mary’s Lodge and Resort mid-season in 2011 and we are making many changes in order to provide a much higher quality of service than what you, unfortunately, experienced. We agree with your room tip. It is a good idea to book several months in advance, as all of our properties fill up early, just like all the National Parks’ Lodges and hotels. As far as wifi availability, please remember that St Mary’s is in the middle of nowhere and any internet access is very, very limited. The internet service that we provide is via satellite. Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

i was very excited to think of staying here. Room was very expensive (over $300.) and thought it was going to be a real treat. The room was very nice but there was NO charm at this lodge. To get to the front desk you have to go through their gift shop. Very taclky! The restaurant feels like you are at a diner. Nothing special with the food but really the real disappointment was the feeling that it was a motel and not one of the really great lodges of glacier.

Room Tip: Go to Many Glacier instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roger510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPIManagement, Manager at St Mary Lodge & Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
– Thank you very much for your candid comments. We sincerely apologize that we did not live up to your expectations. Since GPI took ownership in the middle of last summer, we have taken the time this off-season to address the issues you mentioned. We hope to exceed your expectation on a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed for two nights in the cabins (not our first choice, but the only thing that was available in the vicinity.) First off, the cabins are a good distance from the Main Lodge area (restaurant, shops, gas, etc.). Second, these are old cabins, reconverted. No closet space. Zero, none. No clothing drawers either. Bathroom sink was in the minuscule kitchen/dining area (you're basically brushing your teeth with your rear-end facing the dining table!). Tiny bedroom, tiny living room, tiny cabin. Entrance to newer Lodge lobby/ reception area is through a massive Gift Shop. Tacky - but my 8 yr. old niece loved it - $$$ ! (Good job management.) Once again, these National Park locales have usually mediocre to awful restaurant food and service. This was no exception. But then again, I don't come to a place like this to eat. Basic sustenance is fine - but could the prices more accurately reflect what 2 eggs, toast and bacon actually costs? Also - St. Marys Lodge is NOT in the Park. It faces the Park. On one side you're looking at Alpine splendor - the other a dreary, rural hamlet. I would recommend staying at any of the Lodges INSIDE the park instead. Also, when i got the final bill they'd overcharged me an extra night. Still trying to get that corrected with the lethargic management team.

Room Tip: Try to stay INSIDE the Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SanAntonioBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPIManagement, Sales Manager at St Mary Lodge & Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Dear SanAntonioBill,


Thank you for choosing the St. Mary Lodge & Resort for your recent visit to Glacier National Park. We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad.

As you may be aware our company, Glacier Park Inc, recently completed the purchase of St. Mary Lodge. We are working on improving many of the items that you found unsatisfactory. We hope that you give us another chance in the future.

If you are still having trouble with getting your bill corrected, please email me your contact information and the best time to reach you & I will be in touch. My email address is: tcavanagh@glacierparkinc.com.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

I have stayed at St Mary Lodge and Resort multiple time and was blessed to be able to work there over a decade ago when it was under the ownership of the original founding family. Summer of my life. I have been sad to read the recent reviews and see that over the past couple of years this beloved spot fell under poor management.

I was thrilled to read in the area paper that Glacier Park Inc purchased this property. They know the Park, the history, and have very high values.

If you are traveling with your family take the time to stop here, browse the shops, get some rest and a coffee in their espresso shop and take in the views. Located just outside the St. Mary entrance to the Park, it is a great place to stay.

This was a family run business for decades before it was sold - lots of history here. Make the trip - very well worth it!

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JumpinOntheBed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPIManagement, Manager at St Mary Lodge & Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
As you can see, we have some very mixed reviews, and I just wanted to take a minute and thank you for summing it all up for us. We are excited to add this location to our list of hotels! We have already made many renovations to the facility. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Mary
23.3 mi away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#2 of 6 in East Glacier Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
7.0 mi away
Montana's Duck Lake Lodge
23.0 mi away
Glacier Park Lodge
Glacier Park Lodge
#3 of 10 in East Glacier Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins
Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins
#4 of 10 in East Glacier Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
11.0 mi away
Swiftcurrent Motor Inn and Cabins
Swiftcurrent Motor Inn and Cabin...
#1 of 7 in Glacier National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
22.6 mi away
Sears Motel and Campground
Sears Motel and Campground
#5 of 6 in East Glacier Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Mary Lodge & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Mary Lodge & Resort

Property: St Mary Lodge & Resort
Address: 3147 US 89, Saint Mary, MT 59417 (Formerly The Resort at Glacier/St. Mary Lodge)
Location: United States > Montana > Saint Mary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Saint Mary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St Mary Lodge & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just outside Glacier National Park's east entrance on the historic Going-to-the-Sun Road, St Mary Lodge & Resort provides a combination of natural beauty with full-service modern comforts. With 115 guest rooms spread among seven facilities, every experience is unique. From rustic and relaxing to upscale accommodations, the Lodge has something to fit every taste level and budget. Highlights of St. Mary Lodge, Cabins and Motel include:• Located at the East Entrance of Glacier National Park • 115 Rooms Different Rooms to Choose from: Main Lodge, Great Bear Lodge, Cabins, and the West or East Motel • Snowgoose Grill • Curly Bear Cafe • Glacier Perk Espresso & Candy Shop • Mountain Lounge (Lobby Bar & Lounge) • St. Mary Grocery Store & Gas Station • St. Mary Gift Shop • Loose Moose T-Shirt Shop • Trail Creek Outfitters • Wireless Internet Available in the Lobby • All Rooms are Non-Smoking • Pets Welcome at the East Motel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your St Mary Lodge & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Mary Lodge And Resort
St Mary Hotel Saint Mary
St Mary Resort
St Mary Lodge & Resort Saint Mary, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing