We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“$$$$” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Snowgoose Grill

Snowgoose Grill
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Saint Mary
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Vancouver
Level Contributor
468 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“$$$$”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Like most of the other recent reviews, I found this place very expensive for what you get . $15 for a chicken salad with just a few portions of chicken ! The huckleberry soda was refreshing . Service was friendly and attentive .
We must have missed out on the view , we were right beside the window , but all we saw was the service road for the resort and a few trees .
Using the restrooms before we left we noticed some of the motel rooms were down in the basement . It looked like a dungeon . I wouldn't want to have booked a room here and then been placed down there . I have no idea what the inside of the rooms looked like , the hallway looked rundown .
As we drove by the gas station outside , we noticed a little cafe that would have been much more to our liking .

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Skwiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    94
    50
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Late September it was our only choice for grabbing dinner in St Mary around 8:30pm in the evening. Food was ok but it was expensive for us. We paid 82$ for 3 people for soup and a main course. While the food was ok it certainly was not incredible. But the high price is probably explained by the remote location.

They allowed us to use their Wi-Fi network even thought we were only there for dinner and we booked a room in a totally different place.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank hexalite2k5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Overpriced mediocre food and decent service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

The food was overpriced for the small portions, the service wasn't too bad, especially for a busy noon-time meal. The view is pretty, and since it was the end of the season it was the only place open around St. Mary for lunch. If you come during the tourist season there are way better places to sample the local flavor in the area, but for a comfortable dining experience the Snowgoose Grill will do.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank randydale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, NC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Came back for a second meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our first meal here was a late lunch on our way to Many Glacier (and to get directions as we weren't quite sure which way to Many Glacier.) The food was terrific--loved the broccoli cheddar soup and turkey wrap. Service was great and it was much fun talking to the young folks who were working there for the season. We came back several days later after our drive on Going to the Sun and sat out on the lounge patio. The views are wonderful as well as the food & service again. Definitely a must stop for us!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank cmb12150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lounge dining area was decent, but nothing to go out of your way for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

After a day of driving across Going to the Sun Road and hiking, we needed some food. The Snowgoose Grille had closed for lunch and not opened for dinner yet, so we ate in the lounge. The food was pretty decent - the spinach and berry salad was very nice and had lots of fresh berries. The black bean burger appeared to be homemade and was enjoyed. I had the spinach and hummus wrap and thought it was okay. There was nothing wrong with it, it just was pretty ordinary - and once it arrived, I realized I really wanted something warm and more filling. The prices were high, though.
Our waiter was really nice, and even more so after he found out that we were a group of fellow Michiganders. The only complaint is that service was a bit slow when it came to bringing the check and picking up the credit card.
The biggest drawback was that there were a lot of flies inside so we were constantly swatting them away from us and our food. The ladies at the table next to us complained to their waiter about it, and he kind of just shrugged it off.
One note about the hotel itself: we didn't stay here, but from what we saw, we were NOT impressed. We used the restrooms in the basement and noticed on our way there that the carpet was worn and dirty and the restrooms were in bad shape. Everything felt like it needed a good cleaning and some maintenance. And we felt really sorry for the poor people who were stuck with rooms in the basement. I don't think I've ever seen basement rooms in a hotel before. Judging from the reviews on the lodge itself, it doesn't sound like the people who stayed there were too impressed either.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HeroicPotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snowgoose Grill also viewed

 

Been to Snowgoose Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing