We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When there are gunshots in the campground, you give the lowest rating.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Mary
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Johnson's of St. Mary
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Saint Mary
Reviewed August 30, 2009

The campground was good and the people there were friendly. However, when someone in the campground fires off a gun (around 10 pm), the campground automatically gets the lowest rating regardless of anything else! Also, horses were tied in the campground (apparently for a trail ride) near us. The cowboys in the morning (already drinking by the way) shoveled the manure in the bushes in a section of the campground - yes I did see it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmckee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 147 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2009

Stayed in a "cabin". While the lodging was clean, the setting left much to be desired... It basically sat in a space where one would normally put a garage or an industrial building... At $160/night (incl tax) I guess I was expecting a bit more. No frills, no breakfast, no atmosphere, not even grass, but plenty of bugs... Bizzare house rules. The park is a delight, but this place should be avoided.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Willmatt207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2008

We stayed for 3 nights in one of the motel rooms. Many of the other reviewers (especially those who wrote favorable reviews) stayed in the cabins -- there are only 3 cabins and they are more expensive. The motel rooms are not as nice. The furnishings, carpet, bathroom fixtures, etc. are old, a little rusted, a little frayed. The tv in the room was unwatchable (they had discontinued the cable service recently we were told). An example of the level of accommodation -- the closet was a curtain on a string in front of a closet-sized alcove. The room also wasn't very clean. On the other hand,,,the rate was very cheap (about $80 a night for a double if I recall) and the view is spectacular. Also, there are not many accommodation choices in St. Mary, which is a very convenient location on the east side of the park since Going-to-the-Sun road starts right there. So - by all means stay here if you aren't too fussy about your accommodations. But, if you like spotless, well-maintained rooms, you will not be happy here.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Maric5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2008

We were very disappointed in our stay at Glaicer Cottage, August 27th & 28th. It was NOT a fully furnished cotttage with "the most amazing view you'll ever encounter" according to the owner's web site.

It was a mobile home with no charm and tacky country decor. The kitchen cabinets had no doors, stove did not work, tiny refigerator, no utensils or dishes--not even a coffee pot or cup to boil water! The restaurant was not open when we left in the mornings so we had to go elsewhere for breakfast! The kitchen chairs were plastic and the rocking chair needed repair. Also, the mattresses were uncomfortable, and you couldn't even use the front door!

Our view to the front of the so called "cottage" was a storage shed and to the back a propane tank! We chose Glacier Cottage based on the information on Johnson's web site and thought it was very misleading. I sent Mrs. Johnson a USPS letter almost two months ago and requested a response but received none!

The accommodations followed by a lack of response were much less than we expected for over $300! Other accommodations on our 2-week trip in Idaho, Montana, and Wyoming met or exceeded our expectations!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janhock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2008

We traveled far and were disappointed when we had to stay over a night in West Glacier...the hotels in West Glacier were pricy and the hospitality was down right disappointing. We hoped that our further journey through Glacier to the East side would prove to have better accomodations. There were choices at East Glacier. But, we chose the quaint and neat accomodations of Johnsons of St. Mary. It was NOT for your everyday tourist...why? Because the place was full of wonderful, caring and happy workers. We had intended on staying two nights only but with all the information about the park and mountain lore that was provided to us from the owners, who by the way, visited with every guest that responded to great northern Montana hospitality, we ended up staying 3 nights. In that time, we had the opportunity of staying in the room above the cafe and one of the cabins, Singleshot. All of the rooms we stayed in had a personal touch that made you feel right at home. We wouldn't stay anywhere else around Glacier after experiencing the hospitality and knowledge of the workers at Johnsons. They made our visit around Glacier very interesting and we would recommend the place to anyone we know.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank outdoorpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2008

Location excellent - rest rooms rustic - half of showers not working with no attempt at repair - tokens required for use - water
pressure poor - sites not level - livestock running freely thru sites - laundry antiquated - internet access restricted due to
limited office hours - campground manager unfriendly.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank travelers2Portland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2008

What a great find! I can't tell you how happy we were to find a place that wasn't your typical chain-type lodging. Curly Bear Cabin was perfect! Handmade furniture, and charming quilts delighted my wife. I loved sitting on the deck reading one of the books that are provided for guests. We ended up staying an extra day because we loved it so much. It was real Montana hospitality. If you want a big chain hotel, stay in the city!

Stayed: August 2008
Thank RockyMTs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Mary
23.4 mi away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#5 of 6 in East Glacier Park
254 reviews
0.6 mi away
St Mary Lodge & Resort
St Mary Lodge & Resort
#1 of 3 in Saint Mary
952 reviews
6.4 mi away
Many Glacier Campground
Many Glacier Campground
#3 of 6 in Glacier National Park
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins
Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins
#3 of 10 in East Glacier Park
285 reviews
11.2 mi away
Swiftcurrent Motor Inn and Cabins
Swiftcurrent Motor Inn and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Glacier National Park
413 reviews
6.6 mi away
Montana's Duck Lake Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Johnson's of St. Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnson's of St. Mary

Address: Hc 72, Saint Mary, MT 59417-0010
Location: United States > Montana > Saint Mary
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Saint Mary
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Johnson`s Of St. Mary Hotel Saint Mary
Johnsons Of St Mary Saint
Johnson's Of St. Mary Saint Mary, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing