We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Mary
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Johnson's of St. Mary
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Saint Mary
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Great Views”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

We've stayed at this Campground many times in our RV, and always had a good experience until this stay.

The RV sites on the hill have excellent views from the front row. The sites are very close together and are not very level. Each site has a picnic table, but they are extremely small and not very sturdy. The front row sites on the hill have excellent views of the mountains and lake, and other campers are usually quiet - so it is generally a good experience. The RV sites do not have campfires rings.

This year, we booked our site late, and the only sites left only had water and electricity. These sites are ridiculously close together and are located by the office. We had to stagger our unit with the one next to us, so that we could open our slides. Our neighbor had huge mirrors for his unit, and the units were so close together, that I had to duck to get under his mirror to get to my RV door. I have a handicap, so it made it almost impossible to get in and out of my RV. I would not recommend the water and electricity sites. There are far too close together, so there is no privacy and no space. We didn't even have a picnic table. The water and electricity stalls are like overflow spots - they are that small. We were grateful to have a place to camp, but I will never stay in a water and electricity site again, it was very uncomfortable. Wifi was another problem. Wifi coverage is only available near the office, and coverage is terrible. I was able to pick up my email with great problems, but could not respond to the emails we received

Johnson's has a restaurant onsite. Food was actually very good and so was their homemade bread.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LifesABeach86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    42
    27
    17
    12
See reviews for
46
55
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goodyear, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We totally enjoyed our stay here. The welcome we received at check in was warm and informative, with one of the clerks taking a lot of time to get us oriented to the area, it's attractions, and to answer our questions.

The RV space was only 30amp, which was okay for us, but the guy next to us insisted on running his generator to power both AC's. Since he said he was doing so for his handicapped daughter I didn't complain, since there is a no generator policy. Still it would be nice if they upgraded to 50 amp service.

And therein lies the only issue with this otherwise outstanding location, it needs some TLC. I understand they are closed much of the year and it's an older park, but it just needs a good deep cleaning and polishing. We have no first hand knowledge of the cabins offered here, but are aware of them having to refund the rent on a cabin to couple of guys from Spain because of their complaint about their cabin. Basically the place is starting to show its age, and would greatly benefit from an investment of capital and elbow grease.

But that's just nitpicking because I'm trying to write a fair review. Overall it is one of the best parks we have stayed at, because above all else, location rates high in picking a campground. As far as location goes, they literally are the "King of the Hill". Right outside the main gate to Glacier National Park, and with a commanding hilltop view, you simply cannot not do better than to park whatever type of RV you drive right here.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JosephInAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in June 2014, our sites were so small our slides almost touched the rv next to us. You cannot use your awning either. We felt like sardines! We paid 39.00 a nite for electric and water with a good Sam discount. But we did find the staff to be friendly and helpful.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Mary hotels

Gainesville, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2014

This place has the poorest PR of any place I've ever known. We arrived and after seeing the property decided we wanted to look at the room. To reach the room you had to go up a long outside flight of stairs and over the roof of their cafe. The bathroom was outside the room, kind of added onto the stair area with no door at the top of the stairs where, in the dark, you would have fallen down the stairs if you had turned the wrong direction coming out of your room. We would never have stayed in this place. We knew we would lose our deposit because of not staying there, however the owner who was very rude informed us she had our credit card number and would be charging us for the full amount of the room - $164.83. When we told them we would post a review on Trip Advisor they told us to "go ahead, they didn't care." We would also not recommend the campground because when we arrived at the office there was a woman there complaining because her site had no picnic table and that the grass was knee high at her site so I can only assume the campground is no better than their room.

Room Tip: This side of Glacier National Park is very remote with few towns. East Glacier might be an option...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank danielfirefighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Rented Glacier Cottage. Outstanding place to stay. 2 bedroom cottage with balcony overlooking the valley. Clean, quiet, private. Wi-Fi service available at the office. Johnson's Family Restaurant adjacent to cottages. Excellent food, reasonable. We stayed here in July of 2012

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elphaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerland Key, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here at their campground on the hill looking out to the lakes & mountains at the Park entrance. Level gravel sites each with a picnic table. Clean facility & very friendly well trained staff. We stayed in a 30' trailer with slides but there are sites for big rigs & a separate area for tenting with their own bathhouse. We were originally booked for 3 days but extended 2 extra night to explore the whole area. Literally just a few miles to Park entrance & within walking distance to a wonderful Johnson family owned restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We visited Johnson's in Mid-September. Johnson's is only about two minutes from the Road to the Sun Highway entrance to Glacier National Park. I've seen some mediocre reviews of the RV portion of the business, but we stayed in one of their cabins, and our experience was vastly different.

We stayed in Curly Bear Cabin for one night, and very, very much enjoyed it. There are three cabins on the property, all on arise above the office for the RV and cabin business. The cabins are, I believe, a max of 4 years old. I believe they are identical inside. Ours was a very good sized L-shaped room with two queen beds on different sides of the L. The large side of the L also contains a large window and a couple of smaller ones, do the place is bright, and a small table and two chairs, and a kitchenette. The bathroom, with good shower, is in another room. The beds were handmade and had great mattresses and box springs. There was a nice handmade double-chair on the large front porch.

The staff was great. We ate breakfast at their on-site cafe and and it was an excellent country breakfast, with all handmade baked goods. A good start to a day of hiking and driving. We'd stay in one of Johnson's cabins again in a minute and have already recommended it to our friends intending to travel out to Glacier.

This cabin and the property were great.

Room Tip: Choose one of the three cabins at the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ChicagoMembers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Mary
23.4 mi away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#5 of 6 in East Glacier Park
248 reviews
0.6 mi away
St Mary Lodge & Resort
St Mary Lodge & Resort
#1 of 3 in Saint Mary
794 reviews
6.7 mi away
Montana's Duck Lake Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Whistling Swan Motel
Whistling Swan Motel
#2 of 6 in East Glacier Park
79 reviews
22.8 mi away
Lake McDonald Lodge
Lake McDonald Lodge
#1 of 7 in Glacier National Park
592 reviews
20.9 mi away
Lodgepole Gallery & Tipi Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Johnson's of St. Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnson's of St. Mary

Property: Johnson's of St. Mary
Address: Hc 72, Saint Mary, MT 59417-0010
Location: United States > Montana > Saint Mary
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Saint Mary
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Johnson`s Of St. Mary Hotel Saint Mary
Johnsons Of St Mary Saint
Johnson's Of St. Mary Saint Mary, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing