We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a most outstanding B & B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Ignatius
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mandorla Ranch Bed & Breakfast
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Still a most outstanding B & B”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We visited Mandorla a couple of times in the '90s, and found it to be a most lovely B & B, set in the wonderful Mission Valley. It's a place never forgotten, so, after a family vacation on a guest ranch about two hours away, my wife and I returned again, after a decade and a half, to find it an even more delightful place. Mara has done a fabulous job of modernisation; the accomodation is at a splendid level and the hospitality is superb.

Room Tip: The rooms provide an excellent variety; there should be one to suit most tastes. We stayed in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSky10, Owner at Mandorla Ranch Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you again for making your third trip - but the first in this century! - to Mandorla Ranch. It was really great to see you both. I much appreciate your nice feedback on the Sun Room. Best regards, Mara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
11
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband and I were married at the Mandorla Ranch this summer. The grounds were absolutely beautiful and the views spectacular! Our room was top notch, with everything we needed to make our stay comfortable. The view from our room was great, we could see the rose garden just outside our window and the mountains off in the distance. Mara made us feel right at home and breakfast was delicious each morning. I couldn't have asked for a better location to have had our wedding, it really was truly amazing!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meandmyshadows67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSky10, Owner at Mandorla Ranch Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. It was really our pleasure to be chosen as the host venue for your wedding. What a team of great supporters you had from groomsmen and bridesmaids to family in creating a truly special ceremony and one awesome celebration. Looking forward to having you and your husband back for an anniversary in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

After 30 years I made a trip back to the Mission Valley in Montana to see if it was still as beautiful as I remember. The unspoiled beauty has not changed.

The Mandorla Ranch was breath taking and Mara made me feel right at home. I stayed in the luxurious Tristan Suite with spectacular views from several directions. If you want a more rustic feel, the best view at the ranch is from the room in the barn loft.

Hobo (their Lab and perimeter guard) took a break from chasing deer and wild turkeys to sit at my feet as I sipped a glass of wine enjoying the view.

Breakfast and conversation was great. At Mara's suggestion, I topped it all off with a trip to McDonald Lake.

I can't wait to bring my husband and daughter back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryJane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSky10, Owner at Mandorla Ranch Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. It was really nice to meet you and great fun to hear your stories of the Mission Valley and Allentown Restaurant from years back. Looking forward to your return with your family next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Mandorla-IS-AMAZING! You have to see it to believe that a place this wonderful exists. If you are thinking about visiting Missoula, Flathead Lake, Glacier National Park or Whitefish, a stay at Mandorla Ranch is absolutely worthwhile.

AREA: The nearest towns are St. Ignatius and Ronan, and it's close enough to get to the other places I mentioned above, but Mandorla is in a world of its own. It's off the beaten path and quiet with some of the most stunning scenery you will ever see. The Mission Mountains are in the backyard and the Ninepipe National Wildlife Refuge (bird watching) is in the front yard. Missoula is 1 hour; Glacier National Park or Whitefish are 2 hours. I love that it's near everything you want to see without being touristy.

HOUSE & ROOMS: We stayed in one of the rooms in the main house, with a full-sized bed. We loved the antique furnishings, comfortable bed and the feeling of being in a well-loved home. Everything was very clean and fresh with all the basic amenities you'd expect at a nice hotel. Next time, we’ll get the fabulous four poster king room with the jetted tub, fireplace and rose garden view. (This time it was occupied by a couple of honeymooners who were just married on the ranch.) The entire house is beautifully decorated and built by hand. This means hand-carved wood finishes, hand quarried stones, and custom everything. Each room in the house is positioned to offer a view, so we felt we had our own personal sanctuary. The owners’ collection of treasures from international travels makes every room seem special. It's like staying with worldly friends who have a glamorous Western compound. We kept pinching ourselves at our luck in finding Mandorla.

BREAKFAST: The breakfasts were delicious: french toast, eggs, fresh fruit. We had something different each day, and we liked the atmosphere of casual elegance with cloth napkins, pretty pottery and china. It was great to talk with other guests and learn about their plans for the day.

RANCH GROUNDS: Mandorla is positioned to capture the most magnificent sunsets, which happened every night without fail. It was tough to choose where to unwind: breakfast on the patio in front, afternoons lounging in the hammocks looking at mountains and forest, evenings watching sunsets on the deck, nighttime looking at the stars. But then, we also wanted time to wander in the orchard, sit in the rose garden, walk the trails, watch the horses play and look for wild turkeys and deer - all on the grounds of the ranch. We hardly used the satellite TV or wireless but it was good to know they were there.

ACTIVITIES: It's a short 10 minute drive to McDonald Lake which is a great place to walk, swim, canoe or picnic - before you go, don't forget to get a permit from the Flathead Reservation. We had a fun horseback ride at Cheff's Ranch which is just around the bend. We visited St. Ignatius Mission to see the hand painted frescos. At The National Bison Refuge we saw a huge herd of buffalo just wandering around next to the car. The funny thing is, after we left Mandorla, we visited Yellowstone National Park (about 5 hours drive) where piles of tourists were stumbling all over each other to see buffalo. Meanwhile, back at Mandorla Ranch we had the Bison Refuge all to ourselves! I had one of the best 90 minute massages ever with Barbara at Reflections Salon & Spa in Ronan. We drove 2 hours along the river to the Hiawatha bike trail in Idaho, an incredible ride through miles of trees and mountain vistas on flat, easy terrain. Lastly, we enjoyed the scenic 1-hour drive along Flathead Lake to Big Fork where we had a wonderful meal at Grille 459.

A FEW POINTERS - the house and main rooms are all air conditioned, but the one barn room is not. Most of the time, it doesn't matter because Montana mornings and evenings are cool. You need a car here, there's no way around that, and the drive to the ranch requires some travel on unpaved, but well-graded roads. For your time outdoors, bring bug spray, walking boots, a jacket, a hat and sunblock. If you go to Glacier, remember that it can get 'scarf and gloves' cool at any time. There's a good grocery in Ronan for snacks and provisions and a few close restaurants where you can grab a bite, but for a more formal meal, you've got to go into Missoula or Big Fork. I don't recommend the drive back from Whitefish at night unless you're cool with a REALLY dark desolate road. The other routes are fine at any time.

I could go on and on gushing about Mandorla. It was the best of the West, rustic and luxury rolled into one. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SapphireBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSky10, Owner at Mandorla Ranch Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. Seeing Mandorla Ranch through your eyes was a treat and most insightful. Looking forward to your return next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My wife and I, and our two twenty-something daughters stayed at Mandoria during a two-week Montana/Wyoming safari in August. We stayed at a number of beautiful, high-quality lodges and bed and breakfasts. But Mandoria was in a class of its own.

The setting, under the Mission mountains and looking across the Ninepipes lake and wildfowl reserve to the National Bison Park, is glorious. The house is equally impressive, built with love and great attention to detail by the owner. The hospitality is extraordinary -- Mara is a delight, very knowledgeable and helpful, and also sensitive to giving guests their space. The rooms are luxurious and tastefully furnished. The breakfast, too, was superb.

We are people who have travelled many parts of the world. Mandoria Ranch is not only by far the best place we stayed in Montana and Wyoming, but equal to anything we have experienced anywhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank waterbee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSky10, Owner at Mandorla Ranch Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments and review. It was terrific to read that Mandorla Ranch received such excellent marks on your evaluation. Serving your wonderful and gracious family was indeed a pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mandorla Ranch Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandorla Ranch Bed & Breakfast

Property: Mandorla Ranch Bed & Breakfast
Address: 53760 Allard Rd, Saint Ignatius, MT 59865-0159
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Saint Ignatius
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Ignatius
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect place – unique, simply elegant, and inviting - for a special occasion or just relaxation! An all suite Bed & Breakfast Luxury Retreat – with an incredible location, upscale accommodations, and terrific hospitality – Mandorla Ranch offers the ultimate wilderness escape with charm, character, and comfort-catering to discerning travelers that want to get away from civilization yet enjoy comfort and stellar service. Since we cater to only a few guests at a time, you will enjoy a real sense of having your own private getaway for a vacation or special occasion venue. Truly relax, kick back, and soak in the serenity and 360-degree views of the Mission Valley and Mission Mountains. There is no schedule here, just service with a smile. Set amongst 35 prime acres of ponderosa pines, nestled high in the foothills of the 10,000-foot peaks of the Mission Mountain Range, with easy access, less than 50 miles, to Missoula International Airport and close to Ninepipes Wildlife Refuge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mandorla Ranch Bed & Breakfast Saint Ignatius, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing