We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Neatest little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Yodeler Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yodeler Motel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Red Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bismarck, North Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Neatest little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Love, love, loved this place. Also loved Red Lodge so will definetly will be back and when we do come back we will definetly stay in this place. The hotel is so cute and the people.....well I can't say enough about the people at this hotel. Excellent hospitality!! I loved the deck for the upstairs rooms that faces the main road and the little patch of grass out front as well. I sat in the grass and watched the traffic for about an hour one beautiful evening. It was fun to see all the different license plates go by. We also did get to meet the dog one morning and was so sweet!! Great job Yodeler staff, you all helped make our trip that much more memorable!!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND this hotel when staying in Red Lodge!!

Room Tip: Rooms up the six little stairs I would recommend because they come with a little deck to enjoy the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent M, Guest Relations Manager at Yodeler Motel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you so much for such a great review. We believe in making our guests stay feel just like they would if visiting family. Its always so nice to hear how much we have helped make someones vacation wonderful, and I will pass on the word to the rest of our staff (including Shackleton the motel dog). - Brent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    109
    32
    4
    5
See reviews for
96
162
32
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here on night before going down the Beartooth scenic highway. The rooms were either up a few steps or down a few steps. We were up with parking next to your room. The unit was large with flat screen ty, micro and fridge. The unit had a Jacuzzi nice windows and a porch to siton. These units had a front door and back door. I enjoyed my stay in this clean motel within walking distance to the downtown. Would definitely consider this option for lodging when visiting this area

Room Tip: I would ask for a moom with a jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent M, Guest Relations Manager at Yodeler Motel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for your stay and review. I am glad you liked the room, we have two of these rooms on the upper level and they do seem to be a favorite for our regulars. - Brent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

I made reservation to hopefully show my children what it was like traveling when I was their age. The Yodeler was wonderul. Clean and comfortable. Staff was top-notch including German Sheppard bell hop. It brought many good memories. My sons loved the steam shower.

Room Tip: Great room for great price. Excellent location for spending time in Red Lodge or going West over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bytor44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent M, Guest Relations Manager at Yodeler Motel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you and thanks to your sons for having stayed with us and writing this review. Shackleton (german sheppard) is a great greeter and he thinks every one that stays here is coming to visit him. He even has his own facebook page!

Glad to here about your trip and that your boys enjoyed the steam showers as its a very nice and unique feature of our motel. -Brent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and I spent a wonderful night at the yodeler on June 15th. We had an upper room with a king size bed. The room was quite large, as was the bathroom. Everything was spotlessly clean and the decor was charming. The bed was comfortable and it is a less than ten minute walk into town where we had a very fun night eating dinner and having drinks. The room had a porch that overlooked the main street. There was a large tv, hair dryer, and table. The sheets and towels were all in excellent condition.

When we checked in, the gentleman at the desk was warm and friendly and offered us restaurant suggestions for dinner. When we checked out the next morning there was a woman at the desk who was extremely friendly and discussed with us her favorite sites in Cody and along the chief Joseph highway which was were we were travelling next. Our conversation felt like we were talking to an old friend.

An upstairs, king bed room only cost us $115 here. That is not much more than we had just been spending in Yellowstone for a tiny room with a bathroom down the hall. It was great to be able to enjoy such a nice room and not break the bank. My husband and I don't splurge on hotel rooms so it was nice to have such a pleasant room in our budget. This was easily one of the nicest accomodations of our two week trip. If our travels take us to red lodge again -and I hope they do- we will look forward to another night at the yodeler.

Room Tip: Stay in an upper room. I believe the steam showers are in non- king rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DH6040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent M, Manager at Yodeler Motel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Glad we fit your needs and budget!. While Red Lodge as a whole is not very budget friendly we have very fair rates compared to other motels/hotels in town. Also thank you for our kind words about the staff. We all enjoy working here and hope it shows. - Brent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed in the summer of 2012 while on a cross-country trip with our dog (love that the Yodeler is pet-friendly). Someone had recommended that we stay here if we were going that way, so we decided to plan our route to incorporate a stop at the Yodeler and then drive the Beartooth the next day. The Yodeler is easy to find and very close to town, and check-in was quick and smooth.
We didn't realize until getting there that the lower level rooms have sort of a basement feel (we had a room on the lower level), but the room was spacious and clean with a large window that let in a lot of natural light. And, because of the placement of the window you can keep the curtain open without sacrificing privacy. There are two doors - one from the outside of the hotel where you enter into a small hallway that you share with another room, and then there are the locking doors to the two rooms off of that hallway.
The room was basic, but had two double beds, a desk, and table - it was quite large. We didn't use the steam shower in the bathroom, but that was a cool feature and we probably would have if we'd been staying there in the winter. My husband took an easy walk into town to pick up dinner. If one of us didn't have to stay with the dog in the room at all times, I would have liked to walk into town to explore a bit, but oh well!
The only thing I was a little let down by was that the Yodeler was a bit more expensive than other hotels on our trip that I would consider to be on the same level in terms of being a little dated or no-frills, especially for one of the lower-level rooms. I know you can't really compare apples to apples since the other hotels were in completely cities, though. (It also obviously would have been cheaper if we'd had more people staying in our room to split the cost with - the room slept 4 but we only had 2 people.) We still had a very pleasant stay, the staff was very friendly, and it was great being able to walk into town after spending a long day in the car.

Room Tip: Note that lower level rooms are somewhat subterranean, so might help to ask about specifics when mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent M, Guest Relations Manager at Yodeler Motel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for your review! We love our pets and love to meet our guests pets as well as their owners. You and your furry friends are always welcome!

I appreciate you explaining our lower level rooms as you did. They are nice rooms and it sounds like you enjoyed your stay. - Brent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I are traveling across country for 8 weeks with our dog. We chose this motel because it is pet friendly. It is an older motel. It is in walking distance of the nice downtown area. However - the entire downtown area is under major road construction. Check with whatever hotel you choose about the status of this project.
Our room was not one of the basement rooms. We were on the first floor. It was a clean room. With microwave and small refridge. Bathroom area very small. The beds had really ugly old bedspreads but they were comfortable. The area surrounding the hotel is rundown.
Ok for a one night stop.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherlock621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melrosemac, Manager at Yodeler Motel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. This is an old historic motel, built pre 1900s as housing for the miners and became a motel in 1961 (one of the oldest in town). We feel that is a big part of the charm, and draw of our motel. We work hard at keeping our rooms up-to date and clean, if your looking for a new hotel you might look at one of the corporate chains in town.

They are replacing old water lines and valves through out main street, thus the road is ripped up. While this is going on downtown is still very much alive and open, dont let this detour you from visiting. - Brent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

When we booked three rooms at this motel, we were told the rooms were on the first floor. The rooms 'on the first floor' are BASEMENT level. You go down a flight of stairs, into a sub-terrarium hallway and enter the room. The heat didn't work at all. Neither did the wi-fi. I question whether they even have wi-fi. We were a party of 3 somewhat mature couples and had to stay there or forfeit the price of the lodging. We had read the reviews and apparently they were from the people that stayed on the second floor.
On a positive note: the staff is very, very nice. It would have been great if they had been honest about the location of the 'first' floor.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a second floor room or a different motel.
See more room tips
Green Features: They don't use much heating energy. 'Temperature set to retain energy'.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scoocheee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melrosemac, Manager at Yodeler Motel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We are sorry you were unhappy with your stay. However we never explain our rooms as 1st and 2nd floor. We always refer to them as UPPER and LOWER level rooms. It should have been explained to you that either way its six steps up or down. Also that our lower level rooms are our budget rooms. You requested 3 single rooms, and did not want the two queen rooms on the upper level that we had available. To say we were dishonest about the location of our rooms is unfair, as we all explain it very well to avoid just such a situation. All our reviews are not based on upper level rooms, some people do not mind the lower and some actually prefer them. While we do understand these rooms are not for everyone, but they are clean and nice rooms for a great price in this town.

We do have WiFi and it does work! If it was not working, you should have notified some one at the desk we would have helped you connect. While laptops work through out the motel, devices such as some smartphones and tablets do not have strong enough wifi cards to reach our receivers.

When the heat was not working in one of your rooms I gladly came down with a portable heater to compensate, we just installed new Solar powered water/heat seems there are some kinks that we are resolving. -Brent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Red Lodge hotels
0.5 mi away
The Pollard
The Pollard
#4 of 9 in Red Lodge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 9 in Red Lodge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
5.3 mi away
Rock Creek Resort
Rock Creek Resort
#7 of 9 in Red Lodge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Red Lodge Inn
The Red Lodge Inn
#3 of 9 in Red Lodge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beartooth Hideaway Inn & Cabins
0.1 mi away
Lupine Inn
Lupine Inn
#9 of 9 in Red Lodge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yodeler Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yodeler Motel

Property: Yodeler Motel
Address: 601 S Broadway Ave, Red Lodge, MT 59068-9270
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Red Lodge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Red Lodge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Yodeler Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Bavarian-style lodging located only three blocks from historic Downtown Red Lodge. We are your base camp for adventure. Come stay with us, and visit a remarkable area. Hike, Bike, Climb, Fish, Ski/Snowboard, Cross country, Red Lodge has so much to offer. Locally owned and operated by Mac & Tulsa Dean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Yodeler Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yodeler Hotel Red Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing