We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay and close to town”
Review of Yodeler Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yodeler Motel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Red Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boise, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Pleasant stay and close to town”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed in the summer of 2012 while on a cross-country trip with our dog (love that the Yodeler is pet-friendly). Someone had recommended that we stay here if we were going that way, so we decided to plan our route to incorporate a stop at the Yodeler and then drive the Beartooth the next day. The Yodeler is easy to find and very close to town, and check-in was quick and smooth.
We didn't realize until getting there that the lower level rooms have sort of a basement feel (we had a room on the lower level), but the room was spacious and clean with a large window that let in a lot of natural light. And, because of the placement of the window you can keep the curtain open without sacrificing privacy. There are two doors - one from the outside of the hotel where you enter into a small hallway that you share with another room, and then there are the locking doors to the two rooms off of that hallway.
The room was basic, but had two double beds, a desk, and table - it was quite large. We didn't use the steam shower in the bathroom, but that was a cool feature and we probably would have if we'd been staying there in the winter. My husband took an easy walk into town to pick up dinner. If one of us didn't have to stay with the dog in the room at all times, I would have liked to walk into town to explore a bit, but oh well!
The only thing I was a little let down by was that the Yodeler was a bit more expensive than other hotels on our trip that I would consider to be on the same level in terms of being a little dated or no-frills, especially for one of the lower-level rooms. I know you can't really compare apples to apples since the other hotels were in completely cities, though. (It also obviously would have been cheaper if we'd had more people staying in our room to split the cost with - the room slept 4 but we only had 2 people.) We still had a very pleasant stay, the staff was very friendly, and it was great being able to walk into town after spending a long day in the car.

Room Tip: Note that lower level rooms are somewhat subterranean, so might help to ask about specifics when mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent M, Guest Relations Manager at Yodeler Motel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for your review! We love our pets and love to meet our guests pets as well as their owners. You and your furry friends are always welcome!

I appreciate you explaining our lower level rooms as you did. They are nice rooms and it sounds like you enjoyed your stay. - Brent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    116
    33
    4
    5
See reviews for
101
172
34
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I are traveling across country for 8 weeks with our dog. We chose this motel because it is pet friendly. It is an older motel. It is in walking distance of the nice downtown area. However - the entire downtown area is under major road construction. Check with whatever hotel you choose about the status of this project.
Our room was not one of the basement rooms. We were on the first floor. It was a clean room. With microwave and small refridge. Bathroom area very small. The beds had really ugly old bedspreads but they were comfortable. The area surrounding the hotel is rundown.
Ok for a one night stop.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherlock621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melrosemac, Manager at Yodeler Motel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. This is an old historic motel, built pre 1900s as housing for the miners and became a motel in 1961 (one of the oldest in town). We feel that is a big part of the charm, and draw of our motel. We work hard at keeping our rooms up-to date and clean, if your looking for a new hotel you might look at one of the corporate chains in town.

They are replacing old water lines and valves through out main street, thus the road is ripped up. While this is going on downtown is still very much alive and open, dont let this detour you from visiting. - Brent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

When we booked three rooms at this motel, we were told the rooms were on the first floor. The rooms 'on the first floor' are BASEMENT level. You go down a flight of stairs, into a sub-terrarium hallway and enter the room. The heat didn't work at all. Neither did the wi-fi. I question whether they even have wi-fi. We were a party of 3 somewhat mature couples and had to stay there or forfeit the price of the lodging. We had read the reviews and apparently they were from the people that stayed on the second floor.
On a positive note: the staff is very, very nice. It would have been great if they had been honest about the location of the 'first' floor.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a second floor room or a different motel.
See more room tips
Green Features: They don't use much heating energy. 'Temperature set to retain energy'.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scoocheee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melrosemac, Manager at Yodeler Motel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We are sorry you were unhappy with your stay. However we never explain our rooms as 1st and 2nd floor. We always refer to them as UPPER and LOWER level rooms. It should have been explained to you that either way its six steps up or down. Also that our lower level rooms are our budget rooms. You requested 3 single rooms, and did not want the two queen rooms on the upper level that we had available. To say we were dishonest about the location of our rooms is unfair, as we all explain it very well to avoid just such a situation. All our reviews are not based on upper level rooms, some people do not mind the lower and some actually prefer them. While we do understand these rooms are not for everyone, but they are clean and nice rooms for a great price in this town.

We do have WiFi and it does work! If it was not working, you should have notified some one at the desk we would have helped you connect. While laptops work through out the motel, devices such as some smartphones and tablets do not have strong enough wifi cards to reach our receivers.

When the heat was not working in one of your rooms I gladly came down with a portable heater to compensate, we just installed new Solar powered water/heat seems there are some kinks that we are resolving. -Brent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milo, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

we stayed there for 2 nights before heading to Yellowstone. Great staff, comfortable beds, and clean room. Loved Red Lodge. They have great shops. Beartooth Highway was amazing. when we go back we will stay at Yodeler

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melrosemac, Manager at Yodeler Motel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
We are happy to hear your enjoyed our little town, and your two night stay with us. I hope your journey in Yellowstone was good as well. The Beartooth pass is amazing glad you enjoyed it!

We look forward to having you visit again - Brent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We arrived early and they were able to let us check in. The rooms are large and clean and the beds are very comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. We didn't try the steam bath since it was June and very warm...I'm sure it would be great in cooler weather. The Yodeler is a great place to stay after driving the Beartooth.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richkat9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melrosemac, Manager at Yodeler Motel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for your stay and review! We are glad that we were able to get you in early, its not something we can normally do especially in the summer months. If you stay again I do recommend to try the steam bath in the morning with a cold shower. Great way to wake up even in the summer months.

We look forward to your next visit. - Brent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We initially booked for one day... Then two... Then three :) the service at the Yodeler is extremely friendly and outgoing- they treat you just like family. Though our room was dated, it was extremely clean and was walkable to downtown. We loved it here and will be returning again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shorething85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melrosemac, Manager at Yodeler Motel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Careful! This is how it starts, next thing you know you will be wanting to move here!

We are so glad you enjoyed our town as much as we do. Your continued stay was very welcome and we look forward to having you back some time. - Brent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clay, New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Privately owned and very friendly. Brent was great and gave us food recommendations, towels to clean motorcycles with. No better place to stay if you are traveling in the area or driving th Beartooth Highway.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melrosemac, Manager at Yodeler Motel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
I am glad you guys had a good time, your always welcome here at the Yodeler Motel. - Brent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Red Lodge hotels
0.5 mi away
The Pollard
The Pollard
#4 of 10 in Red Lodge
324 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 10 in Red Lodge
192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beartooth Hideaway Inn & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Rock Creek Resort
Rock Creek Resort
#7 of 10 in Red Lodge
165 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Red Lodge Inn
The Red Lodge Inn
#2 of 10 in Red Lodge
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lupine Inn
Lupine Inn
#10 of 10 in Red Lodge
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yodeler Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yodeler Motel

Property: Yodeler Motel
Address: 601 S Broadway Ave, Red Lodge, MT 59068-9270
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Red Lodge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Red Lodge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Yodeler Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Bavarian-style lodging located only three blocks from historic Downtown Red Lodge. We are your base camp for adventure. Come stay with us, and visit a remarkable area. Hike, Bike, Climb, Fish, Ski/Snowboard, Cross country, Red Lodge has so much to offer. Locally owned and operated by Mac & Tulsa Dean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Yodeler Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yodeler Hotel Red Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing