We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Great”
Review of Yodeler Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yodeler Motel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Red Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sheridan, Wyoming
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Always Great”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We love the Yodeler. The rooms are super clean with refrigerator and microwave. Some rooms have a steam bath and some have jacuzzi's. Their hot tub is great. They are in walking distance to town with a lot of great restaurants. Sawtooth the cat may ignore you but Shackleton the dog will be happy to let you pay attention to him. The owners and all staff are very friendly. This is our first choice in Red Lodge.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for the steam bath if you want that experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolene O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    111
    32
    4
    5
See reviews for
101
164
33
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We chose Yodeler Motel based on trip advisor reviews and were totally disappointed.
It was the most uncomfortable place we stayed in.
The room was old and definitely in need of an update.
There were 2 separate rooms and it slept 5 people in all.
The air con is in one room and there is a ceiling fan/light in the other.
On a hot August night, the room with no aircon was extremely uncomfortable.
The ceiling fan only works with the light on.
When we went to bed, the ceiling fan had to be turned off as well.
Because the room was so old and dated, it did not appear very clean as well.
Thank goodness we were there for only one night.

Room Tip: Make sure your air con works in the room, especially on a hot summer night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkjldk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melrosemac, Manager at Yodeler Motel, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Our Motel is a historic building that is over 100 years old. Our rooms have been completely renovated the past 2 years and are maintained thoroughly. We work very hard to keep our rooms and motel looking nice. While we understand our Motel is not for every one, the above guest was rude and unhappy from the start. This review was biased and vindictive.

Before their arrival they called and talked with the owner about getting a rollaway in a family room (3 bed split room unit). It was explained that there is not enough space in that room for a rollaway. They were bringing six people and it was recommended at that time they might be happier in two rooms. After a debate about our own policies we allowed them a rollaway in the room but advised again that it would be cramped. They also disputed the rate after adding the rollaway (which we charge 10$/n for). Even after a refund for the rollaway charge, they were bitter enough to write this bad review.

We were also never made aware of any issues with the fan or we would have gladly helped them. We work hard each fall and spring to update, fix up, and work on making our motel better each year. We take it very seriously when a guest is unhappy, as we want to make their current or next stay the best in Red Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband and I spent 2 nights here on our very first trip to Montana. I was leery at first because we had never stayed in anything , but chain hotels before. The room we had was on the bottom floor and did not have AC which I knew in advance. There was a window fan, but we didn't need it as the temps were cool. On our second night there I used the steam bath. WOW!!! It was perfect after a long day's ride on the Bear Tooth Highway. The owners were friendly and the place was clean. No soft towels here, but comfy beds in a relaxed atmosphere. Many bikers used the motel, but there never was any noise issues. I highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: There are rooms with AC we just chose a cheaper route and based on the temperatures didn't need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Alabama, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This was a charming motel and the owners were very helpful and friendly and recommended some good places to eat. Clean room and beds - the bathroom even had a steam shower! Enjoyed the use of free WiFi - thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: We chose a "ground level" room because my husband has knee problems, but it was actually d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du lac
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I would have to say this hotel was clean and had a hot shower. It definitely wasn't what I expected from the reviews. Luckily we chose the upper floor.The floor was at an angle when we had walked across it. It had a window air conditioner that met our needs. Everything else was a little outdated. It did however work for us, as it was just a stopping point into Yellowstone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCWJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

After a long day in Yellowstone and a wonderful drive over Beartooth mountain pass we arrived late afternoon at Red Lodge with no reservations for the night.
The Yodeler Inn caught our attention and before long we had a lovely clean big room with 2 queen beds, TV, WIFI, coffee machine, fridge, microwave and hairdrier.
Our room faced the main street but hardly any traffic during the night.
The owners were very helpful, pleasant and knowledgeable on the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxyRsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

My family and I really enjoyed our stay at the Yodeler Motel in Red Lodge Montana. We just needed an evening accommodation before we headed into Yellowstone. The owners cheerfully greeted us at the front desk. Check in took only about 3 minutes. There were three of us (adults) traveling and we booked a room with 2 queen beds. When we arrived, the owner offered us a free upgrade to a 2 bedroom suite (with 3 beds) he happened to have available that evening, to better accommodate us! The room was clean and attractively decorated in a mountain ski theme. We slept well and were refreshed and ready for our adventures in Yellowstone the next day. I highly recommend a stay at the Yodeler Motel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dimooreSeattle_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Red Lodge hotels
0.5 mi away
The Pollard
The Pollard
#4 of 10 in Red Lodge
319 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 10 in Red Lodge
182 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beartooth Hideaway Inn & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Rock Creek Resort
Rock Creek Resort
#7 of 10 in Red Lodge
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Red Lodge Inn
The Red Lodge Inn
#1 of 10 in Red Lodge
265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lupine Inn
Lupine Inn
#10 of 10 in Red Lodge
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yodeler Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yodeler Motel

Property: Yodeler Motel
Address: 601 S Broadway Ave, Red Lodge, MT 59068-9270
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Red Lodge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Red Lodge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Yodeler Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Bavarian-style lodging located only three blocks from historic Downtown Red Lodge. We are your base camp for adventure. Come stay with us, and visit a remarkable area. Hike, Bike, Climb, Fish, Ski/Snowboard, Cross country, Red Lodge has so much to offer. Locally owned and operated by Mac & Tulsa Dean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Yodeler Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yodeler Hotel Red Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing