We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing to Rave About”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pollard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Pollard
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Red Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Lafayette, LA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nothing to Rave About”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2008

This is an old hotel in a great part of town. It has been renovated and the lobby looks good. However, there is no help with luggage, no parking close to the door to unload the bags, the price was high, the room was small and worn (two full/queen beds) with not much space around them. The bathroom was small. No special amenities. There were two settings on the air conditioning--on and blowing hard--or off. To get the air turned off you have to call the front desk and ask them to turn it off. They explained the fan on the system is 105 years old. We did not eat there and only stayed there for one night. I did not think it was a good value although I liked the location.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — High price for a basic room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateLafayette_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    111
    28
    11
    12
See reviews for
49
187
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Helena, MT
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2008

Stayed there for a business meeting. Rooms were clean & quiet, and the food was excellent! And they serve Starbucks, which is pretty good coffee.

Breakfast was delicious (I had a cheese & muchroom omelete) & dinner was great (I had salmon).

Would stay here again anytime!

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hardycreek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davislogsdon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2007

NEVER AGAIN! We've stayed at the Pollard Hotel several times in previous years, and found the property well above average. We returned
for the Red Lodge "Christmas Stroll" this year, only to find the place
shabby, poorly maintained, and--worst of all--incompetently staffed, from the manager to the desk personnel to the maids. Equally unfortunate, the food in the highly-recommended restaurant was awful.
The Pollard was appropriately highly regarded in the past, but it has become decidedly second- (or even third-) rate recently. NEVER AGAIN!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Staff quality; property quality; restaurant; manager
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank davislogsdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2007

My company booked four rooms at the Pollard using Travelocity for a 2 day business meeting in Red Lodge. Red Lodge is a very charming Montana mountain town - but I can't recommend staying at The Pollard. According to The Pollard's website, all room's come with breakfast. However, we learned when we got there that this doesn't include rooms booked via Travelocity. Unfortunately, the front desk got this confused and two of our company's four rooms received free breakfast and two didn't. When I spoke with the hotel about this they did not make any corrections and just left it as-is. One room that did receive breakfast said the breakfast was good but said the server told them that "orange juice was not free". They later retracted that - but left the guest feeling a bit less than impressed. Additionally, our room never had hot water for showers. Each time the water was luke warm. I mentioned this to a front desk manager but they didn't offer to move us to another room or correct the problem in any way. Additionally, we were told by 3 different employees that the "History Room" was available to us for meetings at no charge. However, upon arrival we were told the GM changed his mind and there would be a $50 fee. Lastly, the rooms are a bit dated. It doesn't look like any investment has been put into the rooms in a whilte. I feel the $75 Travelocity price was not a bad rate if these issues had not occured, but I would have felt very ripped off if we had paid the standard $125 room rate. Next time I go to Red Lodge I think I'll shop for another hotel.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank BigSkyRiverBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
86 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2007

The Pollard is an old property that is in the process of being upgraded/renovated. The lobby and dining renovations are complete and it appears that all but the smaller rooms are complete as well.
We had a fabulous stay as we were upgraded to a luxury suite (the room we were originally assigned had several housekeeping issues that were resolved by moving us) so this is review is a bit biased toward the positive!
The Luxury suite is large with windows on two sides and a great view with a two person jacuzzi in the bathroom........how can you go wrong???
We looked into other rooms---the larger standard rooms looked fine but, until renovations are complete, avoid the smaller rooms. And be advised, the smaller standard rooms are VERY small---think European small.
If you can afford to book one of the larger rooms, you will love the Pollard. The location is the center of town (town is only two blocks long) and the property looks very nice upon entry. I'm not sure you would feel you had a good experience or got good value in the smaller rooms.

  • Liked — our luxury suite
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcqajbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2007

Although it's reportedly over 100 years old, we found it to be in excellent shape and extremely convenient; with many shops, restaurants and bars within a couple of blocks. While we heard the rooms were small, ours was quite adequate and well appointed.

The free breakfast - anything on the menu (steak and eggs for me, salmon eggs benedict for my wife) - was excellent and got me thinking I made a mistake by not eating dinnner there the night before (good food, nice touches!). All in all, we loved the place and would defintinely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank smilnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2007

We booked a night on the morning of the day of our arrival. There was no mention of their policy of charging the credit card immediately. We arrived at 1:00 pm and were told to check back at 3:00 pm. (This was after we spent 15 minutes looking for someone.) After having lunch and sightseeing, we returned at 3:45 and were told the room was not ready. We left and found a B&B where the owner was cordial, the inn beautiful,and the price $60 cheaper. We called to cancel the room at the Pollard and were told that the room was now ready and we would be charged anyway. No discussion. We still stayed at the B&B(Rocky Forks Inn).

Helpful?
2 Thank durfee73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Lodge
5.7 mi away
Rock Creek Resort
Rock Creek Resort
#7 of 9 in Red Lodge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 9 in Red Lodge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Red Lodge Inn
The Red Lodge Inn
#3 of 9 in Red Lodge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lupine Inn
Lupine Inn
#9 of 9 in Red Lodge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beartooth Hideaway Inn & Cabins
14.0 mi away
Beartooth River Ranch
Beartooth River Ranch
#1 of 2 in Belfry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pollard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pollard

Property: The Pollard
Address: 2 North Broadway, Red Lodge, MT 59068
Location: United States > Montana > Red Lodge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Red Lodge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pollard 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Pollard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pollard Hotel Red Lodge
Pollard Red Lodge
Pollard Hotel Red Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing