We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious crab cake eggs benedict”
Review of The Pollard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pollard
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Red Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Delicious crab cake eggs benedict”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

After a cool night at one of the National Forest campgrounds we headed in to Red Lodge for breakfast. We asked a local walking his dog which place he would recommend and that was 'The Pollard Hotel'. We had an exceptional experience and thoroughly enjoyed the crab cakes eggs benedict and the Grand Marnier French toast (could have done without the caramel sauce and have maple syrup only). Melissa was our server and very professional.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsies5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    114
    29
    11
    12
See reviews for
51
196
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pine Mountain, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Very nice old hotel. We enjoyed the location in the downtown area close to restaurants especially, the City Bakery. Elected to eat else where re recommendation. Provided a comfortable place close to the Beartooth Highway and Chief Joseph's passageway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeePhillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was our 3rd stay at The Historic Pollard over a few years, so we were expecting small accomodations. We were not, however, expecting a marginal breakfast. We had remembered how lovely the Eggs Benedict were and had our mouths set! What arrived were dry, with just a schmear of hollandaise. When I asked the server for a small side of hollandaise she returned with an itsy bitsy sushi sauce plate with a tablespoon of sauce. I asked if my husband could get one also. She came back to say the kitchen had run out of sauce and would make more. I used the sauce on my eggs while we waited for his. It never came. The server did return to say the kitchen was out and there would be no more. I gave my husband the other half of eggs Benedict in order to get half the expectation. :)

Room Tip: Suck it up and pay for a larger room if that's a deal breaker for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuJuTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

As an historic hotel, The Pollard offers guests a step into the past. The room reserved was small, but adequate. The private bath, small too. The bed was not comfortable, which was disappointing. The breakfast included with the stay, was ordered from the full breakfast menu in the dining room, and more than we expected. The setting, on Main Street, Red Lodge, great. Adequate service from the staff.

Room Tip: Upgrading would probably have offered a better experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedrocktrekkerSedona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Ga
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Our requested room had the walk-in shower but the room was so tiny there could be no chairs. We then requested an upgrade from the delightful receptionist. For just a few dollars more we got a lovely room with an inside balcony and complete sitting area (although a tub to climb over with a new knee replacement). We chose this hotel because of its terrific menu listed online. The chef was not there and our dinner was so bad that the hotel not only did not charge us but also gave us a credit. The hotel has such good service that it even cleaned our vehical's windows each night! They tried to make things right and that's what counts. This was a lovely total experience after the thrilling ride over the Bear Tooth Highway. We would stay here again but would ask if the chef was on duty. There are other great restaurants in town.

Room Tip: No views, in town location. Spend the extra for the larger room. The balconies are lovely (inside lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5sandyhook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The Pollard, in downtown Red Lodge, Montana, is a beautifully restored brick hotel, with excellent dining, very nice rooms, and friendly staff. It is convenient to hiking, skiing, shopping, and just relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graycrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Pollard is an older hotel in colorful Deer Lodge Montana- on the route to the Beartooth Pass. The hotel is quaint and the rooms are small but it is charming. The breakfast is a delightful full meal- not the continental freebies of the chain hotels. There are comfy robes, a small flat screen TV and wi fi.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front side if you like the street sounds during the day or the back side if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dr_D1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Lodge
5.7 mi away
Rock Creek Resort
Rock Creek Resort
#7 of 10 in Red Lodge
170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 10 in Red Lodge
196 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beartooth Hideaway Inn & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lupine Inn
Lupine Inn
#10 of 10 in Red Lodge
195 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Red Lodge Inn
The Red Lodge Inn
#2 of 10 in Red Lodge
301 reviews
14.0 mi away
Beartooth River Ranch
Beartooth River Ranch
#1 of 2 in Belfry
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pollard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pollard

Property: The Pollard
Address: 2 N Broadway Ave, Red Lodge, MT 59068-9006
Location: United States > Montana > Red Lodge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Red Lodge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pollard 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Pollard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pollard Hotel Red Lodge
Pollard Red Lodge
Pollard Hotel Red Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing