We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Returning from a family trip” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lupine Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lupine Inn
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Red Lodge
Great Falls, Montana
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Returning from a family trip”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

The Inn is quite tired and a bit run down but the shower was hot and the beds OK. The room should have been less than $80 for the basic with two queen beds but ended up being $175. The breakfast turned out to be a sellection of two cereals or toast from week old bread. We drove 40 miles to an interstate McDonalds for breakfast.

Room Tip: Stay else where if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dexter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    25
    45
    34
    40
See reviews for
68
62
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel for 4 nights during our trip to Yellowstone National Park. The price was quite high, and it didn't seem the most optimal of all, but we had little choice because few hotels were available.

Our trip first started out in Jackson, WY, where we stayed in another hotel. After that, we spent a day seeing Yellowstone, and when we left the park, we started making our way to Red Lodge to the Lupine Inn. But we got a rude awakening on the roads.

Once we left the park, it was late at night and pitch dark, and we discovered we were still 70 miles from Red Lodge. But that was the least of our troubles. We first passed through a town called Cooke City, and we wished he had a place to stay there. But the town was lined with "no vacancy" signs. After Cooke City came the middle of nowhere.

The road we had to take, US-212, also known as the Beartooth Highway, turned out to be a winding mountain road with dozens of hairpin turns, no guardrail on much of the route, and cliffs going down thousands of feet. On mistake at the wheel is certain death. The speed limit on this road is 70 MPH. What a joke. I could not safely go above 20. This was the scariest drive of my life. And I've driven in the French Alps, which is considered by many to be scary, and I had no fear doing that. It took a few hours after leaving the park to reach Red Lodge.

Following arrival, I worked feverishly to find another place for us to stay closer to the park, and by some miracle, I did. But I had to do the Beartooth drive again just to get there.

The Lupine staff was very nice and understanding. They allowed us to have a full refund for the remaining 3 nights without a hassle. I would recommend it to those who need to actually stay in Red Lodge. The rooms are clean, and the breakfast is nice. And there is a pool. And the town of Red Lodge is really quaint with nice, friendly people.

But if you are planning on seeing Yellowstone, do not stay here or anywhere else in Red Lodge. Otherwise you'll be driving several hours a day just to get to the park, a time during which you'll be hanging onto dear life.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank colorknit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandera, Texas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Having spent the last 4 months in an RV with a small shower, we were looking for a clean room and a good shower for a night out of the park for a $100 or less. This looked like it filled the bill. It did, the property was a little tired, but very clean, very comfortable and did have a good shower with plenty of hot water, and it was $99 before taxes. Clsoe to downtown and the action in Red Lodge, not quite walking distance. The bikers headed to and from Sturgis were in town and it is a fun town. The only shortcoming for this property - the free breakfast failed miserably. Coffee and drinks for a machine, no 1/2+1/2, a little dry cereal, stale pastrys and a waffle cooker.

There is an indoor heated pool and a well equiped fitness room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wood River, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

After traversing the Big Horn mountains and some dubious backroads we made it to Red Lodge at about ten at night. Unfortunately the Yodeler Motel was broadcasting No Vacancy so we scrambled for a back up plan. We pulled into next door Lupine Inn and when they offered a reasonable rate we snatched it up. We had a big day ahead of us in nearby Yellowstone and needed a place to crash for the night. The Lupine fit the bill. While the inn was a bit dated our room was clean and the beds comfortable. Though being close to the main office the Internet connection was spotty and so I made do by boosting the signal from two neighboring motels. All in all, the Lupine provided a nice night's sleep and perfect launching point for a scenic ascent up Bear Tooth Pass the next morning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

The people there were kind and friendly and hotel was clean and comfortable. Our room was great! We had 2 queen beds in the main room along with a room seperated by a door that had a sofa bed and additional tv. I would definately stay there again. It did have a pool and hot tub that our time did not allow us to use.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishingfamily2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Montana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

Excellent service, very clean. Older hotel but well maintained. Discount ski tickets!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smitherines6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

We ended up staying 4 days at the Lupine. It's an older hotel with a good hot tub that we used. There is also a heated inside pool, sauna & weight room. We were there off-season for $59 and had a huge, clean room with 2 queen beds, good cable TV, excellent Wifi. Deer & wild turkeys wandered outside our windows. Free breakfast was waffles, oj, a variety of hot & cold cereals, muffins, bagels, etc. Management was very friendly & helpful. Good french roast coffee in room. Very quiet location off the main road.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denalicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Lodge
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 9 in Red Lodge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pollard
The Pollard
#4 of 9 in Red Lodge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
5.2 mi away
Rock Creek Resort
Rock Creek Resort
#7 of 9 in Red Lodge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beartooth Hideaway Inn & Cabins
13.6 mi away
Beartooth River Ranch
Beartooth River Ranch
#1 of 1 in Belfry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yodeler Motel
Yodeler Motel
#3 of 9 in Red Lodge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lupine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lupine Inn

Property: Lupine Inn
Address: 702 S Hauser, PO Box 30, Red Lodge, MT 59068
Location: United States > Montana > Red Lodge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Red Lodge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lupine Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lupine Inn in Red Lodge Montana does not allow pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Lupine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lupine Hotel Red Lodge
Lupine Motel Red Lodge
Best Western Red Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing