We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing - Don't Waste Your Money There”
Review of KOA Campground

KOA Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Lodge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
KOA Campground
Reviewed July 17, 2009

For a KOA Campground this was very disappointing and it was not cheap. The pool was so dirty our 10-year-old would not go in it and was very disappointed. The grass was not cut and the whole place was unattractive - buldings, fences & bushes unkept, etc. Even their signs were like they had been reused - scribbled out words replaced by other words. It is also located right on a very busy road. Very dissapointing.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StuMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 40 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2008

My Husband and I were planning a trip to Red Lodge after our annual trip to Sturgis in August. We called the Koa in the Spring and left a few measages on their answering machine. 1 month goes by and lots of phone calls but we finally got ahold of them and made our reservation. We booked a campsite that would have "Full" hook-ups and a long pull-thru. (50 amp, sewer, water) 5 months after we made the reservation we arrived at the KOA. Somehow, someway, someone messed our reservation up. They did not have a full hook-up site available for us. They only had a site that had 30 amp electric and NO sewer hook-up. They claimed that the site was a long pull-thru but when you are driving a Motorhome and pulling a trailer you could not make the turn to get into the camp site. We had to go around another direction and then back everything up. The camp spots are very unlevel, the grass was dead, weeds were everywhere, garbage was laying around the RV Park, There were clothes lines strung up all over the place with other peoples laundry on them. The Swimming pool was dirty and we did not even attempted the bathrooms because of the smell coming out of them. Needless to say I will never stay at that KOA again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank explorers-of-nature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2008

Our stay started out wonderfully but we awoke to a ruckous around midnight. The people in the camper next to us came home drunk with about 10 extra drunks and proceeded to build a fire and continue their party. We made a call to the sheriff since no one answered either of the numbers that we had for the office. The sheriff did show up and told them to quiet down after knocking on our cabin door...just so they knew who complained, i guess?? In the meantime one of the neighbors party-goers decided to come up and sit on our porch swing at 1 am... Of course, as soon as the sheriff left the crowd got even louder so we had to drive our car up to the door of the office to get the emergency number (it is not on any of the printed material you receive at checkin) - we then got another answering machine. But the manager did come down at about 2am and called the sheriff again. This time the rowdies were evicted by the sheriff but the manager said they were drinking and shouldnt be driving so he would let them stay...As soon as the sheriff & manager left the party continued of course...with drunks cursing, yelling at each other and wandering around our cabin. We ended up driving our car down the road a bit and sleeping in our car since there were no motel rooms available in town. The manager did give our money back and gave us a free breakfast but what he really should have done is made sure that the people who were following the rules were taken care of and got some sleep .... not cater to the drunk idiots that had no concern for others.... if you stay here...write the emergency number down - the way the camp is situated we had to walk/drive right by the other campers to get the emergency info....and if it were something more serious you will need that number with you - its the only message that got a response. We couldnt bring ourselves to use the showers - they were so filthy and the bathroom stalls werent clean either...there was one out of three that was usable. We also killed 5 spiders in our cabin before we went to bed - every bedpost had a spider family set up so I dont think they were spraying for them like they should. We've stayed in KOA campgrounds before and havent had anything like this happen.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turtlegomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2007

We pulled our travel trailer in here last week. If you're bringing
your own bedroom- it's the place to stay!

The staff are friendly and eager to help. The amenities
are up to par. The site is wooded with cottonwood and other
trees- I do wish that they would put in some Ponderosa Pine
though, it is Montana's State Tree.

There are firepits for campfires and don't be afraid to have
others join you if you have one going! On our last night we
had a nice fire and invited the people next to us. Turns out
that they were from Holland and wanted to talk to some Americans. It was a very wonderful evening talking and munching on S'Mores. The folks from Holland were going
to take the making of S'mores back overseas- they liked them
that much!

So, if you're hauling your travel trailer down or back from
Yellowstone National Park, turn in here and take a breather!
You'll leave with a smile.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MTBeau1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2006

OK - here is the disclaimer. If you go to a KOA, you know what the set up will be approximately: shared laundry facilities, clean and cosy wood cabins, RV hookups, campsites, banana bikes for hire, a little store, maybe TV, maybe internet. Also, don't forget that you will be sharing the campground with other people who potentially may be different to you. You may be driving a car, they may be driving motorbikes.

But, once you get beyond the tomato/tomahto stuff here, you may find yourself singing kum-bye-yah by the campfire (if they are allowed one at that time of year), as the overall atmosphere here is so very good, and this is a credit to the management, Curt, and his staff here, who were so nice to me and my kids when we visited and these good vibes seemed to just permeate the whole campground.

There were always a few friendly words for the kids, and so many friendly words for me that I had to tear myself away to the serious business of sightseeing in one of the most scenic spots in the US. The campground is just outside of Red Lodge, which is on the Beartooth highway into Yellowstone, but my kids were still vying for more time to play around the campsite.

Well worth a stay.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Bualabus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Red Lodge hotels
12.5 mi away
Beartooth Hideaway Inn & Cabins
13.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 10 in Red Lodge
202 reviews
7.9 mi away
Rock Creek Resort
Rock Creek Resort
#7 of 10 in Red Lodge
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
The Pollard
The Pollard
#4 of 10 in Red Lodge
343 reviews
12.3 mi away
Chateau Rouge
Chateau Rouge
#6 of 10 in Red Lodge
72 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Red Lodge Inn
The Red Lodge Inn
#2 of 10 in Red Lodge
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KOA Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KOA Campground

Address: 3533 US Highway 212, Red Lodge, MT 59068-9566
Location: United States > Montana > Red Lodge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Red Lodge
Number of rooms: 67

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing