We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast, best surroundings”
Review of Cafe Regis

Cafe Regis
Ranked #1 of 38 Restaurants in Red Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Lewistown, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Best breakfast, best surroundings”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We ate top quality meals outside near a working vege/flower garden! Need I say more? Quiet, relaxing, delicious. Very yummy fresh-squeezed OJ. The fruit bread was wow!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    41
    14
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Billings, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“SLOW”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

It was a beautiful Saturday morning in Red Lodge and we wanted to eat breakfast at the Cafe Regis. We had heard so much about it. Very cute vintage place. Big backyard with tables. We were thrilled. However we couldn't get waited on. We couldn't even get the table cleaned, a cup of coffee, anyone to take our order. We would ask each person who walked by and they all said, someone will be with you.

Our waitress didn't know anything about the menu items that we inquired about. Each time we asked for something we felt like we were a major inconvenience in her day!

My friend ordered a 3 egg white omelet and it came with homemade breakfast bread that was wonderful. His meal was good. I ordered the salmon salad, it was just marginal. The salmon seemed to be right out of the freezer and nuked, thrown on top of of lettuce with some cranberries. The dressing was very good and homemade.

The whole event took more an hour and half. I will go back one more time but only order breakfast or maybe a burger. Oh yea, they have a burger menu but when I tried to order one, she told me they don't do burgers on Saturday!

Order breakfast and don't be in a rush or your blood pressure will go through the roof!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank job_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great spot for breakfast in Red Lodge”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Very enjoyable breakfast. There is an emphasis on locally produced food with some ingredients coming from their own garden.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chevyimpala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Sky, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Closed??? So bummed.”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Planned our whole morning around breakfast at the Regis. Drove in 15 miles from where we were camping to find a sign on the door that it was closed due to staffing... Really? Wanted so badly to try this #1 cafe. So very disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank anna91182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Just a couple blocks off Main Street this one time grocery store is busy, busy, busy and deservedly so. A good variety on the menu, friendly, efficient service and very good good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Regis also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Regis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing