We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST donuts”
Review of City Bakery - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
City Bakery
Cuisines: American
Description: It's a wonderful bakery in downtown Red Lodge, MT...been there for a long time. I read about it on Yelp and UrbanSpoon. Red Lodge is a snow resort in winter and neat stopping place between Billings, MT and Yellowstone National Park --- gateway to Beartooth Highway. Lots o'tourists. It's just a great place.
Restaurant details
Description: It's a wonderful bakery in downtown Red Lodge, MT...been there for a long time. I read about it on Yelp and UrbanSpoon. Red Lodge is a snow resort in winter and neat stopping place between Billings, MT and Yellowstone National Park --- gateway to Beartooth Highway. Lots o'tourists. It's just a great place.
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
91 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The BEST donuts”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I discovered this place several years ago on my way to Red Lodge Mountain, Their cake donuts are the best I've ever had. It has become a tradition that I always stop on my way to skiing to get a couple of cake donuts. Best way I can think of to start off a day of skiing. I've tried some of their other baked goods and it's all been good.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank RLMskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    8
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great stuff”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The baked goods are really great! I had a lemon bar and my friend had an apple turnover--we were both very happy! :)
The owners are very friendly and accomodating.
I think the product line-up could have been a little broader, but maybe we just came in too late....

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank chutchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Always a favorite”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Restaurant has been there as long as I can remember. Donuts are fantastic. Cookies are great. Not commercialized and down to earth people. Necessary stop every time I go to Red Lodge.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Solomon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Washington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fresh Baked Delights”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

City Bakery is so good we made it our breakfast stop all 3 days in Red Lodge. All products are made from scratch. No frozen dough. Wonderful variety. The bear claws, schnecken and other pastries are amazing. Tried several cookies and all were terrific. I finally found an apple fritter that is fully flavored and cooked perfectly...not raw in the middle like so many supermarket bakeries. I loved the huckleberry, sausage, mushroom, onion & herbs quiche. Don't miss this gem!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clifford S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
131 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Best donuts - and they keep for days & days!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stopped here twice to sample their baked goods and we were not disappointed.

Wonderful folks run this place and they make you feel welcome right off. Got the run down on the whole town, politics, and the economy. It was fun.

Next day we got donuts for the trip to Yellowstone and they were still fresh four days later. They don't use preservatives either, just great ingredients.

I miss their donuts here in the land of Duncan....

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tridcod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Bakery also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing